1/20 Rocket PM BG 135-NS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
Morning all,
rough night again....the obssessive grooming stops then starts again...no idea what's causing it...twitching is not bad...i'm trying to determine what prompted all this...if it's the new food or if it's something else...my detective work has began...
other than that Comet seemed to have settled...vet apt on Monday next week...hope all is well with him...

i was really hoping Rocket would not need insulin this morning...

last night i only checked him at what would have been his +3.5 113

fed him at what would have been +9
now amps 122...fed again......

with a CRF cat i can't withhold food much longer...let alone with him that lately i have to bring the food to him otherwise he rarely goes to his bowl....

is it ok to feed him at +9 or should i do it earlier?

i did not give the full 0.5u dose...i actually gave more like <0.25u.....see how he does with that....

i know i was supposed to give insulin if he was over 120....

did i do right by giving him insulin at him being only 122? i'm wondering now....

here is yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34802
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122

Hi Claudia, Since 122 is essentially the same number as 120, you probably could have skipped the shot. But the reduced shot that you gave Rocket is OK (in my opinion). The feeding schedule sounds good. It's important to give small meals frequently, and it sounds like you are doing just that.
Hope you have a good day today and that you and Rocket can get some rest. Good news about Comet.
Check in with you later,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122

Hey Rocket...your Ma is doing such a good job of taking care of you. Sure can tell how much she loves you. You are a lucky guy. Your buddy, Lanky
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122

Hi, Claudia & Rocket.. hang in there, I know the days & nights are long & challenging. I continue to pray for you both & have faith in your care being the absolute best for Rocket :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122-question

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Claudia, Since 122 is essentially the same number as 120, you probably could have skipped the shot.
oh Ella....this worries me...cause i go based on the mmol system...so the 120 is 6.6 mmol to me and when i saw 6.8 mmol....really it's not the same...i wish i knew...

maybe someone that knows of the mmol can weigh in and help me out with this....i so worry now that since he has insulin i may have made matters worse....

is there someone out there that knows the mmol system that can help me?

last night i read up so much on that feline hyperthesia...my head continues to spin....even watching the videos on youtube....and for the most part Rocket's symptoms are not that severe and not all symptoms are there...like the hissing...so i worry...
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122

I agree with Ella; but you gave a reduced shot and he is fed so it will probably be OK.
Hope both you and Rocket can get some rest today.
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122

Claudia

I think you are over stressing on the numbers, but I understand why given all that is going on.

I suggested 120 as your cutoff but that is just a guess and it is your decision always, not ours. And the 120 is a pure guess! Some people might say even higher than 120 as a cutoff. Really, it depends on what numbers Rocket can tolerate and how low he goes on a certain preshot. As for 120 vs 122, or 6.6 and 6.8 they are basically the same, especially when you factor in the standard allowable error in meters of +/- 20%.

Jen
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122

Hi again, Claudia,

I sure didn't want to worry you! My comment about 122 being essentially the same as 120 is based on the phenomenon of meter variance, not on whether the number is in the US or the Canadian system. It is well known that the same meter can read quite a bit higher or lower on consecutive tests, even if the second test is done with the same drop of blood. The meters give ballpark figures. If I remember correctly, there can be a variance of about 20%. So please don't worry. You are doing fine. The small dose you gave this morning isn't going to harm Rocket. Since you were right around your cut-off point, you could have gone either way (either give insulin, or don't give insulin).

Hope this clears things up,
Ella

p.s. I see that others have chimed in. We all agree: don't worry!!
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122

sorry guys if i'm over stressing....i still don't feel well myself and the added stuff going on with him is really making me wonder if i'm doing things right for him...i just don't know anymore...i'm pretty overwhelmed...i'm so tired and being over tired i can't sleep...

before all this started again with Rocket and his diabetes....i was dx with chronic fatigue...so now a few months of being back with the diabetes...i don't think chronic fatigue is the word i would describe how i feel....

thanks for the explanation...
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122 +1.5 85

What were Rocket's blue numbers ranging from when he was OTJ? What about a percentage above that. Or see where his numbers level off at. Maybe tonight he would have been lower than 122 without insulin. Or asking the experts for a cut off of what number you absolutely have to shoot at but would still allow you to see how Rocket's pancreas is working and to rule out insulin somehow contributing to his issues. You already know I am not an expert so disregard if its not helpful. Just putting it out there.

