1/2 Jax- Vet visit didn't go well.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Member Since 2011
Good Morning!

Last night we had a good run on 1.3U

PMPS 319
+3/ 123
+5/ 78
+6/ 90
Confident it was going to hold or go up, I went to sleep.
AMPS 371 Gave more food that usual. Having decided to raise food quantity at each feeding. Didn't raise dose but held steady to see the #'s. That particular test will come tonight.
+3/ 231

Will see what vet says and try to get those U100's. Wish me lucky. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

If the vet refuses, I think Lori (from newbie kits) may have some. I hope he will be amazed at how well you and Jax are doing!
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

Can't make this stuff up...had Jax all bundled up in carrier and ready to go. Walk a few blocks to car and battery won't start. Mind you I live in NYC and am parked on a city street. Had to call AAA to get a jump...blah...blah...blah. Dropped Jax off and head to mechanic. Rescheduled vet for 5PM today.

AMPS 371
+4/ 231

I make it back home to test Jax.

+9/ 450 WTH?? grr_red
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

Well, shoot. Not how you wanted your day to go.

Did you retest? Any time you get a number that is out of whack, test again. Guess he could have really been stressed about the vet visit and the carrier.

Regardless, remember, it's just one number....
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

I did a quick sweep for contraband. I see nothing that he could have gotten into at all.
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

I feel that this will turn into an "I told you so..." when I see vet. Tsk, tsk, tsk.

Figures.
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

Could it be possible he is picking up on your stressful day, as well as the carrier trip, etc.? I know Poopy knows when I'm stressed, and he usually tries to take it out on the dogs - going all battle mode and stuff. I guess he thinks it's their fault - even if it's his, you know. :roll: If that's possible, couldn't it effect Jax's numbers?

Keeping fingers and paws crossed. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

It's just one cycle, Lisa. You have one tonight and part of one tomorrow before you see the vet. Let's see if we can get him back on track. If he is rising into the 500s, you could shoot early, if you are comfortable doing that and will be around to monitor.

Oh, and test yourself just to make sure the meter is okay.
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

Sue, I would have thought so as well except I got that +4 which is a significant drop. Only change was in volume of food. But fed at AMPS. Should have been worked out by +4.
I can't believe he got so stressed out...is that possible...?? He was laying down and almost nodded off on my dh's lap while I was making calls in the car. Perhaps partial fur shot? IDK...I didn't get any reads inbetween as I was out to get battery charged.

Just breathe... that's all I can do. Think it bad to shoot an hr earlier?
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

Vet visit is in 1.5 hrs today. Not sure if I should shoot or hold...? Tested meter on self, numbers accurate.

Vet will think I am a lunatic... :roll: Perhaps Jax is paying me back from all the ear pokes. :-|
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

I think an hour early is fine. I would stick with 1.3. You got nice mid cycle numbers with it last night. I am betting a partial fur shot - he had enough to affect the early part of the cycle and then it pooped out.

That will mean you might want to shoot an hour early in the am so it won't be 13 hours. Will that mess up your schedule?

Even vets have fur shots.......
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

So sorry your day went so yukky :( Anything bad car related in NYC is magnifyed by 10 I think. (I get in there for work occasionally)

My bet is the high number is stress. My guys just have to see the carriers and they flip out. Plus I think they know about and absorb some of your stress.

Try to take it as easy as you can. We’ll all be sending some calming vibes your way, and hoping for a good vet appt coming up!

(((((hugs)))))
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I think an hour early is fine. I would stick with 1.3. You got nice mid cycle numbers with it last night. I am betting a partial fur shot - he had enough to affect the early part of the cycle and then it pooped out.

That will mean you might want to shoot an hour early in the am so it won't be 13 hours. Will that mess up your schedule?

Even vets have fur shots.......

Yes, it appeared the 1.3U was working well. I think I can pull out the hr earlier in the AM. The evening cycle, not so sure I can pull that one off. Just coming off from vacation may make it hard to slip out early. He may go +13.5 for the late cycle.
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

Hmmmmm. Coming down on his own. Then maybe stress or contraband. I will change my advice and say wait till +12

It may be an indication of how high he can be at the vet tomorrow. Keep relying on your numbers.
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

Teresa and Poopy said:
Could it be possible he is picking up on your stressful day, as well as the carrier trip, etc.?

