1/2 Ole AMPS 415 +3 416 +4 303 +7.5 404 PMPS +600

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Hello all!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111038

I hope you have had a good night.

Ole's peeing and pooping well, but unfortunately I am having a hard time this morning catching him to test his ketones. He keeps him self clean and is a big purrer. He has lost his oomph, and my concern for him is high.

I gave him 3 U this morning because I have to be on a job site for most of the day. If his numbers stay high today, should I increase to 3.5 or continue for 6 cycles at 3.

My best,
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/2 Ole AMPS 415 +3 416 +4 303

If he doesn't come down into yellow or lower today, I'd increase tonight by 0.5u. If he comes down, let's give him one more cycle at 3u since you've already done five.

What do you mean that he's lost his oomph? Is he lethargic. Not eating? Drinking a lot or staying by the water bowl?

As you know, a ketone test is really important so do the best you can at catching him.
 
Re: 1/2 Ole AMPS 415 +3 416 +4 303

i agree - everything looks to support an increase tonight unless you get surprised with something significantly lower. I'd go up .5u as well.
 
Re: 1/2 Ole AMPS 415 +3 416 +4 303

Good luck if you end up going with the increase Rebekah!

Sure hope Ole starts to feel better soon too! It's hard on us beans when we know our kitties don't feel well and there's nothing we can really do to help
 
Re: 1/2 Ole AMPS 415 +3 416 +4 303 +7.5 404

It looks as though I will increase Ole's dose to 3.5 tonight.

When I say he has lost his oomph, I mean that he is lethargic, lays around and has lost his interest in everything except food. It is really sad to see in this kitty that has a robust joie de vivre. He is well hydrated, but not feeling at all himself.

Thank you, as always. Back to work.
Rebekah
 
Take a deep breath. Cobb has seen 600 and was definitely lethargic. Grab a ketone test when you can.

I'll leaving dosing recommendations to the more experienced folks, but I would support an increase if that's the direction you're going.

As I am often reminded...I think by Chris...think of this as a marathon, not a sprint. I know that's little consolation and easier said than believed. :?
 
Sorry about that "Hi" on the meter Rebekah. I know too well the feeling when you see them. :YMHUG: Sometimes I'd use my back up meter to see if I could at least get a number. And it is very hard seeing how your kitty feels in those numbers. At the time I felt like I was dealing with a delicate china doll when Neko was up there.

What eventually helped me when I saw those numbers was realizing the reason for them. Ole is probably seeing some numbers lower than he is used to and his liver is freaking out. Seeing those lower numbers is a good thing as it means progress. Once he spends more time in those lower numbers, his liver will calm down.
 
Very good input from Carla. Just get ketone tests when you can as an ounce of prevention.

I'd also raise Ole's dose every 4 cycles until you start seeing better nadirs.
 
Sending lots of hugs and prayers to you and Ole, Rebekah. Hopefully the dose increase will help bring back your fiesty little Ole. No matter what, you are not alone - we're all with you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top