1/20 Asia PMPS 203, +2 139 back from ER all is well

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-19-asia-amps-477-3-75-479-pmps-349.189850/

I don’t want to say Asia is back to normal, but I’m cautiously optimistic that she’s over the hump or at least the meds are working and she’s eating and bright eyed. Most importantly, she’s sleeping back in her usual spots and purring! :)

Does anybody know how long these Cerenia shots usually last? I’m getting the liquid at some point today when it comes in, but I want to keep tabs on the appetite and give her the onda if I need to, because I’d rather keep this under control than let it get yucky again and bring it back. I’d also rather not give her more meds, obviously, if they aren’t needed.

Hoping Rusty is doing better today.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-19-asia-amps-477-3-75-479-pmps-349.189850/

I don’t want to say Asia is back to normal, but I’m cautiously optimistic that she’s over the hump or at least the meds are working and she’s eating and bright eyed. Most importantly, she’s sleeping back in her usual spots and purring! :)

Does anybody know how long these Cerenia shots usually last? I’m getting the liquid at some point today when it comes in, but I want to keep tabs on the appetite and give her the onda if I need to, because I’d rather keep this under control than let it get yucky again and bring it back. I’d also rather not give her more meds, obviously, if they aren’t needed.

Hoping Rusty is doing better today.
That’s a better start to the day!
 
I'm glad Asia is doing better today and eating for you. Can you call the vet and ask how long the shot is supposed to last?

I will see him today, I got the official answer, 24 hrs + but just was wondering what others have experienced so I have a better idea what to expect. I don’t want to assume the nausea is gone vs the shot is just still working to keep it at bay.
 
Very happy to hear a good Asia report this morning! Surf sweet girl and eat your fuds. ETA: 24 hrs is what my civie got out of the cerenia shot just a week or so ago.

Thanks, Karen! I’m sorry your civvie needed a Cerenia shot. I’m hoping I get the liquid before the 24 hour mark because since it’s working for her, I’d rather keep with that than try the onda for now.
 
+1.25 76, don’t know if this will be a gentle cycle or a fight cycle, prepared for the latter, gave gravy and 3 drops of Karo.
 
So glad she's feeling better....paws and fingers crossed! On of the vets at the practice we go to said the shot can last up to 3 days, but I don't know if that's really true...we usually saw it wear off a little sooner than that. The pills last about 24 hours, but I don't know about the liquid. Continued vines!!
 
Wow - definitely a different set of numbers today vs yesterday! So happy to hear Asia is eating better. I have found Cerenia injectable to work for around 24 hours or so, but sometimes when it offsets that initial nausea; they just continue to eat well, and feel better. Injections of Cerenia have helped out dog tremendously, and then we pulse Cerenia tablets every other day (it's not really indicated for LONG term use in dogs, but she has cancer), and it has helped her appetite!

I hope Asia continues to eat well, and feel better. Sending continued vines for Asia, and comfort for you! :bighug:
 
Wow - definitely a different set of numbers today vs yesterday! So happy to hear Asia is eating better. I have found Cerenia injectable to work for around 24 hours or so, but sometimes when it offsets that initial nausea; they just continue to eat well, and feel better. Injections of Cerenia have helped out dog tremendously, and then we pulse Cerenia tablets every other day (it's not really indicated for LONG term use in dogs, but she has cancer), and it has helped her appetite!

I hope Asia continues to eat well, and feel better. Sending continued vines for Asia, and comfort for you! :bighug:

Thank you, Tasha. It is nice to see non kidney screaming numbers today. I hope when it wears off she continues to eat too, but I have to figure out why she was nauseous in the first place, could be her phos levels. Hope Darwin is continuing to get stronger every day and by the time this is all said and done, you’ll be a pro at pilling and Darwin will be less difficult about it too. ;)
 
Thank you, Tasha. It is nice to see non kidney screaming numbers today. I hope when it wears off she continues to eat too, but I have to figure out why she was nauseous in the first place, could be her phos levels. Hope Darwin is continuing to get stronger every day and by the time this is all said and done, you’ll be a pro at pilling and Darwin will be less difficult about it too. ;)

Yeah, wonder if it is the elevated Phos. I know our CKD kitty (GA) had a very poor appetite when her Phos was high. It's difficult with kitties at times, I think because they are so averse to certain things that they don't realize will help them. My 70 lb dog will let me do just about anything to her, and will take meds like they're treats - wish kitties were the same way :rolleyes: Gotta love them - they keep us on our toes, for sure!
 