Have no idea. He wasn't crying in the carrier as I let him out inside the car. If anything he took up residence on one lap to another and looked out the window with a great deal of curiousity. Then as we talked about what to do in the car quietly, he laid down and started to nap. It's so strange...
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

By any slim chance, do you go to NYC Vet Specialists (called Blue Pearl now) on west 55th? I know they have Brooklyn, Queens and White Plains locations too. We did some photography work for them awhile back, we photo’ed some of the vets with their pets.

http://newyork.bluepearlvet.com/2010/03 ... berthaler/

No biggie, it would just be interesting if that’s where you went. There are probably zillions of vets in the city.
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

I hear you. If I could predict Poopy's next move, I could make a fortune! LOL

Keeping fingers and paws crossed for Jax. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

donnahc said:
By any slim chance, do you go to NYC Vet Specialists (called Blue Pearl now) on west 55th?

No, but looking for a new vet. Not sure how competent my vet is around FD as he couldn't really say why Jax was walking the way he was...said perhaps it was a developing abnormality or genetic (?!?) when obviously it is neuropathy from the FD which I found out about HERE.

Reason why I am paying him a visit today...
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

Sorry, thought your next visit was tomorrow.

If today, just tell him you had an abnormally high number (reflected in the great numbers on your ss) and you are thinking partial fur shot or contraband or stress, but you see it as an anomaly and you aren't worried about it.

And could you have some U100 needles, please. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

407 BG.

Going down. Either he got into something OR he was unusually stressed when we left. I have NO IDEA.

Either way...will report what the doc says upon return. Heading out shortly and did not give shot since he's coming down on his own.
 
Re: 1/2 Jax- Off to the vet we go!

POssible fur shot, but I know shakes goes up 200 points when he goes to the vet!
Stress can do crazy things! Even just going into the carrier can be stressful for them
hang in there and good luck!
 
Well, this visit was more difficult than I thought it would be. After waiting for 2 hrs to be seen his assistant comes out to 'take the cat to read his BG and give insulin'. To which I replied that I needed to see the Dr before ANY insulin is given to my cat because I KNEW that they would slam him with 3U without batting an eyelash.

I see the vet, show him my SS, to which he sat there dumbfounded. Then after he gathered his wits he proceeds to tell me that:

1. I had ZERO right to change his dose without informing them.
2. NO ONE doses at increments outside of 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, etc. and that it sounds CRAZY.
3. That I have UNDONE all their work (when Jax was there for 3 days, mind you) because his BG was 575. Yes, I think +14 without any insulin, no wet food since morning, and the stress of the vet may take it there.
4. Where did I learn to test his BG, and who showed me, because of course I am too stupid to have actually learned how to do it myself.
5. I am NOT the vet.
6. I will make a critical error with the U100...he will take no responsibility to what may happen but he cannot give me the script at the moment. He wants me to come back tomorrow ...I assume for him to mull it over.
7. Don't pick and choose different foods for him but to stick to one and that's all. I guess he saw on my SS that I gave Merrick BG once instead of the 'junk that is FF.'

Also, said he thought it 'great' that I was doing, 'all this work' even though I need to just hold at a single unit and that is that. His face showed that 'all the work I was doing' was anything but great.

Guys...this was the hardest thing that I had to endure in a long time. I put Jax through this entire day for NOTHING.
 
My heart goes out to you and Jax. To be truthful, I fear, very much, an echo of your visit when Poopy and I return to the vet.

Based on all the experience here, freely shared with us, from people and kitties who live and deal with this each and every day (unlike the vet)....I'm going to follow their advice and hard won knowledge. I believe I am doing what is best for my fuzzy love.

I think you are too. Sometimes you can't converse with closed-mindedness...and some vets ARE closed minded. Maybe his "mulling over" will result in some education for your vet. Here's hoping for it anyway! :smile:

Edited to correct ignorance/ignorant to closed-mindedness/closed minded.
 
Also, we figured out why Jax was so high mid day. My DH, in trying to get my Civvie Dooley in the carrier, enticed him with several Temptation treats..he put those treats in the rear of the carrier and forgot about it as Dooley refused to get in. Jax found those treats under the cloth and that pretty much explains why his BG was so high at +9. My DH found the crumbs in the carrier and remembered what he did when putting Jax back in the carrier this evening.

So the Case of the Cat Carrier Caper is officially solved.
 
Teresa and Poopy said:
My heart goes out to you and Jax. To be truthful, I fear, very much, an echo of your visit when Poopy and I return to the vet.

