? 1/20 Owl AMPS 155, lowest preshot, won't be home to monitor today, reduce shot?

Amy and Owl

Member Since 2026
I haven't shot this low before. He tends to nosedive swiftly and steeply after his shots. I have to leave for work around his +5 which is when he is typically the lowest. I am unsure if I should give a slight reduction to be cautious. I don't currently have mid-carb food on hand to help steer him, only super high carb.

Will be watching his numbers until shot time in 20 minutes. He is eating now so maybe they will rise.

On the Libre last night he went just below 50. I was not able to double check him with the Relion but he usually reads much higher on the handheld glucometer.
 
I haven't shot this low before. He tends to nosedive swiftly and steeply after his shots. I have to leave for work around his +5 which is when he is typically the lowest. I am unsure if I should give a slight reduction to be cautious. I don't currently have mid-carb food on hand to help steer him, only super high carb.

Will be watching his numbers until shot time in 20 minutes. He is eating now so maybe they will rise.

On the Libre last night he went just below 50. I was not able to double check him with the Relion but he usually reads much higher on the handheld glucometer.
HI Amy, you can mix 2 carb foods to make a meduium carb food in a pinch.
Say you have 20% and 6%, mix equal portions of each and divide carbs by 2 so you would have 13% medium carb food.

He's doing so beautifully!
Hope he has a very safe surf today!
🥰 :bighug: 🌊 :bighug:🏄‍♀️
 
HI Amy, you can mix 2 carb foods to make a meduium carb food in a pinch.
Say you have 20% and 6%, mix equal portions of each and divide carbs by 2 so you would have 13% medium carb food.

He's doing so beautifully!
Hope he has a very safe surf today!
🥰 :bighug: 🌊 :bighug:🏄‍♀️
This is what I did. His old food is like 30% carbs or something wild so I put a very small amount in with his fancy feast.

Libre says 50, Relion said over 100 🙄. Now to decide if I can safely get another hour or so of sleep before work.
 
This is what I did. His old food is like 30% carbs or something wild so I put a very small amount in with his fancy feast.

Libre says 50, Relion said over 100 🙄. Now to decide if I can safely get another hour or so of sleep before work.
Wow, that is a huge discrepancy! Have you been seeing numbers that different before this?
 
You see numbers similar to what I see with my Libre and my Contour Next (or Relion as well).
It's nice to know I'm not the only one seeing such a big discrepancy, but it's so frustrating having the low glucose alarm going off for hours at a time, then testing him repeatedly (poking his little paw 😭) and seeing that actually he's in totally normal numbers.
 
It's nice to know I'm not the only one seeing such a big discrepancy, but it's so frustrating having the low glucose alarm going off for hours at a time, then testing him repeatedly (poking his little paw 😭) and seeing that actually he's in totally normal numbers.
It would be interesting to see the difference in higher numbers too.
 
It would be interesting to see the difference in higher numbers too.
I can't access it at the moment but I did do one test when he was in higher numbers (about 200 I think?) And the relion was almost exactly the same as the libre.

He is currently reading a 53 on the Libre at +5 and relion says 115. That is *wild*. I'm getting mildly annoyed with the libre lol
 
Back
Top