1/2 Baby

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Member Since 2009
Hi, Lantus Land
Baby's #s are getting worse with each dosecrease, so I suspect we will move up to .75 soon, maybe tonight - I need to go look at protocol.
I continue to have so many questions with her back on the juice and what we need to do with dose increases, etc. but a lot of us have questions & Jill, Libby and Sienne only have so much time & energy.
I am doing what I think is best & it is probably all wrong but it is better than doing nothing, at least she is on insulin. She did not have a condo yesterday so there is no link to link.
Baby is just lazy lately, not really interested in doing too much. Appetite & litterbox activity is fine. I hope everyone has a wonderful Sunday.
:RAHCAT B :RAHCAT A :RAHCAT B :RAHCAT Y​
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

Morning Nicole & Baby! I was looking for your condo yesterday, so you were missed. Maybe try putting a remark in your subject line, like "Need dosecrease advice", and I'm sure someone will see it and check your condo, or someone will bump you up. That will get their attention! I remember you just had a dosecrease, right! I'll have to go back and check your ss. I'm glad Baby is doing well. Maggie's a lazy one today, too, after waking me up in middle of night. Take care.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

Here's a bump up, and a wish for you to have a good day.
Come on down, nice and easy, Baby.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

Good Morning, Nicole. It's frustrating, I know, but don't forget about NDW. Tess always takes much longer than she is supposed to with it. Also Baby is still on meds and they can effect BGs. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

I'd agree with Ann, the ear infection & the ABs may indeed be the main reason for the current BG levels. Hang in there!!
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

Morning!! I agree with Ann and Perry - I bet that has something to do with the numbers, though for sure I am no expert. Hang in there - :-D

Come on down Baby, nice and slow.

have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

'Morning Nicole, I'm no advice giver either: no secret, right? I'm just offering support. Please don't get discouraged. You take good care of Baby. I'm sorry you're so upset.
If the ear is still bothering her, it will affect her numbers. I don't know if the medication does. I can't remember from when Checks was on meds. I do know that pain/discomfort will raise numbers in humans as well as cats.
Please try to relax, so she doesn't know you're upset. Easy for me to say, huh?
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

Good morning!

looked for your condo yesterday, we're a touch late with this...but

HAPPY NEW YEAR, NICOLE & BABY!!

come on down to the Feel-better floors, baby-girl!

celi & binks
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

Holiday PSA

Nicole,
With the holidays, many of us have not had the amount of time on the board that we would like. Because of that, it becomes even more important to put something in your header if you have questions. Please remember that with limited time, helpers will scan those headers to find those condos that need immediate help. Since there has not been any indication of questions in you header, I haven't been looking at your condo regularly, and I know I'm not alone.

Here's the link to your previous condo. Even though you didn't have one yesterday, it is still important to link the previous one. Anyone trying to help you will want to see what happened previously. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 38&start=0

I have asked others to look at your condo, as I am on the fence about increasing the dose. Baby had a 53 on this dose 3 days ago, so normally I would suggest holding the dose a bit longer. However, with a kitty returning from the falls, you may need to be more aggressive with dose increases. Let's see what others have to say.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

Hey Nicole & Baby--Looked at your SS..Baby is like Moonie and I think you need to wait the full 6 cycles to see if this dose crease is working--How about dosing with fat & skinny doses-if this doesnt work?
Moonie just needs a drop to dose to show me some result within 48 hrs..Other cats are different, but I just feel Baby's ears are the culprit here--and the discomfort too!!
Just have patience, we have all paws & fingers crossed for dearest Baby! i JUST know she'll be back on track really soon--Big Hugs from Us!
Keep the Faith!
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

hi nicole. sorry if you've had questions that haven't been answered. i've only managed to drive-by LL the past few weeks due to other commitments. the suggestion to put something in the subject line of your first post when you have a question is a good one. i also look for the "question mark icon" when i'm scanning the list.

the zymox hc you're giving baby has hydrocortisone (1%) in it. i suspect it's the reason for the numbers you're seeing now. it may even be worth calling your vet tomorrow to see if there's an alternate treatment. if not, you'll just have to increase the dose accordingly and monitor closely.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

Hi Nicole and Baby

Happy New year, girl.