Teresa, brace yourself. I hope and pray it will not be that way for you but today was a nightmare. It was with the greatest reluctance that he looked at the SS.

Then he tells me to shoot 3U once a day which is foolish. He saw the look on my face and then said to give 1.5 every 12 hrs. Which is where I was heading anyway.
 
Sorry your vet is a pain. Remember.he's your cat and you're the one holding the syringe. Keep up the good work, and I'm glad you solved the mystery.

If he won't give you a prescription for u100s maybe we can help you get some.
 
I'll BET it was uncomfortable!

Warning - Opinion coming! Sitting out here on the outside, know what I see? I see a control freak that happens to be a vet realizing that someone dared go against his orders and also dared contradict him. It doesn't matter what profession a control freak like that is in, they do this same thing. THEN he couldn't really find things to point out that were truly wrong which made it worse. Of course his look was 'owley', he was awfully irritated..... ;-)

Know what will probably happen when he's alone? He'll think about it, get irritated again, go look again and absorb more, then forget he's mad and actually study it. He may never let YOU know but you did JUST RIGHT!!! HIGH FIVES!!!

.....pssst....I learned this from living and working with control freaks for too many years..... :o :? :-D

HUGS!
 
ok well it is wonderful that you know how his BG got so high,
now...on to the vet...
I am so sorry you had to endure that...but please remember that JAx is YOUR baby
and you should make the decisions, not the vet who sees him once in a while
You know everything about Jax .....I think it is time to find a new vet!
 
I am so sorry, Lisa. This must have been a horrible day all round. I hope you have had your treat of the evening ( perhaps a liquid treat) and things have calmed down for Jax. Glad you solved the "caper". I bet he thought he was in heaven when he discovered all those forbidden treats. (note to self. Get rid of temptations and get only LO carb treats)

So, what next? We have a number of people in NYC. I know it is a big place but maybe you can get some vet recommendations. You could post on Health and ask. I'll pm Lori (newbie kits). She had some U100 needles. If not, maybe we can find someone in a state where no prescription is required who will send you some. (I don't know about Colorado. I'll check in the am.)

IMHO, now, you don't need a "vet" if he won't give you the needles. How about calling first in the am and see if you can pick up the needles. If not, vet hunt? The truth is you know more than he does about this disease. And some of his advice is, frankly, dangerous. I think his ego has really gotten in the way.

Take some deep breaths, give Jax a hug even though he was a bad boy and know that you are doing things to help him. If you had followed all this vet's advice, Jax could be dead. And the vet might tell you he was sorry.....and then he would move on to the next patient.
 
Thanks Sue. I would, of course, be willing to send payment out 1st in order to get the U100's. I would not have an issue with paying for the syringes, shipping, etc. in advance.

I will post in Health for NYC vet recommendations, but not tonight...I'm spent.

Edit to add: The Temptations are in our 'Hypo' kit along with honey, and gravy wet foods. DH pulled it out for Dooley (who is MISERABLE mind you as he hates all low carb treats....and I have purchased SEVERAL kinds) but I will take it as a lesson learned!
 
Awwww Lisa, I really wanna help. Sue did pm me and I just read your whole thread. I'm a Native New Yorker so I do know how hard it is to get around by car...and with a kitty!!!!
I will send you as many syringes as I can get into a box...easily a 100 or more.
If you could pay shipping that would be nice but if not I will do it anyway.
Please send my your address. And if you want to send the shipping money it goes to the Newbie Kits link down below.
Press on the web store.
If there is a place for comments, which I think there is, please let me know that your order for a NK is actually just a request for syringes.
Or...pm me that you've done it so I will know it is you.
Lori
Newbie Kits
New mama of Sweet Pea
An orinch boy.
 
1. I had ZERO right to change his dose without informing them.
2. NO ONE doses at increments outside of 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, etc. and that it sounds CRAZY.
3. That I have UNDONE all their work (when Jax was there for 3 days, mind you) because his BG was 575. Yes, I think +14 without any insulin, no wet food since morning, and the stress of the vet may take it there.
4. Where did I learn to test his BG, and who showed me, because of course I am too stupid to have actually learned how to do it myself.
5. I am NOT the vet.
6. I will make a critical error with the U100...he will take no responsibility to what may happen but he cannot give me the script at the moment. He wants me to come back tomorrow ...I assume for him to mull it over.
7. Don't pick and choose different foods for him but to stick to one and that's all. I guess he saw on my SS that I gave Merrick BG once instead of the 'junk that is FF.'

