1/2 TR Mikey PMPS 392 shot .25 +1 446 +2 237 +2.5 223 +3 239 +4 253

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...pmps-338-not-eating-well.130778/#post-1345200

Good Morning!

Mikey is feeling much more like himself today. He left a little bit of his breakfast behind, but other than that, is eating normal and playing in the kitchen sink.

Marje posted on yesterday's condo that she and Julie think it's time to increase his dose. I am uncertain about this. Mikey has been through a whole ton of stress in the last week, and I'm wondering how big an influence this is having on his BGs. On the other hand, if I don't increase this weekend, it can't happen until next weekend. I have to go back to work on Monday. Also, I need to avoid late nights right now, if at all possible. My health is a little bit shaky at the moment. Raising him to .25 might be a compromise. What about all these bounces, though?
 
Raising him to 0.25u is definitely a possibility but it has to be weighed with how you are doing. And, you could be right that the stress has caused the higher BG. Another member's cat, Leo, used to go super high when he travelled with her. Even after he was OTJ, he could spike up and then come back down. So it's not wrong to give him s chance to see if it's the stress and buy yourself some healing time.

The bounces......sometimes you just have to ignore them as best you csn and focus on whether the dose is getting you in the correct nadir range.
 
Keeping your health in mind, what range would you like to see Mikey in right now?

It seems to me that Mikey is bouncing on every cycle, but he is now clearing them super fast. That's a change, and a good one. He's also not going as low, which is good and bad. We don't want him diving way low like he used to, but ideally he would be spending more time in blue and green than he is now.

The plan with food manipulation was to try to flatten him out some, then once that is done you can work toward getting him flat in the range that you want. He has flattened out some and will probably continue to settle down with some more tweaking. He does seem to be settling in a higher range that we normally want, but it's up to you to say where you really want him. My opinion is that a wee bit more insulin would probably help him, and that you have room to give more without sending him plunging again. His lowest nadir this week was still mid-blue.

I was very sick most of the time I had Jazzy, and I was uncomfortable with green because I couldn't trust myself to stay awake. My goal was to avoid green. She wasn't a bouncer, though, so she was pretty easy to regulate in a certain range. Later she decided she was going to be green despite my plan. It's a bit tougher with a bouncer, but it seems like maybe he is trying to let go of some of that so hopefully better days are ahead.
 
Thank you, Libby and Marje. I've always said that I thought the perfect BG number for Mikey would be 100. I want him tightly regulated, but I need some wiggle room, because I work and I need to sleep. I am planning to be home tonight, and I could switch his dose then. I have to be gone tomorrow, but I probably won't be leaving until +2 0r 3, and Don will be here to monitor. He's never dealt with a low number, before, but he can handle it. I'll be home tomorrow night and most of the day on Sunday. I'm about to test him at +6. Assuming he doesn't have some weird Mikey nadir, should I go for it? Better now than during school. Also, how long would his BG be affected by stress?
 
Punkin's BGs didn't raise from stress, but what I've seen from other's comments seems to just be hours. Seems hard to imagine that it would be more than a day, but it's probably one of those ECID (every cat is different) things.

I think if I were in your situation, i'd just go to 0.25u. We know he's very responsive to insulin and you only want to move his nadirs down a shade. Whatever you choose, you know we'll support you.
 
Lucy's BG used to get lower with stress. I've seen that in other cats, though usually it's the other way around.
 
I'm glad that Mikey is eating better, that is always a worry. Take care of yourself, or you can't take care of Mikey!

Uh, you seem to be a day ahead of the rest of us.
 
We have a diver. Cats do not go to the Olympics, Mikey. They are not rubber balls, and the are not Olympians. Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!

I'm feeding him some 12% food. Should I be giving honey. That's one heck of a big dive.
 
You may find spreading his food over 2-3 mini-meals helps with that drop.

That's pretty steep for Lantus! next thing you know, he'll be doing a limbo for you.
 
It should start to level off a smidge. It takes about 30 minutes for higher carb food to start showing up in the glucose. He isn't in danger, yet, but it may not feel good to drop so sudden.

I wonder how it might work to do
1/3 meal 8-12% carb at pre-shot to slow the drop
1/3 meal <=8% low carb at +3
1/3 meal <=8% low carp at +3
 
Breathe! He is in safe numbers right now. Maybe play a little with him to de-stress.
 
I was just recently dealing with huge drops (150-200pts) by +2, setting him up for a bounce. Then he would clear that bounce and repeat, I have started to pad his PS meal by 1/2 ounce, I feed raw so its very low carbs, I have not had any large drops since.
Hope you find a method that works.
 
He's basically flat at +2.5. He's a little stinker with the dives and bounces. I've been playing with his food for weeks, but the solution evades me. This is the first time I've used 12% to slow a dive, and I'm really excited about how it's working. I'll test again at +3. I have a massive headache, so it would be really nice if he'd cooperate.
 
Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!! Where's the fire??

No need to go rushing down to the lagoon....a nice leisurely stroll is fine!!

Nice that the 12% slowed him down...hopefully he'll continue to just gently slide down instead of taking another giant leap!
 
looks like you've slowed him down - good call on the food, mary!

any kind of exercise can lower his BGs, so i might wait to play until you're not trying to slow him down. Exercise makes the cells more receptive to insulin in both cats and humans.
 
He's flat again at +3! We have a yellow surf! Yellow isn't the color I want him surfing in long term, but this is only the first cycle of the increase. With the depot not being full yet, a yellow surf works for me for tonight! He's nibbling at a bit of LC now, but he's not really interested. I'm starting to trust his appetite more. When he dove, he was starving.

Mikey, listen to Auntie Chris. Your poofy tail is not on fire, so you don't need to rush to dive into the lagoon.

Chris, I think it's time for the ball vs. cat lecture. :)

Julie, he was too busy taking a nap in the bathroom sink to play, so we're good there. His idea of playing is usually to lie down and watch the toy go by anyhow. I don't know how he's not a million pounds!
 
hahahaha i'm trying to picture Mikey being a million pounds!

glad he's flattened out still. woot! little gift to you since you've got the headache, i guess. good boy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top