I can't even imagine how you are feeling Claudia. When Maverick almost died in 2008 I was just completely spent and running on fumes. I have anxiety which causes a lot of physical symptoms and I had all out insomnia for a year starting with Maverick's illness. And I was afraid of anxiety medication. I felt every day like I had been hit by a truck and would just crumble into pieces. You know that you have to take care of you in order to take care of Rocket. ((((((((hugs)))))))
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122 +1.5 85 +2 83 +3.5 76 +4.5 86

Ditto what Karrie said, Claudia. You have to take care of yourself. Have a cup of chammomile tea, take a soak bath, or play some relaxing music for yourself. I'm a newbie here, but I understand your anxiety. Sending you and Rocket positive and loving thoughts! It will be okay...
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122 +1.5 85 +2 83 +3.5 76 +4.5 86

Claudia, I know stress plays a huge part with chronic fatigue so I hope you can somehow take care of yourself. I also suffer from terrible insomnia so I know how much sleepless nights can cause numerous problems, both physically and mentally. I worry so much for you since you have had to struggle with more than most people can deal with. I am keeping you and your family in my prayers and praying that you will have a peaceful, restful sleep tonight.
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122 +1.5 85 +2 83 +3.5 76 +4.5 86

Like Jen, I picked the 120 since that's "normal" BG. You're not going to make some catastrophic mistake - you care too much about Rocket to do that and you're an experienced caregiver. You shot a reduced dose today. The next time Rocket is withing a margin of error on a pre-shot (i.e., a number like 122 or 6.8) skip the shot. The only way you're going to be able to sort this out is if you have data and the only way to get the data is to compare the options. If you skip, you can test a few hours later and see if after having fed Rocket, he brings his numbers down. I suspect he might. I'm not suggesting making Rocket a science experiment but you need the information since none of us really know the answer to the question your asking. Bottom line from today -- how was Rocket feeling? What did the information from having shot teach you?
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122 +1.5 85 +2 83 +3.5 76 +4.5 86

Dale_Cordell_13.gif
hang in there ((((Claudia)))) hoping things keep improving for Rocket sending a ton of snowflakes today
 
Re: 1/20 Rocket AMPS 122 +1.5 85 +2 83 +3.5 76 +4.5 86

Hi Claudia! Just dropping in to see how things are going. I have to agree with the others, you need to take care of yourself in order to be useful and helpful to Rocket.
Uggh, on the insomnia stuff. I couldn't imagine not being able to go to sleep. On those rare nights when I can't fall back to sleep, I get very anxious...I can't imagine being like that every night! Hopefully a nice warm bath and some chamomile tea will help.
 
he is not wanting to eat at all...lying in the tub licking/grooming constantly....

will make apt with vet and see if either tomorrow or Saturday...

overall..he slept well and ate ok...but a couple of times i've found him in the tub licking/grooming away....just now he was sleeping on the coffee table only to bolt straight to the tub....something more is going on...and i don't know anymore...

so for tonight i will have to skip the shot even though he is at 135....
i've given him rescue remedy to calm him down some....i was prepared to give 0.25u insulin...but not if he's not normal...

i really don't know what to say....he was ok except the first few hrs from shot time this morning...

could insulin be making him itchy or uncomfortable? or is it pure neurological?
i'm at a loss here...not having the knowledge or expertise to discern it all...upping the phenobarbital does not give those sort of side effects...it makes them groggy/sleepy....not licking/grooming constantly...
 
(((Claudia)))

I sent this to you in a PM, but also wanted to post it here so that others can review it as well. If you are not trying for remission, you can do less aggressive dosing, as people are now suggesting you do. I never tried to get Bear Man into remission, so I just tried to keep him in blue numbers. If he was low in the morning, I would skip the shot, or give a "big chicken sh*t" dose just to keep the shed from emptying out. My work schedule kept me out for 10 hours, and there was no way I could stay up late testing. I really just wanted to keep him above his renal threshold for spilling glucose in his urine. If you are trying to get him back in remission, you would dose more aggressively, but these days when you are so tired and he is not feeling 100%, I would just try to keep him in "shootable" numbers, and don't worry about skinnying up a shot or skipping a shot if you don't feel comfortable, or you need to sleep, or he is acting like he doesn't want to be bothered. Like I said before, my priorities would be to keep him eating, keep him feeling pain free, and avoid going too low on the BG. Don't be afraid to follow your instincts.

