1/2 Loudogg AMPS 309 PMPS 277 - Clean bill of health from vet :/

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
January 1, 2019 Condo

Good morning all!
In a sad start to the day, I called the new vet clinic I had my eye on after the drama with my old clinic, and they have no available openings until next Tuesday. It's amazing how impossible it is to get into any vet around here. They're all booked for at least a week. So do I just increase his stress and drop him off at the old vet and hope they'll do a cysto? Or should I have gone to the ER? I can call another one that's close, but they don't open until 0730. The ugh factor with that one is they were able to get me in when civvie Bella had gastroenteritis, but they were stupidly expensive for what they did (just a visit, blood draw, and a chem panel = $300+). I may as well go to the ER for those prices. I still made an appointment with the new vet just in case, but a week is a long time to wait when there's urinary issues. They'll call if there are any cancellations or reschedules. I'll still call around as new places open, but I would rather not go just anywhere. Obviously I will if I have to.

It's the new status quo with my buddy Lou, another pink AMPS and no real activity overnight. Caleb actually went to bed early for a change, so that's nice. His ketones were at 0.5 this morning, which means he's staying consistent (they usually range from 0.3-0.6 for his routine checks). Hopefully I'll be able to get him in somewhere today.

I hope you all have a wonderful day and your kitties surf safely! Sending vines to all those kitties and beans in need. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Well hooray! I cancelled the drop off with the old vet and called the one I had taken my Bella to. They're able to get me in this afternoon! Whew! Not looking forward to that vet bill, but I feel better already knowing he's going to be seen (in a proper appointment setting, not just a "we'll see you when we have a minute" setting). She advised me on how to collect a sample, but I asked if they performed cystos, which she said they do. I understand he may need to stay a bit, so I'll feed him before we leave in hopes he'll need to pee by the time he's there and settled. I'll let you all know how it goes! :bighug:
 
Until you have to leave, put a clean empty box, can use shredded paper, lentil beans (rinsed), clean gravel and confine to room. Maybe he will go before you have to leave. You put urine in clean old Rx bottle or baggie and bring it in.

I do not prefer cystos unless last resort.

Why would you have to leave him there? The two done (1 each on 2 cats) were always done during visit.
 
I do not prefer cystos unless last resort.

Why would you have to leave him there? The two done (1 each on 2 cats) were always done during visit.
Why is that? I thought they were the gold standard for "clean catch" specimens for UAs/cultures? Lou has a tendency to pee himself when he's nervous, mostly when going to the vet. I have to plan ahead and put pee pads in his carrier, so he may need to stay if he pees on the way in. I think feeding him with extra water before we go should cut down on any wait.
 
Why is that? I thought they were the gold standard for "clean catch" specimens for UAs/cultures? Lou has a tendency to pee himself when he's nervous, mostly when going to the vet. I have to plan ahead and put pee pads in his carrier, so he may need to stay if he pees on the way in. I think feeding him with extra water before we go should cut down on any wait.

Custom is good. Just my quirky ideas as to why I don't like it.
 
Well, we're back from the vet and Lou received a clean bill of health! Not even a trace of a UTI and his mouth looks great after his major dental. So either that wasn't the issue or the D-mannose helped clear it up. So now we're just left with high numbers and an otherwise healthy Loudogg. She advised to look into some stress relief such as Feliway to help with any further out of the LB issues. We haven't had any issues with that today. So I guess I just need to keep increasing until we break through. Looks like he's due for another increase tomorrow night. I'll be honest, I'm truly considering increasing to 3.5u instead of 3.25u. I can't seem to get ahead of these yellows and pinks. Sigh. I'm relieved and happy he's healthy, but I guess we're right back where we started. Should I keep giving the D-mannose or should I lower to a preventative dose at this point?
 
I am in shock over the vet practices that do not have openings for a week! Sometimes you are better in a practice with multiple vets for that reason. I think my practice has at least 8 vets maybe more.And they always get me in the same day. But, that said, I always play the "my cat is diabetic card" and if there is an infection present....not good. Hopefully, a good receptionist will prioritize Lou.

So very glad that you vet visit proved to be a "no issue" visit. My money is on the D-mannose that helped.

Also, besides the Feliway, get some Rescue Remedy from a health food store if you don't all ready have some. Put 1 tablet in some in his water and syringe it into him every day for a few weeks. I am doing that with Bubba right now and it is helping.

Okay Lou, bring the numbers down.
 
That's great news that Lou got a clean bill of health. I'd continue the D-Mannose a s apreventative just in case he did have a UTI and it cleared things up. It's not a good idea to jump the dose up by 0.5 units when Lou is on such a low dose. Safety comes first and you don't want to go up too fast and cause his numbers to go really low.
 
