? 1-20 Howie AMPS=108, +3=117, +5=83, +6.5=87, +9=79 +10=74 +11=69 PMPS=78

Howiesmom

Member Since 2020
I just have to share my exciting news that Howie hit his first green today!!!!! As a super high-dose kittie who was just diagnosed with acromegaly yesterday (on top of a previous IAA diagnosis) and just started 55u BID of Levemir today, I am over the moon!! I guess I'll be doing more testing this afternoon and reading about what to do if this (knock on wood) keeps up! Today is a new day for a lot of important reasons!!

AMPS=108, +3=117, +5=83
 
His +9 just came in at 79--his lowest reading ever. And his normal nadir is PMPS. So assuming that is the case tonight (and trying to get some pre-emptive info/advice in the next 3 hours), I am all ears on what to do next. I know I can shoot if he gets down to 50, but the TR protocol says to post on here the first time he gets between 50-80 on what to do next. So I appreciate all help and advice. At what point does he earn a reduction? And for a high dose kittie, how do I know how much to reduce him? He just had a dose increase of 5 units this AM.
 
@Wendy&Neko
If you have anything you suggest I do with shooting in my first green (+11 was 69), I appreciate it. And anything you suggest for this evening would also be helpful. I'm in new unknown territory again!!! I know I can shoot all the way down to 50.
 
If there is anyone who can help, I would appreciate it. This is my first green to shoot. Should I stall for 15-20 min even if he is above 50 (or assuming he will be)? Or just go for it?
 
Sorry, on a ferry right now. 74 isn’t really different from 69, within meter variance. How much can you test tonight? Do you have plenty of high carb food and test strips?

And woohoo! :D
 
Sorry, on a ferry right now. 74 isn’t really different from 69, within meter variance. How much can you test tonight? Do you have plenty of high carb food and test strips?

And woohoo! :D
I have a full day of work tomorrow so staying up until all hours is not really in my cards. Yes, plenty of food and strips. I’m stalling right now for 15 min to see what he does. Should I use some MC food at all tonight? I’m not sure how all that works. Thanks!
 
Nice to see some greens today! Pretty much flattish since +5 :D. That's one of the things I like about Lev, though the late nadirs take a little getting used to! I haven't popped by in a while, didn't realize Howie was up to 55u. How is the cycle going tonight?
 
Nice to see some greens today! Pretty much flattish since +5 :D. That's one of the things I like about Lev, though the late nadirs take a little getting used to! I haven't popped by in a while, didn't realize Howie was up to 55u. How is the cycle going tonight?
Sorry I missed your message last night. He did a gentle climb back up. I'm not one who tests in the middle of the night unless there is a major cause for concern but got up at 3:30am and he had gone up above 150. Today he is hanging out in the mid to high 100s/low 200s. Typical Howie!
 
So I appreciate all help and advice. At what point does he earn a reduction? And for a high dose kittie, how do I know how much to reduce him? He just had a dose increase of 5 units this AM.
I'm back home and looks like those questions weren't answered. Since you are following TR, reductions are if he goes below 50. You'd reduce by the amount you increase. And with greens, you'd hold this dose at least 10 cycles.

A tip for much higher dose cats, the depot is also really large. If he does go below 50 and earn a reduction, you might want to try a one time BCS (big chicken shot), which means a reduced dose, may try 1/2 dose to start, to drain that large depot, before going onto the new lower dose.
 
I'm back home and looks like those questions weren't answered. Since you are following TR, reductions are if he goes below 50. You'd reduce by the amount you increase. And with greens, you'd hold this dose at least 10 cycles.

A tip for much higher dose cats, the depot is also really large. If he does go below 50 and earn a reduction, you might want to try a one time BCS (big chicken shot), which means a reduced dose, may try 1/2 dose to start, to drain that large depot, before going onto the new lower dose.
I was just reading about holding doses since I’ve never had to do that. So just to confirm...even if he doesn’t see another green, I should keep him on this dose for 10 cycles? I’m sure I’ll be shaking in my boots when I see 50 or later!
 
Yes, keep holding the dose for 10 cycles from when you started the dose. Just to see if he gets back to green after the bouncing.

Now's the time to make sure you have a good stock of high carb foods on hand, just in case.
 
Back
Top