1/2 Cleo AMPS=413 PMPS=580 +3=566 +11=480 *Cortisone and dose increase*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Cleo's values today and from a couple of days are too high! She has started to make more pee and I'm very scared that she worse quickly. This is certainly due to Surolan that I'm giving her for ear infection.
For these reasons, this evening I've increased dose of .25u. I hope this works. 580 is a very big number!!!
 
I hope the dose increase works, Steroids can indeed make it necessary to increase the insulin dose. Cleo was bouncing from that low of 46 but the 6 cycles are nearly passed. I would keep a close watch tonight though, the bounce could still be clearing and she would have extra insulin on top of that.
 
Thank you Ann, I didn't think a bounce could last so long. I will check her tonight and hope the values lower a bit.
 
+3 was 566, so I decided to stop Surolan. I will wait to see if ear infection has passed, otherwise I will ask my vet for another medicine. I'm too scared from this numbers.
 
I agree with Ann - I don't know if the Surolan is influencing her BGs or not. It might be. But it's pretty clear that Cleo is having a mighty bounce from hitting the 46 three nights ago. See how she went to blue numbers right after the 46? 4 hours after the 46 she was already over 300 and 3 hrs after that she was at 500. When a cat is in a bounce, the numbers can bobble around, but they overall remain higher. Sometimes cats will have what we call "a high before the break" meaning that the cat gets even higher right before the bounce begins to clear and they begin dropping down. I think the 580 you got tonight is probably the high before the break.

When I see this 580 and I count forward from the green 46, tonight's cycle would be 3 days. I think she may begin to drop tonight or at the latest tomorrow morning's cycle.

If I were you, I'd go back to the 1.25u with her next shot and hold it there until we're positive this bounce has cleared. As Ann said, increasing the dose before the bounce has cleared can give an added momentum to the cat's blood sugar when the bounce clears and can send it down fast. The 1.5u got her to 46 before and it's likely to get her there again.

If she has an ear infection that needs the antibiotic, I'd be reluctant to stop it without the vet's approval. Stopping it before the prescription is done can cause antibiotic-resistant bacteria and make it even harder to get rid of. It's possible it's raising her blood sugar, but the first test you got that measured 500 was before you started giving her the Surolan.

Here's a more thorough explanation of bouncing.
 
Hi Julie, I completely agree with you about stopping antibiotics. So it's better if I go on giving her these drops.
Before Cleo was hospitalized, she had an ear infection to the other ear. I gave her an other product (Tresaderm) and in two days she stopped eating, started vomiting and stopped drinking, peeing, pooing and moving. She almost died. So now I'm terrified at the idea this happens again.
This morning I will give 1.25 as you suggest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top