1/2 Cobb AMPS 340 +3 377 +5 341 +9.5 366 PMPS 338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Not an awful start for Cobb. We had a little surf in the yellows last night.

Recap:
PMPS - 322
+5. - 277
+7.5 - 267
AMPS - 340

Given no provable dips into the blues, I went ahead and upped to 9units

The report from the LB is good. Per DH, the amount of pee has drastically decreased. I noted yesterday that Cobb has returned to napping on beds instead of underneath them. Also, i think he's preening a few times a day now. I saw him twice yesterday. And his numbers are lower! I'm hoping he's getting used to those yellows and will be visiting the blues and, dare I say, the greens this week? (Let's be honest, if he dips under 100, I'll have to do that test several times because I won't believe it. :roll: )

Anyway, I hope you have a great Fursday!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340

Good luck with the new dose, and I hope that it helps to bring his #s down. Yay on the less peeing!!!! Seeing him preening is always a good sign that he's starting to feel better. If you haven't already done so, you may want to add a few teaspoons of water to his meals to ensure that he's getting enough at least. Hopefully he's drinking on his own, too. Sending tons of positive thoughts your way.
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340

good choice with the dose increase. Come on down, Cobb! Actually his numbers overall have been much better since you passed the 7u mark, so you're doing the right things, just have to keep doing them until he responds a bit more.
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340

Angela & Blackie & 4 Others said:
Good luck with the new dose, and I hope that it helps to bring his #s down. Yay on the less peeing!!!! Seeing him preening is always a good sign that he's starting to feel better. If you haven't already done so, you may want to add a few teaspoons of water to his meals to ensure that he's getting enough at least. Hopefully he's drinking on his own, too. Sending tons of positive thoughts your way.
Oh yes, his food is watered down well. It's encouraging to see such a decrease in litter consumption and increase in preening!
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340

Libby and Lucy said:
good choice with the dose increase. Come on down, Cobb! Actually his numbers overall have been much better since you passed the 7u mark, so you're doing the right things, just have to keep doing them until he responds a bit more.
Thanks Libby. Looks like we posted at the same time. I think the 7units was right around the time we started noticing his fur felt so much softer.

He does, and always has, had "dandruff" around back hips. It was always chalked up to a skin condition/irritation that landed him on steroids as a younger cat or that he was too fat to clean properly back there (not a real problem in my opinion now). Has anyone had that with their cat? Any way to get rid of it?
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340 +3 377

i've heard other people mention that their cats had dandruff like flakes before they got regulated. perhaps it will resolve as his numbers come down.

good call to increase the dose, suzanne.
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340 +3 377 +5 341

donaleen and Ozy said:
Hi, Suzanne. I'm rooting for you and Cobb.
Thanks! We'll get there eventually! As I've been reminded, I've only been following TR for right around a month. It might take some time!
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340 +3 377 +5 341

Considering where he's been and that you've only been doing the protocol for about a month, I think it's GREAT that you're seeing lower numbers overall, and starting to see those other little signs, like less peeing, more preening and just generally seeming like he's feeling better now.

Hopefully you'll see even better numbers soon, and let's hope we've seen the last of those icky black numbers!

Looking great Suzanne!
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340 +3 377 +5 341

Back to yellow, Cobb! That's great that he's resuming old behaviors and feeling better. :-D :-D I think that 10 in your first post was a typo and you meant 100. :smile:
Liz
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340 +3 377 +5 341

Anne & Zener said:
Back to yellow, Cobb! That's great that he's resuming old behaviors and feeling better. :-D :-D I think that 10 in your first post was a typo and you meant 100. :smile:
Liz
Oh goodness, yes!!! 100, not 10!!
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340 +3 377 +5 341 food question

I've noticed a few people have made the switch from Friskies pates to Fancy Feast and noticed a drop in numbers. I'm curious about this. I have Cobb on Friskies Special Diet...ranging from 4-7% carbs, per Dr. Lisa's list.

Do you think another food change would help further? Is FF even lower in carbs? I'm off to the grocery store in the morning so I could easily pick up a few cans of the FF to try it out.

He is eating the Friskies, which is a big feat for my former dry food addict, so I'm not sure I should rock the boat, but I'd like to do everything possible as well to help him with his numbers.

Thoughts??
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340 +3 377 +5 341 food question

that was just one new person who mentioned that - and honestly, i'm skeptical that it would've made a difference. carbs are carbs. A mouse is a cat's prime diet, or a bird, and they contain a few grams of carbs from the grains in their stomachs. Anything less than 10% is considered low carb - most people stick around 4-7ish carbs.

i don't think this is a case of no carbs being better than some, in fact, some cats have done better with a slightly higher carb food. we don't suggest people get rid of carbs, just keep it under 10 and relatively consistent so that you don't have too many changing factors when you're trying to also adjust the dose.

anyway, it sounds like what you're doing is just fine. if he likes it, i wouldn't worry about it. good question though!
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340 +3 377 +5 341 food question

The Fancy Feast Classics (pate style) are generally 4 - 5% carb. I feed Wellness which is about the same amount of carbs. It's hard to know if it will make a difference. Some cats do better on lower carb food and some on slightly higher. One big difference is cost. Friskies comes in bigger cans and I believe costs less vs. FF which comes in the small cans. You're paying for the packaging.
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340 +3 377 +5 341 +9.5 366 food question

Gotcha. I guess I read it here and on Facebook and translated it into a "Few" people. I'll stick with what's working at dinnertime.
 
