1-20 Ozgood

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozgood

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-15-ozgood-amps-373.131531/

Julie- That was still on Wedgewood insulin.

After doing pretty well, now Ozgood has been high again the last couple days.

We had an appointment for Ozgood today. Good news is that he's 11.2 lbs, up from 10.7 lbs on 1-8. His fructosamine level was 250's, right in the middle of the normal range. Our vet says his fructosamine level is actually low for a diabetic cat. She basically did a physical exam on him today. She said he's doing pretty good overall. His ears are clear; nothing built up inside them anymore. We finally have a written prescription for Lantus Solostar pens.

We had planned to order them from Mark's Marine Pharmacy in Canada, but if the temperature where the insulin is being shipped to is under 40 degrees, they won't ship it. However, I called them about this and they said they will ship it but they can't guarantee it won't freeze. I can get 3 5ml pens from MMP for $153, including shipping. The pens are $4xx locally in WI. I'm sort of worried about it freezing during transit now. Will MMP raise a fuss about a prescription from a vet? Or any other places to look?
 
I don't know the answers about the insulin from Canada - perhaps someone else will speak to it. I bought from a local pharmacy and then got several boxes from Craigslist after someone diabetic had passed away.

If I were a guessing person, I'd guess that Ozgood is in a new bounce. The last greens on the ss are on the morning cycle of 1/17 - that would make this morning 3 days, but Ozgood hasn't been taking 3 days to clear bounces. He may have had some green/blues in the past 2 pm cycles. I wouldn't increase his dose at this point, if that's what you're thinking.

Sounds like a great vet report! WOOT!

Good luck with the insulin!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top