1-20-20 TYLER AMPS-83/82@+4/PMPS-87/99@+5

Nice shooting!!

So here's an FYI.... If a kitty is in normal numbers for a week, you can decrease the dose. (See the 2nd bullet point in the TR info under Reducing the Dose.)

How do you feel about shooting a "drop" of insulin? You push really hard on the plunger, insert the syringe into your Lantus, then release the pressure. You should have a drop of insulin in the syringe.
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) Hi Sienna, this is still a little new to me, this is what I was told about reductions
In a nutshell, TR you don't decrease dose unless Tyler drops below 50 or less three times or below 40 once (he's a long term diabetic) and you can do increases every 6 cycles if he is not responding as you'd like. You also can shoot any BG 50 or above with regular dose of insulin. .

When we talk about going below 50, that means any time, preshot or during the cycle. When you are looking for 3 drops below 50, those drops have to be on different days. So if Tyler were to hit 49 twice the same day, that only counts as one drop below 50. If Tyler drops below 40, then that is an automatic reduction.


This is what you have mentioned to me in the past

With TR, it's below 50 (not 50 or less). There are also variations on a theme. When cats are getting to the point that Tyler is, an option is for them to drop below 50 on three separate cycles in order to have their dose reduced. This may be a good option for Tyler. This option is on the German Lantus board dosing (Tilly's page).


So going by all if this I'm a little confused going by what I was told
Are you talking about normal pre shot numbers for a week including testing afterwards.He did have 2 blues pre shot night cycle on 1-13-20 (118) and 1-15-20 (121) are those considered normal range, I thought they all had to be green .Please explain thanks
 
Last edited:
There are several different options regarding reductions. You are correct, with respect to all of the options. The only option that isn't in the sticky is holding the dose if your cat drops into the 40 - 50 range on 3 separate days (the cycles was my error).

From the Dosing sticky:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
I realize it can be a bit confusing to have all of the options and to go between our sticky and the German Lantus group. The good news is that Tyler is doing great and you have options!
 
There are several different options regarding reductions. You are correct, with respect to all of the options. The only option that isn't in the sticky is holding the dose if your cat drops into the 40 - 50 range on 3 separate days (the cycles was my error).

From the Dosing sticky:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
I realize it can be a bit confusing to have all of the options and to go between our sticky and the German Lantus group. The good news is that Tyler is doing great and you have options!
Would it hurt or not be good for Tyler if I didn't take the reduction and leave him at the 0.10 dose
 
I don't think holding the dose would hurt Tyler. IMHO, what's important is that you have a strategy. If you want to hold the dose until he drops into the 40 - 50 range on three days, that's fine. If Tyler want's less insulin, his numbers will tell you.
 
I don't think holding the dose would hurt Tyler. IMHO, what's important is that you have a strategy. If you want to hold the dose until he drops into the 40 - 50 range on three days, that's fine. If Tyler want's less insulin, his numbers will tell you.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) thanks for explaining, I think for now I will stay with the 0.10 dose and see what happens. I must read this stuff about 20 times and still can't remember it by heart lol
 
Diane, you and I process info a lot alike :bighug: I have to write it out in 1,2,3 bullet points to digest it . You will know what and when to do for Tyler . He is responding so well under your love and care ❤️
 
Diane, you and I process info a lot alike :bighug: I have to write it out in 1,2,3 bullet points to digest it . You will know what and when to do for Tyler . He is responding so well under your love and care ❤️
I think the 2 of us would drive anyone crazy with how we are lol, Sienne just clarified the 2 options, I decided to stay with the 0.10 dose for now and see what happens
 
Back
Top