Sorry to miss your condo recently, but glad to hear that Asia is feeling better. I hope the shot provides all the help she needs right now.

Thanks for keeping tabs on Rusty and for the healing vines.
Sending reciprocal vines for Asia to continue feeling better.
 
I'm so sorry to hear that Asia has been feeling poorly! The nausea and lack of appetite is so hard to watch...with Girlie, it's just so obvious that she doesn't feel well, and then I feel awful...

Bounce back, now, Miss Asia! Eat your fuds and feel better...:bighug:
 
I’m late to your yesterday’s condo question:

Gracie did that too, huh? Was that alternated with periods of surfing in greens, or did she just take the greens and run downhill with them? Going to look at her SS in a few and answer my own question.

I wish there was a nerdier explanation for this depot stuff. I totally understand how it works on paper and about it filling up. What I don't get, assuming she had an overfull depot, is why so very high after a skipped shot? Can the entire depot be depleted in just a few hours like that? Does it depend on how high/low the dose is how fast it depletes? Or is it a timed situation and her body only grabs so much insulin at set intervals and she just couldn't get enough from the depot to maintain better numbers, like yellows or pinks?

I'm honestly unsure now if 1.5 was too much, I actually think that it was, but uncertain because in light of it taking me several hours to realize she just wasn't eating her normal amount of food, it's not at all surprising the cycle played out like it did. No matter how much momentum, I'm positive yesterday's am cycle was like that because of lack of sustaining food.

Question, was planning to shoot 1.25 tonight assuming she's eating here and there. I don't think she's going to get anywhere close to 50 given that she's at 374 right now, but of course it wouldn't be unheard of. Thoughts?
She did not always do it. There were many days she surfed in green.

I’m not sure Asia’s high numbers were solely because of the skipped shot. They were pretty darn high. I have to ask myself if there isn’t something else that was added onto that. Plus, you didn’t just have a skipped shot; you also had some dose changes from 1.25 to NS to 1u (of course, she was already up there by the time you shot 1u) and a bounce from the really low number. Full depots don’t “usually” deplete that quickly and that’s why I believe there were a lot of other factors in those high numbers. Typically, a lower dose depot can deplete faster. That’s why we are concerned for these high dose kitties where the IAA breaks or the tumor wanes; their depots are so huge that it takes many cycles to deplete them. We often say “up to six” cycles but I’ve actually seen some take 8-10 cycles on the higher doses. ECID as well.

Sorry I didn’t get back to answer the questions but I see you took the dose to 1.25u and looks like it has kicked back in. I hope she’s doing better.

And you already got the answer to the cerenia question.
 
Yeah, wonder if it is the elevated Phos. I know our CKD kitty (GA) had a very poor appetite when her Phos was high. It's difficult with kitties at times, I think because they are so averse to certain things that they don't realize will help them. My 70 lb dog will let me do just about anything to her, and will take meds like they're treats - wish kitties were the same way :rolleyes: Gotta love them - they keep us on our toes, for sure!

It's odd to me because phos was higher before now and it just seemed to start bothering her if that is indeed the problem.

I do think they know when we are trying to help them. Perhaps, with some things like pilling, they don't care that we are trying to help them, they'd rather not! Asia asks me for her shot so I'm pretty convinced she knows that is related to her feeling less crappy since the diabetes dx. Cats are just more independent and opinionated, and I think it's part of their charm! ;)
 
I think I messed with her duration giving her more Karo at the +4, but... I had to run some errands, one of them being picking up her meds, and I just couldn't tell if she was going to careen down or hang out in the 80s. :facepalm:

She is nauseous again, and doesn't want her food, but at least I have meds and I know they work. I was able to hold her like a baby, which she absolutely hates, and slowly give her the liquid, most of it went down, some got on her face. There was a ton of drooling as expected. Now she is upset with me. :( She won't look me in the eye and won't purr and seemed not so pleased that I was petting her, so I called daughter over to give her some love and she purred for her. This is the stuff that makes me feel bad. Yes, I'm helping her, but psychologically I've hurt her. :( She doesn't mind the shots or the ear pokes or the fluids or any of that. She's upset that I messed with her mouth and forced her to eat something, however yummy it may have tasted. Sigh.