1 - you had every right to change the dose. And had you informed him, he would have told you not to do it, so what's his point? He does grasp the fact that you are the paying customer and he's the one providing the service, right? Like you deserve to feel like you are getting your money's worth? Ask him who is going to pay the lease on his building if he routinely pisses off his customer base.
2 - Dr. Lisa posted a couple weeks ago saying that within her community of vets, she got a really hard time anytime she talked about making .5u adjustments, and that there was no way at all to convince them that .25 can also work for some cats. If she has a hard time convincing another vet, we pretty much have zero chance.
3 - I guess he missed all the good numbers? Did he understand the no insulin for 14 hours thing? Guessing not, since he prescribed shooting only once a day. Did he grasp any of your SS?
4- I guess he doesn't realize that millions of diabetic humans test their BG daily? How hard is it? All you really had to learn was where to poke the cat since fingertips are not an option. Doesn't his clinic do ear pokes for one time readings? If not, share the youtube links, maybe they'll learn something new.
5 - Thank goodness for that!
6- I would have asked "OK, will you take responsibility for all the ER care when kitty goes hypo from a 3u once a day dosing schedule?" You aren't actually going back tomorrow, are you? I wouldn't waste the time unless he plans on giving you the visit and "advice" for free. If you can either read a chart, or multiply by 2.5, I'm pretty sure you can handle the u100 conversion exercise. It isn't exactly rocket science. He's just holding out on the scrip to keep you in line. Tell him you want a prescription for u100 PZI too. That'll really blow his mind.
7- Let him know that thousands of cats worldwide have done really well on a low carb canned food diet consisting of multiple brands and flavors. You can tell him Bob went OTJ eating nothing but FF crap for 10 weeks. Print out binky's lists and leave him a copy. I did with my vet. Now she shares it with others. Prescription food from the vet is garbage. If he doesn't think so, point him to Dr. Lisa's site.
The best way to take away his "power" is to take away your money. Put it in the pocket of a vet that will work with you, and treats you with some respect. One that realizes that you and people like you are the ones that keep him in business. They need us more that we need them. A "DVM" doesn't help much after your name without patients.

You actually have a golden opportunity to at least try to educate your vet. If nothing else, it might benefit the next diabetic cat he diagnoses. If he can get past his ego, or course. I'd definitely be shopping for a new clinic for all of your animals.

Carl
 
Carl,

I want to thank you for all you wrote. I know this isn't my thread, but I've been watching closely as I see my next vet visit going much the same as Lisa and Jax's. The vet has already told me I shouldn't be searching info on the web, to not believe everything I read, and told me to double Poopy's dose...pretty much all in one breath! Thank goodness for you folks here, supporting newbies like us and sharing your hard won knowledge!

I know Poopy and Jax are in much better hands with all of your knowledge being so freely shared.

Thank you.
 
I will apologize in advance if my reply seems muddled as I am very tired but I did not want to retire for the night without thanking EVERYONE that voiced their opinions and gave their support. This board, the people here...I know in my heart that I have found a special place filled with the most amazing people.

Carl, I appreciate how you broke down my post into the points you did. The shocking lack of knowledge that some vets have around FD would be laughable if it weren't so very tragic.

Recalling now how the vet asked me why I didn't follow giving 3U b.i.d as instructed. I showed him on the SS how on 3U he was at +12/ 74 BG. Then I asked, "Are you telling me I should have shot 3U on a 74 BG read?" To which he did respond, "No...not saying that... shooting anything under 100 is too low." Well, I say, that for a newbie, totally new to this whole thing, shooting 3U on a 100 BG could be a death sentence.

That is all.

Thank you all that followed this thread. Hugs all the way around. Lori, I sent you a PM.
Good night.
 
I am so sorry your vet visit didn't go well :( I have been there so I know how you feel. Almost a year ago we were in the same predicament and we ended up switching vets. My old vet had me in tears 3 times in a month and it just wasn't worth the stress on me or Asher. We now drive 45 mins to a wonderful vet who is kind and takes into consideration what we think (amazing). And he likes to look at our spreadsheet online! And tells us what a good job we are doing.

Think about switching. There are vets out there that aren't egomaniacs. You are a consumer and you need to be satisfied and happy.

Please know that you ARE doing the right thing and taking the best care of Jax.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top