1/20 Doodle AMPS 166/151 gave 2.75u

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

Some of you might remember a few months ago I was shooting with very low BG's. Doodle tested in the 30's and then got sick-throwing up, not eating. I've been super scared since then to shoot low BG's with either him or Mikey. I might need some encouragement because I'm seeing their BG move lower and I don't want to ruin the rhythm but I am scared.
 
Figured the 166/151 were just about the same so got myself the courage to shoot 2.75u. Will be sure to test him today. Really need to get back to it.
 
Nice shooting today! I completely understand your apprehension...sending prayers for an event-free surf today so you can feel more comfortable shooting lower again!
 
This whole process is a weighing out of risks. If you have a cat in low numbers, that can become a risk. If you let your cat run in higher numbers, that's still a risk, just of a different type. Fortunately, when he got into th 30's you were testing and were there to pull him back up to safety.

Jen, I suspect you'd have more confidence if you were getting some mid-cycle tests in so you really knew how low the dose was taking Sir Doodle. That would be one step that would likely help you! :) Remember how when you started out, you probably had a no-shoot number and you gradually lowered it, once you could see that shooting low didn't cause Mikey to plummet? You might want to do that again now with Doodle. Maybe that would help.

Are you thinking that the low numbers caused him to get sick? I went back and looked - i think you're talking about 9/29 - my guess would be that he got sick and wasn't eating and that's why his BGs got so low. Do you think that's possible?

Hang in there!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
At first I thought he was having a hypo episode but I don't think anyone here nor my vet thought that. Just still hard to get out of my mind. Yes. I agree to more testing would probably easy my mind. I actually got up in the middle of the night to test them so I'm hoping to keep a better testing rhythm going.

He went to the vet today. He could benefit from a dental however this is the second vet that is hesitant to do the dental for his "at risk" status- FIV+ with "unregulated diabetes". I'm hoping the blood work is good enough and he can get the dental done because he is between stage 3/4 dental disease.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top