Re: 1/2 Cobb AMPS 340 +3 377 +5 341 +9.5 366 food question

I too would not switch and believe in general kitties need some carbs. I stick with the 'as long as it's under 10%' guideline.

The most important thing is to be able to count on him eating.

cobbsmom said:
He is eating the Friskies, which is a big feat for my former dry food addict,
It is indeed a big feat and lays the foundation supporting all the rest of his treatment.

I have not done the math however like Sienne pointed out, the Friskies is likely more economical than FF. Save yourself the added expense.
The day may come when all of a sudden Cobb is finished with Friskies and you will have no choice but to change to something less economical.

BK did that to me - I had been feeding him wellness, which he ate with gusto for 9 months or so - while he was putting some needed weight back on.
We were buying the tall (15 or 16oz) cans by the case and for a while he went through and entire can every 24hrs!
Then, one day, he was done with wellness. I tried FF and he liked it. Tried the wellness occasionally to see if I could switch him back - no dice.

Cats - go figure :cool:
 
Cats. :roll: So finicky! As if they think they are the ones in charge! :lol:

Well, we surfed in the pinks today. Pretty inactive cycle...not budging all day!! I'll take that over the red and blacks though.
 
cobbsmom said:
Well, we surfed in the pinks today. Pretty inactive cycle...not budging all day!! I'll take that over the red and blacks though.

Good call on the increase.

Progress! I see 17 cycles have passed with no sign of black - a first for Cobb!.

You are on the right path- first lose the black, once you manage that, then work on losing the red, then the pink. See where this dose leads - you never know

:cool:
 
Get him tested please?

Are we doing subliminal messages here? :lol:

Have you had any luck with finding a vet to pull the blood and send it to MSU Suzanne? I know we keep harping on that, but it's only because we care and want the best for Cobb. And with a new baby, you've got your hands full as it is, and you're really doing such a great job with testing Cobb that we couldn't really ask for a better bean!
 
I have not found one yet. I'm waiting to hear back from one I talked to on Monday. I'm also going to call Perry & Sooty's vet as well. She's about 30 minutes away from me.

I know you are all concerned about Cobb, but I've been dealing with a sick baby this week and am trying to juggle it all the best I can right now.

I will get him tested as soon as I can but it may not be as immediate as everyone, including me would like!
 
Sandy wrote:
You are on the right path- first lose the black, once you manage that, then work on losing the red, then the pink. See where this dose leads - you never know
She is right. Black was so last year for Cobb! I remember celebrating when I realized we were done with that colour - until the bread starter incident about a year ago. :lol: :lol:

Work that juice Cobb - let's see what this dose can do.

Sending healing vines for little Matty - you've got enough to handle without that too.
 
We really do understand Suzanne..You have your hands more than full with a new baby, much less a sick one!

You're doing great just doing the testing you've done. We couldn't ask for anything more, and we know you're interested as much as we are in getting the testing since it would probably help Cobb (your other baby)

I was just teasing Sandy...I didn't mean to imply that you weren't already doing everything you could for Cobb....and like we've all said, at least he's not been in any more of those icky black numbers for awhile and that's progress!!
 
Regardless of when you get Cobb tested, we'll work with the numbers. The testing gives you the peace of mind about being aggressive and to some degree, lets you know what to expect.
 
Wendy&Neko said:
Sending healing vines for little Matty - you've got enough to handle without that too.

Thanks Wendy! He's got a cough that ends with him gasping. I think it's because of the phlegm stuck in his throat. We've been to the doctor and they said it isn't whooping cough or RSV. The dr thinks it's reflux on top of the cold. So every 12 hours, in addition to testing and shooting Cobb, I have to give Matty Zantac, which is a huge fight. He does not like the taste - granted it smells awful, so I can't blame him! And because he has the cough and gasping, we're afraid to put him in his own room so he's sleeping with me, basically I hold him in a sitting position all night so he can breathe or sit up with him in the rocking chair until I get Cobb's before bed test. I am beyond exhausted.

Cobb is holding his own right now. I'm trying to do right by everyone involved

I'm not trying to be stubborn on the testing. I've just got a lot going on, in addition to looking for a new job.
 
My Apologies Suzanne , it was not my intention to add pressure :YMPEACE:

Like Sienne said, the testing gives you peace of mind about being aggressive. I'm all for that peace of mind.

you are doing a fabulous job caring for a diabetic cat in addition to your young child. . .and a job hunt to boot.

I take my hat off to you.
:cool:
 
all of my kids were grown and both of my parents gone before punkin became diabetic. plus i'd left my demanding job and was unemployed for the almost the first 2 years that he was diabetic.

there were SO many times that i was grateful that i wasn't having to take care of any other major responsibility while i took care of him.

i've been in awe of you managing all you do since you arrived here. having a baby is unbelievably exhausting. hang in there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top