? 1/20 Pearl AMPS 304, +1.5 304, +2 223

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Hi all and good morning,

I missed the drop again (nothing that could be done about it this time, 80 points in 30 minutes!). Maybe in future Pearl would be a candidate to wear a Libre monitor (?)

She was getting so many more BLUE numbers on 1.75U as opposed to 2U...is this a possible sign the 2U is too much? I am so ignorant about these things. If NOT too much, is tomorrow too early to upp to 2.25U? She doesn't seem to be too stable on 2U, compared to historical numbers.

Link to yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-19-pearl-amps-256-1-5-310-3-260.241729/

Thanks!
Margaret
 
Hi Margaret,
Yes you can increase the dose to 2.25 units in the morning.
You are doing a good job trying to control the drop. Sometimes it just gets away from you...it happens to us all.

I would not bother getting a freestyle libre. They aren’t cheap and sometimes they fall off or they don’t work for the full two weeks.
You are managing the testing well. I’d save you money to spend on something else ....just my 2 cents worth.
 
She was getting so many more BLUE numbers on 1.75U as opposed to 2U...is this a possible sign the 2U is too much? I am so ignorant about these things. If NOT too much, is tomorrow too early to upp to 2.25U? She doesn't seem to be too stable on 2U, compared to historical numbers.
It is common to see some decent numbers at a dose (blues, even greens) and then...nothing:banghead:. I have had this happen with Butters (throughout May - September and again in late october - december 2020 on her 2020 US spreadsheet). I had to keep going higher and higher with her dose, even though we saw some greens at a lower one...and then no greens again for weeks in spite of more insulin.

I know it's so hard not to look in the rearview mirror and see those slightly better numbers on a lower dose and wonder what the heck is going on. I used to drive myself crazy wondering what happened. How much or how little insulin a cat's pancreas is producing changes. Doses go up. Doses go down. How much or how little insulin a cat needs doesn't really matter. Getting Pearl tightly regulated is the goal.

You're doing a wonderful job with testing her and figuring out what is going to control her drops. Keep posting here and take increases when she earns them. FD is a marathon, not a sprint, as they say, and it requires a boatload of patience. We all pass "patience pants" around, so I'm going to gift you your first pair:smuggrin: (don't worry, they're freshly laundered):
upload_2018-8-5_22-31-10-png.37979
 
It is common to see some decent numbers at a dose (blues, even greens) and then...nothing:banghead:. I have had this happen with Butters (throughout May - September and again in late october - december 2020 on her 2020 US spreadsheet). I had to keep going higher and higher with her dose, even though we saw some greens at a lower one...and then no greens again for weeks in spite of more insulin.

Good morning Bron, and thanks for this. The data can get confusing, and then I get myself all jumbled when I look in that rearview mirror. This is so helpful!
 
I know it's so hard not to look in the rearview mirror and see those slightly better numbers on a lower dose and wonder what the heck is going on. I used to drive myself crazy wondering what happened. How much or how little insulin a cat's pancreas is producing changes. Doses go up. Doses go down. How much or how little insulin a cat needs doesn't really matter. Getting Pearl tightly regulated is the goal.

And thank you for this too - if I can keep in mind the GOAL of tight regulation, I can keep pressing forward and not get distracted by the past. And considering the pancreas and fluctuating levels of natural insulin - this is a great reminder for me.

And thanks too for those patience pants! ;) When people first started telling me this is a marathon, I though "no problem. I can do patience". But little did I know, we are talking about patience in the midst of confusing data at times, and questioning oneself at other times. So I need those pants! THank you!
 
Back
Top