Gracie's Yesterday
1/19 Recap:
AMPS: 223
+1: 148
+1.75: 83
+2.25: 74
+3: 91
+4: 98
+6.5: 171
+9: 223
PMPS: 311
+3: 243
+3.5: 201
+4: 179
+5: 130
+6: 123
+8: 220j
Good afternoon! Our thoughts and prayers to go Jenny and Brian as sweet Emmy crossed the Bridge and also to Camille as Salem as also followed the light. Sending healing vines to Zener, Moonie, Mannie, Noni, Bubba, Do Lou, and any others who need them.
I took Gracie's dose down this morning. I don't know if the change in meds has influenced her dose or not but yesterday was ridiculous. Dive, bounce, dive, bounce. We have to get her flattened back out and the increases are not doing it...in fact, it's worse so even if she flattens in yellow, then we can see where we stand and see what needs to be done. As it has been, we've been having to control her dives with lots of extra 10% food and occasionally karo. You all know that we are typically the ones to increase the dose as we do not like her in high numbers but this is not like Gracie on levemir and so what we are doing isn't working. So we'll try something else. I am reminded of Dr. Lisa's comment on rebound:
To me, these dive/bounce patterns look like warranted rebound and not like when she bounces just due to a blue or green number. She didn't go all that low because I was trying to slow her down with the 10% and/or karo. But it's the amount of the drop..sometimes 80-100 mg/dL an hour. Now it's just patience pants big time until this bounce clears. But these big swings are not good for her and can't feel good to her little body even though she's been happy as a clam, playful, eating, and purring.
Have a great day!
1/19 Recap:
AMPS: 223
+1: 148
+1.75: 83
+2.25: 74
+3: 91
+4: 98
+6.5: 171
+9: 223
PMPS: 311
+3: 243
+3.5: 201
+4: 179
+5: 130
+6: 123
+8: 220j
Good afternoon! Our thoughts and prayers to go Jenny and Brian as sweet Emmy crossed the Bridge and also to Camille as Salem as also followed the light. Sending healing vines to Zener, Moonie, Mannie, Noni, Bubba, Do Lou, and any others who need them.
I took Gracie's dose down this morning. I don't know if the change in meds has influenced her dose or not but yesterday was ridiculous. Dive, bounce, dive, bounce. We have to get her flattened back out and the increases are not doing it...in fact, it's worse so even if she flattens in yellow, then we can see where we stand and see what needs to be done. As it has been, we've been having to control her dives with lots of extra 10% food and occasionally karo. You all know that we are typically the ones to increase the dose as we do not like her in high numbers but this is not like Gracie on levemir and so what we are doing isn't working. So we'll try something else. I am reminded of Dr. Lisa's comment on rebound:
Lisa dvm said:Also, we need to consider the issue of warranted or unwarranted rebound. If warranted? ( a number truly too low or the drop too fast)..... Lower the dose. If unwarranted? (a cat over-reacting to a safe number) Stay the course and push through it. Don't just look at a high number and assume warranted rebound.
To me, these dive/bounce patterns look like warranted rebound and not like when she bounces just due to a blue or green number. She didn't go all that low because I was trying to slow her down with the 10% and/or karo. But it's the amount of the drop..sometimes 80-100 mg/dL an hour. Now it's just patience pants big time until this bounce clears. But these big swings are not good for her and can't feel good to her little body even though she's been happy as a clam, playful, eating, and purring.
Have a great day!