1/20 Cinco PMPS 251 +5 71 +7 232 Ooops?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
1/19 Recap:
1.25 units bid
AMPS: 321
AM+3: 259
AM+6: 269
PMPS: 276
PM+3.5: 137
PM+6: 123

Yesterday's Condo

We saw some blue yesterday! Yay! I'm not sure if it was the sub-q, helping him to feel better, or what, but I'll take it anyway I can get it. :-D

Cinco seemed a little perkier this morning, until I gave him his eye drops and AB, and then he slunk (slinked?) off into a corner and pouted. He had left just a few bites of his breakfast on his plate, so I put it in the corner with him, and a few minutes later when I checked he was eating it. I guess pouting does not preclude eating! :lol:

It's so hard to tell with him, whether he's not feeling well or just still uncomfortable with the blindness. He walks low to the ground (which I used to blame on his trying to avoid attracting Harvey's attention), and only goes a few feet before he stops and "rests". He doesn't seem to be in distress, but I notice he seems to breath more heavily than the other cats. If given motivation to move (like when I put the drops in his eyes), he does so without hesitation, but he still stays low to the ground. He's always tended to keep his head down most of the time. It's very hard to tilt it up to put the drops in his eyes. I've often wondered if there's an old injury there that makes his neck stiff. You just never know what a rescue cat has been through. I don't think I'll give him sub-qs today. We'll just see how he is this afternoon and maybe plan another round for tomorrow unless he perks up some more. Surely the AB is starting to work by now? It'll be a week tomorrow since we started it. Paws crossed it kicks in soon!

Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to the beans that need them. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/20 Cinco AMPS 275 +3 229 +6 194

Looks like Cinco is inching down nicely today! Interesting that he walks low to the ground....you are right it is hard to say what could be in the past of a rescue kitty. Do you think it could be neuropathy? Your thought that it could be from the blindness is also a good theory, too. I wonder if tilting his head down relieves the pressure in his eyes, too.

Have a great evening, guys!!
 
Re: 1/20 Cinco AMPS 275 +3 229 +6 194

Sure would be nice if our kitties came with a book that had everything they'd been through before they came to us, wouldn't it Tricia? But of course for most of us, I think reading about some of the things they'd lived through would be heartbreaking.

Looking at Cinco's spreadsheet, I think it might be time to go ahead and increase him again. You've been on 1.25 for 21 cycles with your best numbers only being high greens, so it might be a good idea to take him up to 1.5 (but if you're like me, you like to do increases at AMPS instead of PMPS)

Hopefully, you'll get some more experienced eyes to take a look too, but good luck with whatever you decide. I don't blame Cinco for slinking off...they sure do hate to have us fuss with them!! (but of course they're not usually too upset to eat...LOL)
 
Re: 1/20 Cinco AMPS 275 +3 229 +6 194

Thanks for the input, Chris. Do you read minds? We (the dh and I ) have been talking about a dosecrease. I was advised to wait at least 6 cycles after the curve the vet did, because his schedule was thrown so out of whack. That would have put the increase today, but on Mondays we leave right after the pm shot for bowling and are gone for about five hours, so I don't like to start a new dose on Mondays. Unless someone else thinks we shouldn't, we will probably go ahead and bump him up to 1.5 tomorrow morning. Paws crossed that will knock him down a floor! :-D
 
Re: 1/20 Cinco AMPS 275 +3 229 +6 194

I was just reading Cinco's story and some of the latest condos. That is so nice how you took in cat #5. You are doing so much for Cinco. I wish these cat's understood.. but I am sure he is happy to be your kitty. It must take some time to adjust to the blindness, and he has just recently started insulin again. good luck with the dosecrease and sending prayers for Cinco
 
Re: 1/20 Cinco AMPS 275 +3 229 +6 194

Chyna and Cinco both had very close +6 numbers, yay blue! Good luck with the dosecrease tomorrow. May you see green soon! Scritches to Cinco, I wish they could tell us why they do what they do. I hope you have a nice evening, Tricia :-D
 
Re: 1/20 Cinco PMPS 251 +5 71

Thank you, Rachel and Catherine. He's a sweet cat, and he came to me for help when he was very, very sick. I think God sent him to my door because he knew we would take care of him.

Well, we came home to a nice surprise - 71 at +5!! Now we're thinking we should wait one more day to increase. I'll see what he is at +7. He's perkier this evening, too. Maybe, just maybe the AB is working? Please?
 
Well, phooey. Guess I should have known that 71 couldn't have been right. I should have taken a second reading, but I was so excited to see green. :YMSIGH: Dosecrease it is!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top