? 1/20/19 | Ben: AMPS: 106, +2=76, +5=50, +6=61, +8=48

Tasha & Darwin

Member Since 2017
Condo

Hello everyone! Sorry, it's been a bit since I posted. We've had a BUSY week! :(

Darwin was sick on Thursday - he had a fever, wasn't eating much and quite lethargic. Bloodwork and x-rays all looked fairly normal, though (because of his asthma) it was hard to rule out another bought of pneumonia completely. He got an injection of Ampicillin and coaxed to eat, and seems to be back to normal now - phew! We were worried about Valley Fever, but that was negative! We are still waiting on a Heartworm test, just to be safe, but anticipating that to be negative, too.

Ben seems to be doing very well, which is great! He had his lowest AMPS today, and now his first lime green! I'm not really sure I want to give him a reduction quite yet. Thoughts? With TR, I can take reductions under 40, but it does recommend under 50 for "new" diabetics. Is Ben still considered new?

Hope everyone else is having a nice weekend! :cat::cat:
 
I'm glad Darwin is doing better. I hope the heartworm test is negative. Nice surfing today for Ben. They are considered a new diabetic for one year after diagnosis. He's been at this dose for a long time. To be safe you should probably take the reduction. If it fails, you can go right back up.
 
I agree. Take the reduction. Did you feed and test again after the 48?
Okay, cool. I was thinking he’d be considered new. I just updated his ss. I did feed and test again, and he’s climbed back up. All in all, nice surfing!

Yay for his first reduction, then!!
 
Back
Top