1/2 Sushi: AMPS~316 | PMPS~273

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sushi (GA 5/05-3/14)

Member Since 2011
Here's our last condo on 10/14 (wow! time flies!)

Happy New Year everyone! I’ve missed FDMB and hope you and your furry friends are doing well!
Life in Baton Rouge has been unexpectedly busy and hectic, and I’m still struggling to find balance and the time to keep everything moving. Ironically, I find life taking a pause right in sync with the New Year, giving me time to finally post!

Sushi has been extremely ornery* since we moved, which not only has been a huge struggle but also just breaks my heart. He was so well trained and amazingly cooperative at our previous home. I’d say “let’s go take a test!” or “let’s get your medicine!” and he’d run and hop up on the table, lay down and look at me purring. The contrast between his behavior there and his behavior here tries my patience, because I know how well behaved he can be, and I know he knows what to do. Now, testing and dosing him involves 5-10+ minutes of coercing him to come to me, jump up on the table, lay down, sit still, and always results in my interference, whether it’s picking him up and putting him on the table, having to push him into a laying position, or all of the above. It’s not unusual for him to have a fit like a bucking bronco at some point during a test, or stand up and try to walk away right as I’m about to inject the needle. I hate forcing him to do any of these things; it frustrates the ever living crap out of me, and wastes so much time! Plus it was really straining our relationship. A few weeks ago, after a terrible 30 minute bout of trying to get him to cooperate, I decided to try testing him as he eats. This has been a LIFESAVING technique, but I can’t remember if it’s okay or not. I test him within his first few bites, but does the fact that he’s eating skew his results?

Due to this and things being unusually hectic, Sushi and I have been on cruise control. We’re still at his “safe” dose of 3 units, and I typically only test at pre-shot with maybe one additional test because of how difficult he’s been. The one thing I am doing right is not skipping injections. We’ve gone 130 doses without skipping! Wahoo!
He’s doing well: eating like a Hoover vacuum, grooming (this still excites me!), he’s definitely gained some weight, and our relationship has tremendously improved since I began testing him while he eats.
But his numbers are high; even higher than I feel they should be at our “safe” dose of 3 units. (I suppose they could be inaccurate because I’m testing him while he eats…)

There’s a lot more to update on, but this is a good place to start. Hope you’re all doing well!




*Other ornery behavior includes:
  • Ripping up the carpet left and right.
  • If I go to bed within 30 minutes to an hour of getting home, he has a fit, running around meowing loudly, even if I spend some time on the floor petting him or playing with him beforehand.
I am home more often; I come home most days for an hour for lunch, and I’m home for at least an hour after work to test/feed/shoot him before leaving to run errands or hang out with friends. I always return home by 10 at the latest. I feel that I’m giving him the same amount of attention as usual. So I’m not sure what gives.
 
ashley! :YMHUG: great to see you!

i have no idea about his behavior, except from what you said - do you mean that if you spend more time with him before bed he isn't as crazy? if so, that kinda answers it. is he alone the rest of the time? cuz that's a lot of alone time for a kitty.

if you're testing at the same time as he's eating, it should be fine. takes 15 or more minutes for BG to raise when we give them high carbs, so i'd think it would work the same with low carb. i think the numbers you're seeing are likely fairly accurate numbers and not particularly food influenced. yes, they are very high. the first way to address that is more insulin, but that would require more testing to be sure he's safe.

are you using the neosporin with pain relief? still giving him a treat & lots of praise with every poke?
 
It's good to see you back!yes the numbers are higher than we would like to see, but amazingly a lot of vets look on numbers like this as safe.

Go with what works for the testing, it shouldn't be a problem testing while eating if that's when he will be still. I always give Tess her shot while she's eating, but she moves around too much to be able to test then.

I think sushi may be feeling better and so wanting more attention. it's great that you can come home at noon, but it sounds like he wants more one on one time.
 
Awwwwww hi ladies!  :smile: It's so good to hear from you!  :-D
 
Yeayyyyyyy I am sooo excited to hear that it's okay to test while Sushi's eating!!  This is HUGE and will enable me to move forward with regulating him. 
 
I do praise, give treats, kisses, scratches, etc when I test Sushi, but it doesn't seem to do the trick.  I even attempted a few full sessions to train him to lay down (that's one of the biggest issues) with no avail. 
I use neosporin every now and then.  He's not crazy about the application of it; he squirms like a fish out of water!  But I think he likes it once that's over.  I suppose I should use it more often?
 
He's crazy even if I spend time with him before I go to bed.  I think sometimes he gets confused and thinks I need to feed him.  He's always exhibited food agression (more like craziness!), so maybe that's it?
 
He's only alone for spurts of about 4 hours during the day, and I'm home from 5/5:30-6 and 10pm-8am (most) every day.  Most days I'm home more than that.  He has a "sister" cat, though they don't really get along.  Is she still company even though they aren't big pals? 
 
Ann--yes!  My vet thinks these numbers are just fine (that's another post!), but I think they're too high.  I've felt kind of stuck because like Julie said, I have to test him more often to be able to raise his dose, but testing has been so impossible!
 
I think you're right that Sushi's feeling better is causing his ornery behavior.  That's always been his personality; he's a handful for sure!
 
Thank you both soo much!  I've missed FDMB!
 
HI, GUYS!!!!!!!

we missed you...
and Sushi...
here's a pic JUST for you!!!!! :lol: :lol:

celi & binks

funny-animals-13.jpg
 
LOL yessssss!! I love the pic! And I love having a place to be a crazy cat lady!
Have ya'll seen this (don't let the name deter you): http://www.mycatisadick.com? I think Sushi could be king of this site. :lol:

Hey, did the Lantus forum have a divide? I'm noticing a Lantus--Tight Regulation and a "Relaxed" Lantus forum. Has it always been this way?
 
the relaxed forum arrived a couple of weeks ago - some people wanted another option for those not interested in following the protocol.

i'll go peek at the site. will McAfee ban it? :lol: ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top