1/2 Checkers pmps 328..+1/358..+2/228..+3/118

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33385
Yesterday Recap:
354 amps....1.25
239 +3
201 +4
133 +6

128 pmps....1.25
104 +1
36 +2.....2teas gravy
43 +2.25......teas gravy and bit of tuna....(didn't eat gravy)
82 +2.75...no food, napping already
114 +3.5
236 +7

Although he had a 36 last PM cycle, I reduced only to f1 today, because except for the last 3 cycles, his numbers really weren't that great on 1.25, so am reluctent to lower it by .25
Correct me if I'm off base, please. Any criticism welcome.

WCR. All is normal today. Just finished the remainder of breffis. LC. Gonna watch and hope he surfs this pretty blue.
Little Clancy sat in his doodoo this morning. Oy what early morning fun!
Note to self....trim nails, and buy new shower curtain. :lol:
 
Re: 1/2 Checkers amps 324..+2/215...+3/ 109

Good morning, Barb & Checkers.. what a great run of #s this morning :thumbup
Checkers sure knows how to come on down... wishing you both a wonderful Sunday with trimmed nails & a new shower curtain haha_smiley
 
Re: 1/2 Checkers amps 324..+2/215...+3/ 109..+4/107

I not afraid to criticize, Barb-bean!! u doin' nails an not invite De B???
FOR SHAME!!! i gots pretty nail colors i happy to tote 2 ur place...
binks
 
Re: 1/2 Checkers amps 324..+2/215...+3/ 109..+4/107

324 amps.....f1
218 +2
109 +3
107 +4
121 +5.....ate an hour ago, little spike maybe


Hey there, Binkster. If I had known you were a mani/pedicurist, Ida sent a plane tickee, before doing Checks and his bro, Tux, a few days ago.
Clancy whizzes like a little bullet and escaped the nail clippers. Thank you for the offer, sweet boy. :-D
 
Re: 1/2 Checkers amps 324..+2/215...+3/ 109..+4/107...+5/121

I have a question about front loading. I think that's the appropriate term

In order to slow down Check's PM drop at +2- to+3, would I feed a little MC?
I already give snack of LC, and that doesn't seem to slow him down.
 
Re: 1/2 Checkers amps 324..+2/215...+3/ 109..+4/107...+5/121

Hi Barb - nice day yesterday for Checkers. WOW on the 36. I have in the past just shaved Mannie's dose when he has dropped below 40 - once I think - reasoning was that he still had too many pinks and yellows on other days. I know protocol states down the full .25. I dunno.... They will probably tell you to take the full .25.

For Mannie (I do front load him - he is fed @ ps +1, +2, +3, and that is it) - when he has significant drop like that - say 100 point in an hour, at the beginning of the cycle - I have fed him some LC/MC, which for him is about 7/8% carb. It does help slow Mannie down when he has large drops like that. You could always try it out, see how it goes.
 
Re: 1/2 Checkers amps 324..+2/215...+3/ 109..+4/107...+5/121

324 amps.....f1
218 +2
109 +3
107 +4
121 +5.....ate an hour ago, little spike maybe


Maybe I should have explained that better, Michelle
He was already sitting in too much pink, on 1.25. I hesitate to lower the dose by .25, just because of 3 good cycles.
It was at the +1 test, that I wonder if I should give MC, to slow down the +2 and +3.
Guess the only way to know is to try. He only does this at PM cycle.
 
Re: 1/2 Checkers amps 324..+2/215...+3/ 109..+4/107...+5/121

Barb...very nice cycle for Checkers today!! I don't know about his dose....maybe you should put "dose ?" in subject line to get attention??? That might get eyes on it like Jill, Libby, Sienne, Laurie, etc. and I think I've seen CD around LL today, too. Good luck!!
 
Re: 1/2 Checkers amps 324..+2/215...+3/ 109..+4/107...+5/121

Nice run of numbers for Checkers lately. :mrgreen:

You know the old saw ECID. It is up to your judgement call. I just shaved Tess when she got a 36 because she is so notorious about not holding reductions. After all you can always go down more if it doesn't work. Just be prepared to test!
 
Re: 1/2 Checkers pmps 328

324 amps.....f1
218 +2
109 +3
107 +4
121 +5.....ate an hour ago, little spike maybe
184 +6
265 +10
328 pmps....f1....he ate too close to PS. Could be bounce or food spike. Bean wasn't careful about food left out today.

Marjorie, the question was about food.
should I give the usual LC, or try MC, at +1 and +2 tests, to slow down the drop at +3.

Oops , edited for using wrong name. :smile:
 
Re: 1/2 Checkers pmps 328

Hi Barb,
You could try a low MC food (or a higher LC food, like Merrick's Grammy's Pot Pie, which is 8%) to slow the drop in the PM cycle. The AM cycle looks as if he slows the drop by himself. I guess the only way to know is to give it a try and keep really good notes so you can see what you did! In my opinion the shave to a fat 1 was the way to go. When there is a bg in the 30s they say you should always take the dose reduction.
Have a great evening, see you tomorrow,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/2 Checkers pmps 328

sorry if i added to the confusion. I too would give MC to slow the drop at the +1. I too use a low MC food - somewhere in the 8% range. Merrick's is good, and I think FF has a couple of basic fish ones: Trout Feast and Tuna feast that are about 7%. They work well for Mannie. I'm with Ella - try it, and keep good notes as to what happened. and yes for me too on shaving the dose, unless it's in the 30's when you have to take the full .25.

I hope you guys have a great evening!
 
324 amps.....f1
218 +2
109 +3
107 +4
121 +5.....ate an hour ago, little spike maybe
184 +6
265 +10
328 pmps....f1
358+1
228 +2
118 +3

Since I shaved the dose this morning, was going to wait and see if that worked to slow PM drop. I didn't have to.
I did however give a teaspoon gravy lovers, with +3 snack, because the bean needs sleep.
Will get a spot check later.
 
In order to slow down Check's PM drop at +2- to+3, would I feed a little MC? I already give snack of LC, and that doesn't seem to slow him down.
Front loading the cycle is typically feeding mini-meals over several hours. You would divide up the total food for the cycle and split it into 3 or 4 servings that you would give at specified times. Usually a snack will help with a surf. A mini-meal is a bit more food than a snack so, I guess it depends on what you're calling a snack.

It looks like Checkers can drop even before +3. I'd try dividing his food into 4 portions and feeding at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3. See if that helps to slow things down. You may need to add some HC, or maybe not. Using food to manipulate the curve is a matter of trial and error. It can take several weeks to see a change but this can also be an ECID thing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top