Georgette and Clare
Member Since 2014
Good evening, Lantus Land neighbors!
We're sending out many hugs and scritches and wishes for a healing, peaceful night to our neighbor kitties and beans who need them.
Today's News:
AMPS 294
+2 321
+4.5 287
+6 307
PMPS 320
+2 257
+4 182
It's good to be back on the board! Clare had a big day today so we thought we'd like to update you on how she's doing.
To refresh our story, since before the holidays we've been giving Clare a phosphorous binder for her CKD and also antibiotics to treat a somewhat mysterious infection, probably in her kidneys. We started with liquid Clavamox as an AB with a bad result: things started out okay but then while we were away over Christmas, Clare's stomach became upset and she stopped eating. Our wonderful caregiver and veterinary staff got her on fluids and Cerenia, which helped, but it was plain she wasn't tolerating the Clavamox.
When we got back things didn't change much, so we decided to switch her to Primor, a sulfa-type AB instead, and she's been on that for almost 3 weeks now.
Clare's been very brave and has been taking a capsule (with Primor, Cerenia, and Cypro), food additives (aluminum hydroxide and Fortiflora), injections (fluids, insulin and B12), and syringes (with water after the pill, and another with Miralax) each day. Her usual attitude toward all this is "Okay, that's done, now where's my chicken?"
Starting on about January 10th we noticed that her BGs were changing to a new pattern. Her cycles have smoothed out quite a bit from the dramatic dives and bounces she's had. Also, she's going into active cycles on lower and lower doses of insulin.
So tonight she's going lower on a "whisper" dose - which is the smallest dose we can do.
We went back to the vet today for a follow-up urinalysis to see what effect the AB has had. Good news! No bacteria or blood present, and "only a few white cells, nothing abnormal" said the vet. Clare's concentrating her urine well, too. Her weight is up and her temp and heart rate are good.
The bad news is that there are still cell "casts" present in her urine, which indicate some kind of breakdown in her kidneys or urinary tract.
So our vet is doing some further research and will probably recommend some specialized tests tomorrow.
Clare has had a good appy since we changed to the Primor. The fluid therapy especially seems to be good for her, although it's probably the thing she's most impatient with.
I'm in new territory with BGs in the yellows and blues so much of the time. I'm not sure when it's safe to go to bed!
I'd appreciate any neighborly advice on that or any ideas you might have about kidney issues, tests or etc. that might help Clare now.
As always, it's a comfort to have you with us during this journey.
Have a good night, everyone!
Georgette and Clare
We're sending out many hugs and scritches and wishes for a healing, peaceful night to our neighbor kitties and beans who need them.
Today's News:
AMPS 294
+2 321
+4.5 287
+6 307
PMPS 320
+2 257
+4 182
It's good to be back on the board! Clare had a big day today so we thought we'd like to update you on how she's doing.
To refresh our story, since before the holidays we've been giving Clare a phosphorous binder for her CKD and also antibiotics to treat a somewhat mysterious infection, probably in her kidneys. We started with liquid Clavamox as an AB with a bad result: things started out okay but then while we were away over Christmas, Clare's stomach became upset and she stopped eating. Our wonderful caregiver and veterinary staff got her on fluids and Cerenia, which helped, but it was plain she wasn't tolerating the Clavamox.
When we got back things didn't change much, so we decided to switch her to Primor, a sulfa-type AB instead, and she's been on that for almost 3 weeks now.
Clare's been very brave and has been taking a capsule (with Primor, Cerenia, and Cypro), food additives (aluminum hydroxide and Fortiflora), injections (fluids, insulin and B12), and syringes (with water after the pill, and another with Miralax) each day. Her usual attitude toward all this is "Okay, that's done, now where's my chicken?"
Starting on about January 10th we noticed that her BGs were changing to a new pattern. Her cycles have smoothed out quite a bit from the dramatic dives and bounces she's had. Also, she's going into active cycles on lower and lower doses of insulin.
So tonight she's going lower on a "whisper" dose - which is the smallest dose we can do.
We went back to the vet today for a follow-up urinalysis to see what effect the AB has had. Good news! No bacteria or blood present, and "only a few white cells, nothing abnormal" said the vet. Clare's concentrating her urine well, too. Her weight is up and her temp and heart rate are good.
The bad news is that there are still cell "casts" present in her urine, which indicate some kind of breakdown in her kidneys or urinary tract.
So our vet is doing some further research and will probably recommend some specialized tests tomorrow.
Clare has had a good appy since we changed to the Primor. The fluid therapy especially seems to be good for her, although it's probably the thing she's most impatient with.
I'm in new territory with BGs in the yellows and blues so much of the time. I'm not sure when it's safe to go to bed!
I'd appreciate any neighborly advice on that or any ideas you might have about kidney issues, tests or etc. that might help Clare now.As always, it's a comfort to have you with us during this journey.

Have a good night, everyone!
Georgette and Clare