I'm sorry you're bummed this morning. Baby has what, 4 days left on AB's? I'd ride it out with her and see if she does better after she's finished with those. Sorry I don't have any advice for you. I hate flat yellow myself, so I can relate to wanting to do something to change up the mix. But hang in there, girlie. Let's see if our girl perks up by the middle of the week. She was doing so well before the ear thing, I really think she'll get right back to those good numbers.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

Hi, I just want to say that I know to put question in the subject line - I did 2 days in a row. I am not complaining, I know everyone is busy.. I really do understand ;-)
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

hope you get some answers soon, it's difficult to get answers these past days but I am sure someone soon will help you out. good luck with everything, and sorry but I've had it with house cleaning, you're on your own there :lol:
 
Re: 1/2 Baby AMPS 297 +5 263

Hi Nicole,
It's really difficult to know what to do. But with the complicating factor of the infection and the medication for it, perhaps it is best simply to monitor closely and not do anything drastic.
I'm glad that Baby is feeling and acting good.
Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/2 Baby PMPS 223

I went ahead & bumped up the dose to .75 since we had gone the minimum of 6 cycles. For now I will assume the higher #s are due to the antibiotic she is on (she has 3 days left) I thought I had covered that base.. when she was given them, I asked in Health & her condo that day the effects of this ab.. anyway.. this is what I was told at that time.. hope she gets down to normal #s when the ab is done. I am here to monitor all week.

Larry and Kitties said:
The active ingredients are:
Active Ingredients: Lactoperoxidase system plus Lysozyme, Lactoferrin, Hydrocortisone (1%). Hydrocortisone is a very mild steroid and should have little effect on BGs. I would not hesitate (If my vet said it should work) of using it on any of my diabetic cats. Based on my experience, and the type of steroid, the steroids in Animax and Tresaderm are much worse with regards to raising BGs.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby PMPS 223

Hi Nicole,

I'm sorry I can't offer advise on this since I do not have the experiance.
Offering our support instead :YMHUG:
I really appreciate all the advise you give, and hope you will get the information you need.
Take care.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby PMPS 223 +1 153

Nicole....you've gotten better advice and input than I could give. Just want to wish you and the lovely Baby a healthy and happy New Year. I truly hope that once her condition is addressed and she is off all meds, that her BGs will come back down. Hugs to you both and thank you for visiting Gracie's condo religiously...we so appreciate your support!!!
 
Re: 1/2 Baby PMPS 223 +3 88

Baby Cakes is Liking her new dose! Happiness here :mrgreen:
dancing_cat B dancing_cat A dancing_cat B dancing_cat Y
 
Re: 1/2 Baby PMPS 223 +4 49

Fed 8% & heading out to dinner with family.. she is safe.. needs to drop below 40 since she is not new.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby PMPS 223 +4 49

Nicole & Baby said:
Fed 8% & heading out to dinner with family.. she is safe.. needs to drop below 40 since she is not new.
Enjoy your dinner with family, Nicole, and good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby PMPS 223 +4 49

Nicole, Baby is your cat, but if I were you, I wouldn't leave after getting a number in the 40s. In that situation, you shoud feed and retest in 15-20 minutes and repeat until you have seen at least two rising numbers at least in the 50s. Personally, I would want to see 60s before I would leave. If you MUST leave you should be leaving high carb food out.

Just because Baby needs to go below 40 to earn a dose decrease does not mean that it's ok to be complacent about low numbers.

Here's a post by Sienne on how to handle low numbers. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28888&start=0

Any newbies reading this condo....please do not leave your cat in this situation. Please read the link above, there are good suggestions on how deal with low numbers.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby PMPS 223 +4 49

Officer Putty here.....just checking up to see that everything is ok in here. I got a call that Baby was a little low so I thought I would check on her.

