1/2 Mauer AMPS 229, +3 272, +6 331, +9 331

SashaV

Member Since 2020
I LIKE THIS!!!!!

My strips arrived this morning, so I'm ready to shoot 2.25U PMPS no matter the number.
At least right now, ask me tonight the answer will probably be something else :p:smuggrin:

At what point do I stall or don't shoot?

Mauer seems happy. When she reaches the lower blues she seems stoned, sluggish. The higher blues is right now more comfortable for her I think.

I got sleep, even though I knew she was blue! I'm really liking Lev. I feel like I know what's going to happen the next hours ahead!
 
I have a feeling you will be seeing green numbers soon! Nice gradual decrease from pinks, into yellows, into blues... And Mauer will feel even better in the greens :woot:
 
I have a feeling you will be seeing green numbers soon! Nice gradual decrease from pinks, into yellows, into blues... And Mauer will feel even better in the greens :woot:
I have that same feeling :eek:
She usually feels better in the greens on prozinc, but Lev is making her sluggish even in the blues. I'm thinking it's only in the beginning, or I'm hoping :p
 
Mauer seems happy. When she reaches the lower blues she seems stoned, sluggish. The higher blues is right now more comfortable for her I think.
FWIW, I think this is a common thing. It's like eating lots of cookies and then suddenly having them taking away. It's not the best feeling and we just have to get used to not having our cookies (i.e., extra sugar).

For shooting low, you may want to read the Shooting Low sticky - lots of tips in there.

Hope Mauer surfs safely :bighug:
 
FWIW, I think this is a common thing. It's like eating lots of cookies and then suddenly having them taking away. It's not the best feeling and we just have to get used to not having our cookies (i.e., extra sugar).

For shooting low, you may want to read the Shooting Low sticky - lots of tips in there.

Hope Mauer surfs safely :bighug:
I've read the sticky multiple times :oops:
But she wasn't sluggish on prozinc? No matter her readings.
 
So what I'm seeing now, is the reduction from last night?
That's probably at least part of it. With the depot insulins, you can see the impact of a reduction/skip in later cycles. The depot has to rebuild. I also found that longer times in blues/then eventually greens, if they aren't used to it, caused a bit of a bounce. Mauer had something like 18 hours in blue! :cool:
 
That's probably at least part of it. With the depot insulins, you can see the impact of a reduction/skip in later cycles. The depot has to rebuild. I also found that longer times in blues/then eventually greens, if they aren't used to it, caused a bit of a bounce. Mauer had something like 18 hours in blue! :cool:
I know! It was AWESOME!
I didn't feel as panicking as I usually do.
If it took that little to be blue, I'm hoping she'll be right back there soon.
You thought I started too low, you still think so?
I'm almost sure if I had shot last night without the reduction she would have gone green.
I'm also trying to feed her more during her AM cycle.

The old me would be in a rush to increase, so I'm trying a new approach :p
Any recommendations on if I should do TR or the go slow?
 
Too early to tell on the dose, as the depot has yet to build. Plus last night's reduced dose also complicates the depot.
I'm almost sure if I had shot last night without the reduction she would have gone green.
That's your Prozinc brain, Levemir might have just given you a solid, but lower blue cycle.

The old me would be in a rush to increase, so I'm trying a new approach :p
Any recommendations on if I should do TR or the go slow?
What works for me might not work for you. Our suggestion is to pick what suits your lifestyle and goals for Mauer. You know those best. ;)
 
Too early to tell on the dose, as the depot has yet to build. Plus last night's reduced dose also complicates the depot.

That's your Prozinc brain, Levemir might have just given you a solid, but lower blue cycle.


What works for me might not work for you. Our suggestion is to pick what suits your lifestyle and goals for Mauer. You know those best. ;)
Might.... I'm still hoping on greens! :D

My ultimate goal is to get her OTJ, I want to challenge my nerves and get her down in good healthy numbers, I'm home all day every day. I have someone to test the approximately once a week I have a few hours out. I want to be able to sleep through, not every night but just sometimes?
Everything else it fitted into her schedule, she rules my world... literally :oops:
Is that something I can do if I follow the TR protocol?
 
