1/20 punkin amps 187 +3/221 +6/152 pmps 224 +3/255

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

punkin must've snuck (sneaked?) upstairs last night and been reading on my computer! it's almost eerie how often you threaten to increase if you don't see action, and then BOOM, action you get. his amps this morning is the lowest in a while, so no increase after all. makes the mama happy.

no schools open here today. there is flooding everywhere from the monsoons we've had the last 3 days, combined with the snow melting from the previous 2 days. our county and 3 adjoining others have been declared in a state of emergency. a family in a car got swept out of a grocery store parking lot by a rising creek and a child and possibly an adult are missing and likely dead. the father and 5 year old son were rescued, but i don't know their condition. they drove across deeper water in the parking lot on the way to the exit and were swept into the creek. it's really bad. we live on a hill so it won't impact our house but even parts of town (incuding the vet acupuncturist) are unreachable.

i'm staying home and working on a quilt. the only thing to do when it's this bad.
 
Re: 1/20 punkin amps 187

Great AMPS, Punkin didn't want that increase.

Wow, I hadn't heard about all yourweather, all the news is fixated on Seattle. We are still waiting for it to move on down here.
 
Re: 1/20 punkin amps 187

Flooding stinks! Glad you live on a hill!

Punkin - sure is a nice AMPS! Yep, I see Mama smilin'....

Hugs Julie,
 
Re: 1/20 punkin amps 187

It's stories like your's that make me glad I live in this brown, ugly desert called Nevada!! (Arizona has beautiful desert, ours looks like abandoned scrub land). The payoff for all this wet, freezing nastiness if when spring hits. Probably hard to picture that right now, though, huh? :lol:

Punkin is just doing terrific!!! Keep it up big guy!!!
 
Re: 1/20 punkin amps 187 +3/221 +6/152

Haven't checked in on the Punk-man for awhile - he's doing so great!!

I took my life in my hands getting to work in Salem yesterday so I decided to stay home today. How was I to know it wouldn't be as bad? ;-)

The creek where those people drowned is right down the street from me - very scary. They found the 18 yr. mother and her 20 mo. old baby 100 yards from the culvert opening - they didn't make it. The man is okay and the last I heard the son is still in critical condition. They still haven't found the car. Very, very weird situation.

Stay dry!
 
Re: 1/20 punkin amps 187 +3/221 +6/152

love punkin's numbers...
and I find this picture so fitting for your condo...
flooding is horrible.

tumblr_lt70cmFG1f1qbkn2so1_500.jpg
 
Re: 1/20 punkin amps 187 +3/221 +6/152 pmps 224

we went ahead and increased his dose tonight. took it like a trooper - i want to give him a little more food so he'd need more insulin anyway. weighed him at the vet's today and he has dropped .4lbs. not liking that. he doesn't need to lose any weight.

i video-taped the acupuncture session today and will post it tomorrow after i upload it to youtube. i don't know if everyone else finds it incredibly slow, but it will probably take a couple of hours to upload the 5 minutes of video. we're going to once every 4 weeks acupuncture now and see if the good results will hold.

love that picture - he's obviously one of our kind of peeps! :-D

carolyn, glad you were able to stay home today. it's crazy out there. people canoeing down the neighborhood streets and everything. i saw in the paper they'd found the mom & baby - so very, very sad. there's another area of town that's in a hilly neighborhood, that had a landslide and people's houses knocked off of their foundations. i hope the rain lets up.


***********************************************************************
edited on Saturday morning to add the following quote which i posted last night in linda/weezer's condo. we increased punkin's dose a little last night up to 5.0 units to try to knock his BG down a little farther. i'm hoping that the SRT won't be for nothing - if i've let him be too long in higher numbers there's the possibility that his beta cells have died and he won't be able to go OTJ. i guess we'll find out in the weeks ahead.

julie & punkin said:
hi linda!

exciting friday night at my house contemplating feline diabetes. i've read sandy's & libby's posts to you and have been thinking about punkin's numbers. i'm going to try to push him down farther and aim for the 50-100 zone again. take a look at these spreadsheets below. you met Bev/Gus a while ago, and even though you don't know Lauren/Tommy, i think Tommy's ss is well worth studying. i've been looking at both of these recently.

Gus
Tommy

both Bev/gus and Lauren/tommy were diagnosed with acro within a couple of weeks of punkin in may/june 2011. Bev & Lauren haven't hesitated to let their cats regularly get under 100, just like we all did pre-diagnosis. both cats have had their doses kept down under 15 units, and i'm wondering if it's because they were more aggressive in managing their numbers. i've been hesitant to do that. Both also used R regularly. i never have.

i've also been looking around to see if i could find any example of an acro cat that couldn't be brought up with high carbs - and i can't find any. i think the bigger the dose the more high carbs it took, but you know i've been skeptical of that idea all along that an acro cat's pancreas will prevent them from being able to be brought up by high carbs. at his highest dose i gave punkin 1/2 can or so of high carb food - or more. who cares? he was happy whatever amount i gave him. he always responded just like he did before the diagnosis.

tonight i was re-reading the study that resulted in the Rand/Roomp protocol and the part about the beta cells sorta made me pause. i'm thinking by allowing punkin to stay in higher numbers, by being afraid of him getting low and not being able to be brought up, i may be unwittingly allowing his organs to be damaged.

Secondly, cats switched within 6 months of diagnosis to intensive blood glucose monitoring and a protocol of insulin dosing designed to achieve tight glycaemic control, achieved significantly higher rates of non-insulin dependence than cats that were started on the protocol longer than 6 months after diagnosis. This finding is important because cats which maintain euglycaemia without insulin, often termed diabetic remission, have improved health and quality of life, and
it decreases the cost and inconvenience to the owner.

Prolonged hyperglycaemia initially causes reversible suppression of b-cell function, and later permanent loss of b-cells.21e23 This is the most likely cause for the decreasing remission rate in cats changed later to the protocol, even when blood glucose was eventually well controlled. This was reflected in our cohort. All four cats that began with the tight regulation protocol within 30 days of diagnosis went into remission, and the longer a cat had unregulated diabetes, the less likely remission became. The longest term diabetic in our cohort that went into remission was diabetic for 3 years, but had been reasonably well-regulated with glargine during this period, and therefore arguably not subjected to prolonged periods of severe hyperglycaemia.

you're not aiming for OTJ, but i'm sure you do want to keep weezer on as low a dose as possible with her organs as healthy as possible through it all.

anyway, i just wanted to tell you we're changing our game plan. the cats that were with punkin in the beginning have regularly gone below 100, been brought up with high carbs just like pre-diagnosis, thrived, didn't have the SRT, and in many ways they have done better than punkin. i thought i was giving you sound advice before, but i think i heard the "acros can't go into greens" too much and despite looking for proof that is true, i can't find an example of a single cat. i hope i haven't led you wrong, but you are still early on this path with weezer and hopefully no harm has been done.

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/20 punkin amps 187 +3/221 +6/152 pmps 224

Nice to see those blues, punkin! If you need to gain a little weight, does that mean more FUDS??? I'm sorry about the flooding and the terrible tragedy. Very sad.
Liz
 
Re: 1/20 punkin amps 187 +3/221 +6/152 pmps 224

Staying home and quilting sounds like a perfect way to avoid miserable weather. I'm looking forward to seeing Punkin's acupuncture session! Hope you're having a good night, Julie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top