I missed the jump by .50 unit. I am with Carla on that. I would only increase by .25 for safety and so that you don't jump over a good dose. Also, if the D-mannose is helping with a stress induced UTI, those numbers could start crashing down. Better be safe than sorry.
 
I am in shock over the vet practices that do not have openings for a week! Sometimes you are better in a practice with multiple vets for that reason. I think my practice has at least 8 vets maybe more.And they always get me in the same day. But, that said, I always play the "my cat is diabetic card" and if there is an infection present....not good. Hopefully, a good receptionist will prioritize Lou.

So very glad that you vet visit proved to be a "no issue" visit. My money is on the D-mannose that helped.

Also, besides the Feliway, get some Rescue Remedy from a health food store if you don't all ready have some. Put 1 tablet in some in his water and syringe it into him every day for a few weeks. I am doing that with Bubba right now and it is helping.

Okay Lou, bring the numbers down.
I am always in shock too, even though I should be used to it. I always try to use the my cat is a diabetic card, and I feel like the only place that worked on was when we took him to the ER for his original UTI. Go figure, right? It seems no one I talk to actually gets the seriousness of him being a diabetic, which is just extra annoying because it can be more serious than they realize and they should know that. I wouldn't doubt that it did help! His urine was so damn pristine, not even issues with crystals like the first time, which I've worried about (in a low-level kind of way) for over a year now. Thank you for the suggestion, I'll look into that for Lou!

That's great news that Lou got a clean bill of health. I'd continue the D-Mannose a s apreventative just in case he did have a UTI and it cleared things up. It's not a good idea to jump the dose up by 0.5 units when Lou is on such a low dose. Safety comes first and you don't want to go up too fast and cause his numbers to go really low.
I truly know you're right. These extra slow increases showing absolutely nothing with the BGs is really draining. I'll obviously keep up the snail's pace and hope his numbers will start coming down.... but I won't stop thinking about going balls to the wall, bahahaha! :p

ShoddyAccurateBorderterrier-small.gif
 
I am always in shock too, even though I should be used to it. I always try to use the my cat is a diabetic card, and I feel like the only place that worked on was when we took him to the ER for his original UTI. Go figure, right? It seems no one I talk to actually gets the seriousness of him being a diabetic, which is just extra annoying because it can be more serious than they realize and they should know that. I wouldn't doubt that it did help! His urine was so damn pristine, not even issues with crystals like the first time, which I've worried about (in a low-level kind of way) for over a year now. Thank you for the suggestion, I'll look into that for Lou!


I truly know you're right. These extra slow increases showing absolutely nothing with the BGs is really draining. I'll obviously keep up the snail's pace and hope his numbers will start coming down.... but I won't stop thinking about going balls to the wall, bahahaha! :p

ShoddyAccurateBorderterrier-small.gif
I love Who's Line is it?
 
5th cycle of this, paws crossed for action soon.

How did the vet determine he has no UTI? Was it a cysto or free catch? FWIW, my vet she had seen a couple cases of urinalysis that was clean, but culture found something. So I kept having the privilege of paying over $100 for a culture that wa always negative. :rolleyes:

Feliway worked well for me, and for pissy cats at the animal shelter. You can get Rescue Remedy for pets as drops, which I either stuck on a treat or in food.

Yet another question, how often is Lou throwing up? Is it food, liquid?
 
5th cycle of this, paws crossed for action soon.

How did the vet determine he has no UTI? Was it a cysto or free catch? FWIW, my vet she had seen a couple cases of urinalysis that was clean, but culture found something. So I kept having the privilege of paying over $100 for a culture that wa always negative. :rolleyes:

Feliway worked well for me, and for pissy cats at the animal shelter. You can get Rescue Remedy for pets as drops, which I either stuck on a treat or in food.

Yet another question, how often is Lou throwing up? Is it food, liquid?
Gosh I hope so. They did a cysto, and other than trace protein and glocose, there was absolutely nothing remarkable about his results. I did enter the labs into the SS. She said sometimes the positive glucose could cause a false positive on the protein.

He hasn't been throwing up often, in fact, today was the first in a while. Still in the morning just after AMPS meal. That's an issue he's had for a while now, but it's been much better with dividing his morning meals and raising the food dish. When he throws up, it's a perfect mixture of both food and liquid, basically food-colored liquid.
 
Last edited:
Oh and I went ahead and bought a Feliway diffuser from them to get him started on that. I had used one years ago for Bella after my soul kitty Mateo died and when I rescued Lou. It didn't seem to effect him then and he was a wild child. Just as the vet said though, things have changed and it's worth trying again. I installed it after we came home.
 
Back
Top