1/20 DAVIDSON PMPS 314 +2 270 +7 231 +9 316 AMPS 353

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys .. Not sure if I've been to Davidson's condo before or not, so welcome from us! Good luck with the extra juice, hope you see some blues and greens soon! have a great day!
 
Since this is a new thread I would just start with todays reading i.e.

1/20 Davidson AMPS 353

Also in your post I don't see any mention of the 5ps? We want a "whole cat report" because its not all about the numbers :)

Tonite it might be worth getting a PMPS+4 to see what he is doing then - fill in the gaps a bit

Wendy
 
Still a bit confusing on how to post things, but it's in his SS

Here is the readings from Jan 19th when dosage was increased to 1.5u, starting at 07:00am

+10 401, AMPS 377, +5 318, +10 327, PMPS 314, +2 270, (these BG's were all done Jan 19)

+7 231, +9 316, AMPS 353 (these BG's were all done Jan 20)

Hope this helps - let me know please
 
Hi Shawna,

I see another thread for you today and am just going to include it here:

GECKO said:
Davidson has been on the increased dose of 1.5 since Sunday morning and still experiencing high numbers.......... How long does it take for the 'depot' to start releasing the insulin to get the BG's in the low numbers? Just curious if the Lantus may not be for him?? I read that not all kitties work with all insulins...........

SORRY - put the Canadian numbers in first post, corrected now.

Your thoughts?

Thanks
Shawna

We try to keep to one thread or condo per person per day. it's not a big deal, but we have enough people posting daily that this habit keeps everyone on the front page so we don't miss anyone.

When you inject the Lantus, it forms a precipitate in the body. some goes right to work and some remains in the precipitate. when we increase the dose, it can take a while for the dose to equalize with the "depot" so we hold the dose to let it work for 6 cycles, typically.

Lantus is an excellent insulin - i'd give it at least 6 months before deciding it doesn't work for davidson. we've got to get him to a good dose and then you'll be able to see it work on him. he'll respond - it just takes a little time to do it safely.

you're doing super - there's a lot to learn. At the top of the TR forum there is a yellow starred sticky Lantus/Lev What is the Insulin Depot? that will no doubt explain it better than i can! :-D

eta - i think what Wendy is asking about is how does he feel and act? our kitties are more than their blood sugar numbers! is Davidson being playful? is he grooming? eating, peeing and pooping ok?
 
Davidson is doing very well and if I never knew his BG was high I would never know he was diabetic. He eats like he always has, plays during our playtime let alone when he and Harley go at it, pee and poop are all normal as they have always been other then when he was on dry food and diagnosed in late Nov.

UPDATE with Vet's phone call: keep him on 1.5u twice daily until Wed. morning, and at that time if there is still no change (drop to ideal level) then increase him .5u to a total of 2u twice daily. He would have been on the 1.5u for 3 full days or 6 cycles.

Understand the condo posting and may need some more explanation on that when adding another post......sorry, comprehension issue with my dyslexic brain and not getting it, but will re-read again and see if I can get it........
 
Lets see where he is on Wednesday. If you see blues or greens or more yellows then an increase to 1.75 would be better - otherwise 2 units is fine. as per protocol...

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 (blue green) before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 (yellow) increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 (pink red blackk increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Shawna,

You are doing a fantastic job with Davidson! The comprehension will come. We know your own dyslexia can make this harder for you.

You are getting the best help you could ask for over here in the Lantus TR group to help Davidson.

Have you had a pajama party yet? Where you needed to stay up all night to test? Hopefully not yet, but just in case, here are some PJ's for Davidson.
 

Attachments

  • cats pajamas 4 small.jpg
    cats pajamas 4 small.jpg
    11.9 KB · Views: 214
your vet is giving you the same advice as the protocol would suggest - 6 doses and then increase. let's see if he's got more yellow numbers tomorrow.

Wendy's posted the protocol (yay) and it says if his nadirs are between 200-300, increase Wed morning by 0.25u.

i didn't know you had dyslexia, but no worries! no one will give you a hard time. however, people will probably keep saying the same things - so don't let it bother you! :lol:

hahaha Deb - love that picture!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top