PolicePutty-1.jpg
 
Re: 1/2 Baby PMPS 223 +4 49

Nicole & Baby said:
Fed 8% & heading out to dinner with family.. she is safe.. needs to drop below 40 since she is not new.

You're kidding, right? So if you come home from dinner and Baby's numbers are in the 20s, it's OK because she'll earn a dose reduction? Remember the adage, "Better to be in high numbers for a day than low numbers for a minute." If you look on your SS, on 4/3 Baby went from a 46 to 38 within an hour.

Walking out the door for more than 15 min. when your cat is in the 40s is not safe. It looks like Baby's nadirs can be at +6 in the PM cycle. She could easily be still dropping.

Have I scared you yet? I hope so. You are not a newbie. You are visiting condos and helping others. They will look to you, your condo, and your SS as an example for what to do. Tonight is not a good example. You are familiar with the routine for keeping your cat safe when numbers are below 50. If not, here's a reminder regarding how to handle low numbers. Print it out and keep it handy. I'm done with my public service pronouncement.

As far as dose increases, here's the basic info from the Tight Regulation sticky:
Increasing the dose...

* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Generally, when you are seeing blues and greens the dose is held for 10 cycles. If you want to be more aggressive and are home to monitor, you can increase sooner.

For now I will assume the higher #s are due to the antibiotic she is on
ABs do not raise BG levels unless there is some form of sugar in the AB. (Check out Sooty's condo a few days ago. Sooty was taking liquid amoxicillen that had sugar in it.) Infection will raise BG. Once the AB kicks in, numbers will drop. Depending on how sensitive your cat is to steroids, it is far more likely that the hydrocortisone in Baby's ear medication is influencing Baby's numbers than the AB.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby Update

You're kidding, right? So if you come home from dinner and Baby's numbers are in the 20s, it's OK because she'll earn a dose reduction? Remember the adage, "Better to be in high numbers for a day than low numbers for a minute." If you look on your SS, on 4/3 Baby went from a 46 to 38 within an hour.
No, I was not kidding - I do not kid when it comes to my cat's health. Sadi & Baby are all I have & if FDMB does not know that by now, they never will. Any cat in the 20s is not Ok & Ithat goes without mentioning.
Baby is more than fine, I am not an irresponsible person as some people's reply today would indicate :YMSIGH: I kind of got hollered at 3 times today by a few people & feel like I was made to look ignorant.
Maybe I am just sensitive, but I take her health very seriously & am not ignorant. Dinner was across the street & I fed MC, checked her too . :YMSIGH:

I try to encourage every kitty, but if I am causing problems - I do apologize, that is not my intent.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby Update

Nicole, thank you for updating us about Baby, I was concerned, as were others. I was watching for updates until late last night. I was also checking Baby's SS regularly for updated tests, and saw nothing after the 49.

First of all, you did not feed MC, you fed 8%, which is LOW carb. You didn't indicate that you would retest and post the results, your post indicated that you were walking out the door to go to dinner and sounded very casual and unconcerned about a number in the 40s. You did not update with your further tests, and my post was THREE HOURS later. Irresponsible? Absolutely! You apparently gave no thought to what message others who read your condo would get from that post. Then, you never updated and explained what you were doing, didn't update your SS either to indicate that you were taking care of Baby. You may be offended, but I agree with Sienne's post....if you are visiting other condos and giving advice, you bear a responsibility to set a good example. You did not do that last night, and your update this morning just shows that you still don't understand that.

My post was an attempt to keep other people from following your example. It was important to make sure that newbies don't think it's ok to feed a little LC food and walk out the door when their cat is in the 40s. That's more important than worrying about hurting your feelings. If you don't understand that, that's a shame.
 
Re: 1/2 Baby Update

Nicole, dont get upset, It's just that we try to protect each other & our fur babies--
Please dont see this as a reprimand--It is Soooo not--Everyone is just looking out for you & Baby-
Now you know Baby still has the capacity to drop unexpectedly! I forget & sometimes Moonie shocks me too--
Baby is doing more than Fine-WE LOve you here & Baby & we know she is all you have..
All is well now & sending you BIG HUGS that Baby finally came down!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top