Ozzy Pawzbourne
Member Since 2016
Good Morning!
Hi Joanna !!! Posted on ur yesterday thread a bit ago. I too got the Relion syringes in getting ready for Lantus and I already see I do not like them. Going to vet tomorrow to get the U 100 ulticare ....I have loved the working of them in U40 .... just know Elmo and I have you and Ozzy's back...check out our message to you both in yesterday's thread !!!I just gave him .75U. He wasnt ready to pee for me. Was going to add my condo from yesterday but it is easier to add the links from my laptop and I am still on my phone. Thank you!
I actually don't feel super nervous about going with 1 u because he was doing ok on 1u on vestulin and got some blues and greens, but those greens just went too low too fast. I understand nose dives are not common on lantus. On the TR protocol, he should actually start out around 1.6u so....?? I guess it is too late since we already dosed him this am.
These new syringes suck compared to the old ones. Harder to push out your extra insulin without pushing past your correct dose and having to start over. I can imagine how difficult it can be at lower doses. We will adjust.
With SLGS, you would need to do a curve and then adjust according to the guidelines.You and me BOTH!!! I really wish I would've trusted my gut and got Lantus last week. I am kicking myself for not!!! So hard to return to work after 18 days off too! I am so sad!!
But I go back for Tues-Friday. Maybe we can see how he does this week on .75 and then adjust him up if needed on Thursday am or PM cycle? Doesn't it take a few cycles to sink in? That way I have 5 cycles to monitor before going back to work the following week
Hi from soon to be Lantus users!!! Have a question about Syringes....we have been using 12.7 mm length ulticare and really like them...do any of the U100 come in 1/2 inch ???I'm not nervous about you going with 1u either but I have seen enough to know that sometimes they get New Dose Wonkiness with a new dose and sometimes they drop the first or second cycle before they settle a bit. I was trying to keep that in mind with you returning to work.
We don't really know whether he will get NDW with Lantus. Wish you had one more day at home after today!
BTW, I never liked the Relion syringes. I used Terumos, as did many members, and they were wonderful but they discontinued them. BDs are better than Relions but a lot more expensive. I've heard the CarePoint Vet from ADW are really good but, as with many syringes, get bubbles that you have to learn to deal with. I've linked the ones I would use. I think it's best to use 31g syringes.....less prick for them to feel.
Yes, they do. On American Diabetes Wholesale, the Ulticare 0.3cc syringes come in 12mm and 8mm. The 12 mm are 15/32" so al out 1/2".Hi from soon to be Lantus users!!! Have a question about Syringes....we have been using 12.7 mm length ulticare and really like them...do any of the U100 come in 1/2 inch ???
You got it!How about a +2 test today so we can see if he onsets then?
Thanks Beth! I got your note on yesterday's condo and replied.Hi Joanna !!! Posted on ur yesterday thread a bit ago. I too got the Relion syringes in getting ready for Lantus and I already see I do not like them. Going to vet tomorrow to get the U 100 ulticare ....I have loved the working of them in U40 .... just know Elmo and I have you and Ozzy's back...check out our message to you both in yesterday's thread !!!
I got a script and headed over to Walmart.I am sure he will appreciate the pokey breaks, too. My poor kitty's ears look awful!I think it's too soon to do an actual curve for purposes of SLGS. When he starts getting more blue and green numbers, you'll be glad you gave him some pokey breaks at these higher numbers. Yes, data is good but we can fill in gaps without overpoking when he's higher.
See...I am a former vestulin user and it seems I have a little PTSD from how erratic vestulin was. I was always worried Ozzy was going to drop too low and wanted to see how long it would last in him (which was never very long). I have to adjust my thinking and fears and realize lantus acts different and is more gentle. I'll get there!What +? time should I check before bed to know if he's going to be ok for the night so I don't worry? +2?You should also take advantage of sleeping when he's high. A before bed test is fine as long as he's in these yellow numbers and not dropping a lot from PMPS.
Thank you. I did read over all of yesterday's post...I'm admittedly a little addicted to this site now....Hubby's like- what's happened to you!!?Jo
I know this is your last day off but while you have the time, it would be good to go back through the last few days of condos and be sure you've read everything. Sometimes we cross post and you might not realize that links have been left for you to look at (e.g. Did you see Dosing with Calipers?).
We try to not throw a lot at you at once but there is so much to learn and a lot of valuable links as you ca see from the "Where Can I Find" post that I also linked. I'm not saying you need to read all of those; you don't but it gives you a sense of the tip of the iceberg of the amount of info available.