I don't know about all of the licking/sensitivity/tremor issues. I think that something like this might be quite hard to pin down. I would try to conquer a bit at a time. I know it's hard to see him uncomfortable, but if he were my cat, I would focus on appetite, pain control, and stable BG's before tackling the other stuff. Just my two cents worth, but you are his Mom, and you know your boy.
 
I completely agree with Linda. Rockets BGs aren't really something you need to worry much about right now. You're doing a great job and his numbers are fine.

I agree with your decision to not shoot tonight. I would suggest feeding a little and testing again in a few hours to see how he does without a shot. He might surprise you and go down on his own after food. It will be great data, plus then you can get some rest tonight.
 
Linda,
i would love for him to go on remission...it would be one less thing for him (and me) to deal with....his other issues are surely taking a lot of time that now with the insulin i find it so hard to keep up and hence why i really tried to be agressive in the beginning and hoping he would go otj....sadly i feel this is not the case with whatever it is going on with him...

i'm trying oh so very hard to help him fight and juggle all the issues...it is mentally/physically/emotionally draining...the constant poking/feeding/keeping a watchful eye on him at all times...with his CRF he doesn't always eat on queu so having the insulin on board makes it that much harder and stressful to entice him to eat and making sure as not to have a hypo episode...

now i really don't know what the magical number is to make sure i don't do damage to the pancreas by withholding insulin...

each time i leave the room and come back (not to poke him or bother him) he is awake with that NOT TRUSTING look on his face...with his subq fluids he hears the water running in the sink and he comes and sits on his pillow awaiting for his fluids...not such case poking time for insulin...this is why the last few days when he did not get insulin i never bothered testing...he hates it...and fights me each time...

when we were first here 2 yrs ago..it was a very short time...27 days...of hell for me as i didn't know whether i was coming or going....Comet was in/out of hospitals trying to get info as they thought he had Cushings Disease....then work, then school, then home stuff, and yes..let's not forget Rocket's stuff....so i was a mess for those 27 days...now i'm back at this longer than 27 days and i'm not working, dropped out of school....so things are still not good...

and i know they sense that in us humans...the stress...so i try to be all happy and cheerful...but this whole thing is taking a huge toll on me...

he sure has changed the last few weeks...he used to sleep right next to my face as a second pillow...then in the wee hrs he would go and sleep on his bed....now i can count the minutes he stays on my bed and not next to me and is not using his bed as much....all i ask is to get my Rocket back...and that breaks my heart as i wish i knew what was wrong...

sorry if i'm venting...
 
Claudia...you aren't venting and even if you were, it's ok...that's what we're here for....to support you and give you a place to let loose
your thoughts. I am amazed at what a wonderful job you are doing with him but I agree with Karrie and Sandy...you have to allow yourself
some time to relax and sleep. I know that seems like an impossible thing but I really hope that every time he does lay down, you try to for a little bit as well. Sending caring thoughts and hugs.
 
Claudia, You really need some sleep...You are watching every move Rocket makes, as I have done with Moonie , and you are really stressing yourself out..
You need to be alert to be able to cope with what you are dealing with...And you are doing such a great job.
Please try to get some rest..We all care about you two! Sending Healing vines to dear Rocket!
 
what would have been his pmps he didn't eat...so i waited and fed him at what would have been his +1.25....now i tested at what would have been his +2.5 he is 115....

fed him and he is eating like there is no tomorrow....

all meds in place for the night....

i won't test him further tonight....i think i'm gonna try to relax and not stress anymore...at least tonight....hopefully all will go well....

good night everyone...sorry i can't get to condos...i'm so tired...always tired...when i get to be normal (i hope it happens soon)...i will for sure get all caught up with you all
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top