I want to be able to sleep through, not every night but just sometimes?
Everything else it fitted into her schedule, she rules my world... literally :oops:
Is that something I can do if I follow the TR protocol?
It'll really depend on your cat and how she responds to Levemir. Take a look at a few Lev spreadsheets and see what they can look like. With Neko my goal was regulation (mostly under renal threshold), not remission, cause I had no control over that with her acromegaly. But once in a while I took at entire day off testing. If she was dancing lower numbers and thinking about a reduction, I'd give her a bit lower dose for a couple cycles to drain the depot so she'd stay safe. And I'll be the first to admit I'd occasionally shave her dose so I could get more solid sleep.
 
It'll really depend on your cat and how she responds to Levemir. Take a look at a few Lev spreadsheets and see what they can look like. With Neko my goal was regulation (mostly under renal threshold), not remission, cause I had no control over that with her acromegaly. But once in a while I took at entire day off testing. If she was dancing lower numbers and thinking about a reduction, I'd give her a bit lower dose for a couple cycles to drain the depot so she'd stay safe. And I'll be the first to admit I'd occasionally shave her dose so I could get more solid sleep.
So if I give it a week or two to see how she does on Lev?
Gosh I look forward to sleep. Even when I have a terrible migraine attack I postpone my own pain meds to be able to test her, I take too little so I'm sure I'll be able to wake up during the night. Not enough or bad sleep is a trigger for the migraine :banghead:

She was high at her PMPS :banghead:
Hope tomorrow is better!
 
So if I give it a week or two to see how she does on Lev?
That's too soon. It can take cats 1-2 months before they really learn how to work with the new hormone (insulin). You may see some early improvements, but not the final result for a while. It also means being consistent on dosing. ;)
 
That's too soon. It can take cats 1-2 months before they really learn how to work with the new hormone (insulin). You may see some early improvements, but not the final result for a while. It also means being consistent on dosing. ;)
Just to be clear, you mean consistent by not reducing unless necessary, not skipping? But I can increase?
 
Sasha, remember back in 2020 when you only gave Levemir about 5 weeks, kept switching up the dose (and letting the insulin depot drain) and then switched to Caninsulin? Then it was only about 12 days on Caninsulin before you switched insulins again, this time to Prozinc?

Well, it's time to put on those patience pants, and give Levemir a much stronger chance to see what happens this time around.

I know it's hard, but Mauer has only been back on levemir for 6 cycles (3 days), and it can take 5-7 days (10-14 cycles) to build up the depot in the beginning.

Patience my friend. Patience.
 
Yes, consistent means the same dose unless a reduction is earned or an increase is warranted. The length of time for an increase depends on dosing method followed and nadirs.

The saying is that the L insulin really teach you patience. Which had never been my strong suit. :p
 
Just popping in to say welcome to LLB. We all want to see quick results. AllI can say is if you stick with the program you will most likely be happy with the results. It just won’t likely be so quick.
 
Yes, consistent means the same dose unless a reduction is earned or an increase is warranted. The length of time for an increase depends on dosing method followed and nadirs.

The saying is that the L insulin really teach you patience. Which had never been my strong suit. :p
Then we're back at witch dosing method I should choose :D
 
Sasha, remember back in 2020 when you only gave Levemir about 5 weeks, kept switching up the dose (and letting the insulin depot drain) and then switched to Caninsulin? Then it was only about 12 days on Caninsulin before you switched insulins again, this time to Prozinc?

Well, it's time to put on those patience pants, and give Levemir a much stronger chance to see what happens this time around.

I know it's hard, but Mauer has only been back on levemir for 6 cycles (3 days), and it can take 5-7 days (10-14 cycles) to build up the depot in the beginning.

Patience my friend. Patience.

I know, Deb :bighug:
That's why this time, I want to do it the right way, respecting the depot witch I didn't before. Correcting my mistakes from last time. That's why I needed to make sure I understood what Wendy said :bighug:

I want to do this right, and I'm loaded with teststips and totally ready with my patience pants. And trying to put my nerves back in the box they came from! :D:p
 
Just popping in to say welcome to LLB. We all want to see quick results. AllI can say is if you stick with the program you will most likely be happy with the results. It just won’t likely be so quick.

Thanks Elise :bighug:

I don't care about the time it's going to take, as long I end up with a happy and healthy Mauer :bighug:
 
Back
Top