purrdydolly
Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Recap:
AMPS 220
+2 124
+4 130
+7 144
PMPS 167
+2 122
+3 110
+4 106
+5 110
Poor mum at PM +3 I said that he would probably go green but not to worry it wouldn't be low and she was excused for sleep. Mum wanted to see the green and stayed up late testing so of course Purrdy refused to oblige
She will be getting a nana nap later today...
So we're going to take him up to 2u either tonight or tomorrow morning (I'm thinking if we see the flat yellows today - which would be a first for him - then we may want to take care!). Mum has a pen and was quite excited with the thought that she can shoot straight from the pen at that dose. However, I have read a few times people saying that the dosing from the pen isn't accurate. Is that just one of those rumours or will the dosing be more consistent if she draws it herself?
Also mum was wondering about him generally having better numbers at 1.5u than he's had at 1.75u. I explained it as a battle going on between the insulin (which wants to lower his BG) and the liver (which wants to keep him in the levels it has got used to, even though those levels are lower than most newly diagnosed cats so we're not seeing huge bounces). I said that the liver is fighting hard now but sooner or later the insulin will win. Does that seem like the complete and correct explanation in his case?
Serryn
Recap:
AMPS 220
+2 124
+4 130
+7 144
PMPS 167
+2 122
+3 110
+4 106
+5 110
Poor mum at PM +3 I said that he would probably go green but not to worry it wouldn't be low and she was excused for sleep. Mum wanted to see the green and stayed up late testing so of course Purrdy refused to oblige
She will be getting a nana nap later today...So we're going to take him up to 2u either tonight or tomorrow morning (I'm thinking if we see the flat yellows today - which would be a first for him - then we may want to take care!). Mum has a pen and was quite excited with the thought that she can shoot straight from the pen at that dose. However, I have read a few times people saying that the dosing from the pen isn't accurate. Is that just one of those rumours or will the dosing be more consistent if she draws it herself?
Also mum was wondering about him generally having better numbers at 1.5u than he's had at 1.75u. I explained it as a battle going on between the insulin (which wants to lower his BG) and the liver (which wants to keep him in the levels it has got used to, even though those levels are lower than most newly diagnosed cats so we're not seeing huge bounces). I said that the liver is fighting hard now but sooner or later the insulin will win. Does that seem like the complete and correct explanation in his case?
Serryn
!!!
I can relate. When the greens are infrequent, and they're right on the edge, sometimes you just want to see that green to feel a little better.