I'm not sure if it's the lighting or not...those test strips are annoying because there is such a subtle difference between negative and trace and you only have 15 seconds to figure out which one it is.... I will just keep testing. Looking for the meter online now and strips. Trying to see which meter takes the least expensive strips.I wouldn't think he'd fluctuate between negative and trace that much. Could it be lighting?
Actually, I also had a hard time telling sometimes and would just retest. I could always insert a large spoon under her bottom as she squatted and get a spoonful of urine so retesting with another strip was easy. It hunk when the strips are new, they seem to be a bit more sensitive to the 15 secs as I noticed they would change fast.I'm not sure if it's the lighting or not...those test strips are annoying because there is such a subtle difference between negative and trace and you only have 15 seconds to figure out which one it is.... I will just keep testing. Looking for the meter online now and strips. Trying to see which meter takes the least expensive strips.
Will test again at +4
BTW....Sorry to off topic rant- but how STUPID is it that the Rose Parade is today and not yesterday which was the actual first day of the new year. I know it's today the holiday is recognized ...Blah blah blah....it's just stupid. I have seen the Rose Parade for decades and never once remember it not being on the 1st of January.





Sometimes that happens.....believe me I've seen much worse.@Marje and Gracie
AMPS =293
+2 =239
+4 = 228
Still high and flat...hoping his will come down into some blues here soon.
Poor Kitty has been over the 200s every single day for last month.![]()
Ok, will post back at +10 Boy has he been a little sleepy snuggle bug today.Yes, he’s just not getting duration yet. Sometimes as the depot fills and the cumulative nature of the insulin occurs, the numbers improve. He is likely still going to need an increase.
It’s your decision when you want to increase his dose if you are worried about the numbers and him staying there with the DKA past. I’d just be concerned about increasing when you are going back to work and will not be able to monitor him.
Sometimes it’s very clear at what dose to start them when they are moving from Vetsulin, Novolin N, etc but since he had seen some lower greens, it is better to start a tad lower and increase then have him throw you a number below 50 right off the bat.
I would get a test later in the cycle....perhaps +10.
Yes, if you do a +10, you'll need a test before you shoot. You can test just before you shoot so it's closer to 2 hours. I just want to see if he dips.If I get a +10, do I need to do a +11.5. Or can I go ahead then and just feed and shoot?
I read your thread and watched your videos on dosing with calipers. Seems very scientific! I'm not sure I understood the part on how you tell how many actual mm are in a unit? You have to test multiple syringes in a box? Like used ones or new ones? Can you explain this part more? I got the part about how to use the calipers but measuring out the units was based on figuring out what a true unit is based on discrepancies with syringes.
This is good for Fig because he was always skinny his whole life. It is actually nice to pet him without his spine feeling prominent. But not for Ozzy- we actually want him to loose a little more weight. I am not looking to diet him till his DM is more regulated for fear of ketones, but I really don't want him to gain more weight. I was always making sure he was eating at +1.5 because of the low drops on vestulin. How often should we feed them now?yes. This might be a project for next weekend.Make sense?
Oops....my bad. Yes, you are right that since you are shooting early, you'll be at +11.5 but I'd still test.His +11.5 will be shot time so I won't be able to make it to 2 hrs if we are trying to stay on the 8pm schedule for tonight. Actually his PMPS test will be around 7:45pm if we want to feed him before his shot so that will be at + 11 hrs 15 mins...1 hr and 15 mins after his +10 test. But that's ok.
I have been feeding Ozzy and Figgie every 3 hrs or so. They both have seemed to gain weight in the past few weeks!!This is good for Fig because he was always skinny his whole life. It is actually nice to pet him without his spine feeling prominent. But not for Ozzy- we actually want him to loose a little more weight. I am not looking to diet him till his DM is more regulated for fear of ketones, but I really don't want him to gain more weight. I was always making sure he was eating at +1.5 because of the low drops on vestulin. How often should we feed them now?
Excellent. That could be the second Lantus dip....maybe.ok PMPS at +11 hrs 15 mins =253
Eating his wuerva chicken and turkey with rad cat raw mixed in with water now.
Shoot in 10 mins.
Not a bad preshot #.
We will test him at +3 and go from there. What do you think? Headed to shower now...be back soon.That's a pretty big drop so he might definitely come down more. Will your husband be up until +4?