1/20 Asher Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Hi folks,
It seems like just yesterday I was wondering about Asher’s numbers....ask and you will receive...

Here is today’s scenario: amps: 328 , +6: 133 , pmps: 92

So we’ve hit our no shoot number. Considering his short history, what would you guys suggest? ( I am leaning towards option 1 and then maybe 3?) viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32652)

Thanks tons,

-donna

*More info I just thought of: today he had mostly the lower carb food, not much science diet m/d at all. This transition started two days ago (so today is day 3). Tomorrow he would get no m/d. Maybe the food change is kicking in?
 
Well, first, Donna, let's take a moment to celebrate these lovely numbers! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

I would wait the 30 minutes and test again, but it seems unlikely he will get near 200. And if not, I would skip and just figure on a highish number amps, planning not to react to it and shot lower than usual. It's a pain to skip, but 92 is a long way from 200 and a long surf.

FWIW, my opinion.
 
Thanks Sue!
Yes, I am psyched he did so good today.

I was wondering if he could come up to 200 fast enough to feed him then shoot yet tonight. It does seem like a long way to go.

And here he is with this pattern of higher amps then decrease throughout the day.

Now when you say skip tonight and then tomorrow morning shoot lower than usual, are we talking like a 1.75u?

-d.
 
So if we are going to do a no shoot tonight, shall we just feed him and save him an ear prick tonight, or would it be helpful to test once more tonight in a little while, then feed?
Sorry for so many Q’s.

-d.
 
Thanks Kristen!
Hope you had a good appointment today ;) you reminded me I have to go get some more curls put on the top of my head!
Takes me forever to make an appointment...
:lol:

-donna
 
OK, another test it is. We’ll get on that shortly and I’ll report back in.

Thanks guys. Your help is priceless. And appreciated more than I can describe!

-d.
 
One hour later we get bg of 90.

We had to feed the kitties too, or we would have had a riot on our hands ;) they were already bummin’ they didn’t get fed at 6:15 :o

Think we need to test more tonight?

-d.
 
donnahc said:
One hour later we get bg of 90.

We had to feed the kitties too, or we would have had a riot on our hands ;) they were already bummin’ they didn’t get fed at 6:15 :o

Think we need to test more tonight?

-d.
I would after feeding. I'd want to see the numbers go up (although 90 is dang good!) before I relaxed.

Just my $0.02
 
It will be interesting to see if it goes up or down after eating. Down could mean a pancreas waking up.

What a difference the food made. Your boy may be very carb sensitive so you might scout out lower carb food. Fish is usually the lowest, but you want to limit fish to twice a week or so.
 
I guess we’ll do another test before bed so we know what’s going on and so we can relax :-D

The food we have both cats on now is Blue Buffalo Wilderness Chicken canned. It is around 1% carbs as I have figured out using this calculator...if it’s accurate: http://www.scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html

Food info is here if anyone is interested: http://www.bluebuffalo.com/products/cat ... cken.shtml

Asher used to eat a lot of the canned cat food fish stuff in aspic when he was on dry food too, he went nutz over it actually. I was a little afraid to introduce that again worrying that he might not want anything else once he got the taste of it again, and I know you guys said before only once or twice a week on fish. Hoover kitty worries :)

I plan on doing some other foods in between, eventually, and will try to keep the carbs exactly the same as the Blue Buffalo, so I don’t screw anything up with his numbers.

Oh and I ordered a meter, so we can get the cheaper test strips. These AlphaTrak strips are SO expensive. So we’ll just keep that pet meter for a backup.

-d.
 
Oh, that is good info, didn’t think about ebay for testing supplies. I guess you can get anything on there ;)

What could be the deal on a pancreas wake up? Why would it not work so good, then “wake up” again?

Just curious...

-d.
 
It is just a way to gauge how things are working. If the pancreas isn't working well, food will raise the bg levels. If after food, the numbers go down, it is a sign that the pancreas may again be doing its job.

You can usually find most brands of strips on ebay - except the Walmart ones, I think. Medicare seniors sell off their extras. Just be sure the seller has a good reputation and that the expiration date will work for you.
 
Cool! I will check it out.

We decided upon the Freestyle Lite meter. Got a good deal on the meter itself and the strips are half the price of what we use now retail, so if I do a little comparison shopping maybe we can do even better. I like the wicking action on those strips. It helps us on the AlphaTrak it seems. It’s the same manufacturer I think, Abbott.

I guess we should go test the boy again :)

-d.
 
Looks like he’s on his way back up a little bit. The +3 after the no shoot tonight is 105.
Be real interesting to see how high he is tomorrow morning.

-donna
 
I loved the freedom lite meter and got the strips on line from Hocks.
I think as far as the pancreas goes, the theory is that when you keep the BG at low levels it creates a healthy environment and allows the pancreas to regenerate.
 
One cannot use Guaranteed Analysis to judge the nutritional content of food with any reasonable accuracy. Sorry, I would not trust that calculator one iota [heck I don't 100% trust the J&B list either - but I do think it is a good first stop].

Please read Janet & Binky's FAQ for info on how the numbers were achieved:
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/foodfaq.html

I will be happy to help you through getting the accurate info from the manufacture if you would like. The process is generally outlined in the J&B FAQ as well as here:
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=7743

You can also ask if anyone else [most likely in Health] has the correct info for the BB flavor you are after if it is not in J&B's list.

Good news on the numbers.
 
I called blue buffalo back when Charlie was first dx'd and asked them for the % carbs "as fed values" for their wilderness foods. They said all the cans are under 1%.
 
OK that's a great start, did they tell you the rest of the As Fed values for protein, fat, fiber, ash and moisture/water? If so I would be happy to put them into the nutrient conversion calculator SS that Janet has to convert them into % from calories or %Kcal consumed [that we use to say 10% or less] from As Fed.

EDIT: I just sent a message to Blue Buffalo requesting all or at minimum
* protein
* fat
* carbohydrate
* water/moisture
* fiber
* ash
* phosphorus
* calcium
* and number of calories per can
in AF or DM. We'll see how cooperative they are. Direct call to (800) 919-2833 goes to vmail. Not holding my breath - I think I've asked before only to be rebuffed. If my recollection is correct I specifically refused to feed it because they would not give me the info. But I could be mis-remembering.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top