Here are some photos of the local compounding pharmacy we used. So cute and thoughtful, they put personalized notes on the box, included a little cat toy and put tape over the oral syringe with a red line so there's no confusion how much to give.

IMG_2740.JPG IMG_2741.JPG IMG_2742.JPG
 
I think I messed with her duration giving her more Karo at the +4, but... I had to run some errands, one of them being picking up her meds, and I just couldn't tell if she was going to careen down or hang out in the 80s. :facepalm:

She is nauseous again, and doesn't want her food, but at least I have meds and I know they work. I was able to hold her like a baby, which she absolutely hates, and slowly give her the liquid, most of it went down, some got on her face. There was a ton of drooling as expected. Now she is upset with me. :( She won't look me in the eye and won't purr and seemed not so pleased that I was petting her, so I called daughter over to give her some love and she purred for her. This is the stuff that makes me feel bad. Yes, I'm helping her, but psychologically I've hurt her. :( She doesn't mind the shots or the ear pokes or the fluids or any of that. She's upset that I messed with her mouth and forced her to eat something, however yummy it may have tasted. Sigh.

Here are some photos of the local compounding pharmacy we used. So cute and thoughtful, they put personalized notes on the box, included a little cat toy and put tape over the oral syringe with a red line so there's no confusion how much to give.

View attachment 33771 View attachment 33772 View attachment 33773
She'll forgive you. She knows how much you love her! :bighug:
Wow! 're pharmacy! So thoughtful!:)
 
Gave her the liquid cerenia about 2 hours ago and ondansetron 30 minutes ago or so. She's back to taking a couple bites and walking away. :arghh:

.5 orally of 16mg/ml suspension for the cerenia, 1/2 tab of 8mg onda
 
Aw, I'm sorry she's not feeling well again tonight. I know giving them meds can be so disheartening, but ultimately I'm sure she knows you're doing it out of love.

I don't have any ondansetron experience myself (except when my Dad took it post-chemo), but once nausea sets in, it can take a couple hours for cerenia to kick in. When CKD really set in with Trix, I ultimately did my best to stay ahead of the nausea by giving her Cerenia every 24 hours, whether or not she was displaying symptoms or not. I know you're just coming off Asia's cerenia injection, so that's just a little bit of info for future reference.

It sounds like you are able to pill Asia, since you gave her the onda in tablet form. Can you try doing the cerenia by tablet as well? Have you ever used empty gelcaps for pilling? If not, they can be a lifesaver. For one, you can pack multiple meds into one empty gelcap (as long as there are no contraindications), therefore reducing the number of times you have to pill. For another, the gelcap shields them from the bitter taste of the meds, which reduces the risk of that post-medication drooling nightmare.

I do love that the pharmacy sent a kitty toy for Asia...so sweet and thoughtful!
 
Aw, I'm sorry she's not feeling well again tonight. I know giving them meds can be so disheartening, but ultimately I'm sure she knows you're doing it out of love.

I don't have any ondansetron experience myself (except when my Dad took it post-chemo), but once nausea sets in, it can take a couple hours for cerenia to kick in. When CKD really set in with Trix, I ultimately did my best to stay ahead of the nausea by giving her Cerenia every 24 hours, whether or not she was displaying symptoms or not. I know you're just coming off Asia's cerenia injection, so that's just a little bit of info for future reference.

It sounds like you are able to pill Asia, since you gave her the onda in tablet form. Can you try doing the cerenia by tablet as well? Have you ever used empty gelcaps for pilling? If not, they can be a lifesaver. For one, you can pack multiple meds into one empty gelcap (as long as there are no contraindications), therefore reducing the number of times you have to pill. For another, the gelcap shields them from the bitter taste of the meds, which reduces the risk of that post-medication drooling nightmare.

I do love that the pharmacy sent a kitty toy for Asia...so sweet and thoughtful!

I can't pill her, it was a liquid suspension for the cerenia, he can order me a vial of injectable but it won't come until Tuesday. For the zofran, it's a dissolving tab, I tried putting it in a bit of gravy, she won't even eat gravy right now, so I mixed it with water and syringe fed it to her. You're not supposed to chew or eat it, it's supposed to dissolve but we will see if it does anything.
 
but once nausea sets in, it can take a couple hours for cerenia to kick in. When CKD really set in with Trix, I ultimately did my best to stay ahead of the nausea by giving her Cerenia every 24 hours, whether or not she was displaying symptoms or not.

That's what I suspecting is that I just didn't get ahead of this in time. Interestingly, she was well nauseated yesterday and when I gave her the shot and it was almost instantanously that it worked.

I'm not sure my vet will go along with giving her this every day, he was okay to let her go a couple more days without eating before trying the onda. :(
 
I know it's tough with vets...but it has been found that long-term use of cerenia is OK (although I don't have studies to back that up), but not all vets are up to date with that info yet. FWIW, Trix took it every day for over 2 years....one day at a time, but maybe ultimately if necessary you can convince him. The shot does work very quickly.

Please feel better, Asia....
 
What about an appy stimulant?

Sending vines and :bighug:s.

I don’t have anything like that on hand. I think I’m going to have to take her to the ER, she is 87 at +3 and no real food to speak of. Since I’m there and they are well equipped and uber expensive, no doubt, going to get a sonogram, chest X-ray, whatever and try to figure out what’s going on so at least I know.
 
Can you syringe feed her? She might take little bits at a time. At least it would be something.

When Alex was at her sickest, I'd process her food in a Ninja without using water. Without water I was able to bring it to the consistency of a mousse. This consistency was great because it didn't run all over the place when feeding. Oftentimes, she'd lick small amounts at a time off the back of my hand. I'd try a little bit every time I walked by her.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:



ETA: Just saw your post above. Sending positive thoughts.
I know how stressful it is when our kitties are sick.
 
Can you syringe feed her? She might take little bits at a time. At least it would be something.

When Alex was at her sickest, I'd process her food in a Ninja without using water. Without water I was able to bring it to the consistency of a mousse. This consistency was great because it didn't run all over the place when feeding. Oftentimes, she'd lick small amounts at a time off the back of my hand. I'd try a little bit every time I walked by her.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:



ETA: Just saw your post above. Sending positive thoughts.
I know how stressful it is when our kitties are sick.
Asia has some teeth and sore mouth issues making syringing difficult. I believe Stacy has a food that is like a mousse but Asia normally eats raw. It’s certainly worth a try to see if she can get that to a mousse consistency.

Sending a million vines for Asia and hugs for you, Stacy. Pls keep us posted.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I don’t have anything like that on hand. I think I’m going to have to take her to the ER, she is 87 at +3 and no real food to speak of. Since I’m there and they are well equipped and uber expensive, no doubt, going to get a sonogram, chest X-ray, whatever and try to figure out what’s going on so at least I know.

Rotten , rotten heck Stacy.
Obvs I had everything crossed that Asia would be feeling a bit better today.
All the hugs in the world to you. So upsetting and stressful.
Hope the ER sort this out and get her back to her usual self.

M
xx
 
I’m too irate to type anything diplomatic about our ER experience at this moment. For anyone worried or checking in, we are home, Asia decided to eat when we got back and I’m on food/Karo duty for the night if need be. All is okay for the time being.
 
Oh Stacy I’m sorry to hear that you had to take Asia to ER vet, and that it was an awful experience. I’ve had those, they absolutely suck (for lack of a better word). Cerenia is always an every 24 hour drug as far as I’ve ever seen dispensed.

Sending lots of positive thoughts and vines your way!! Hugs!! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top