1/2 Ares PMPS 212, +2 218, +5 157 +9 139

Looked up Tiki cat chicken crunchers treats on their website and they answered a Q and said carb % is 41.
Is this a good or bad treat for 50's and 40's bg? it is dry, but has no grain or taters in it, 1st ingredient is chicken
Ares loves them and im thinking much better for him than temptations

That's interesting, much of what I have seen in the Tiki cat food line is low carb, I had expected their brand of treats would be low carb as well, something like a freeze dried meat product. In general, I will say most definitely having something in an emergency like these treats in your hypo box is fine, but only use if you are in a pinch. It would be best to try and steer with HC food/gravy first. Anything high carb dry will take longer to clear the system so it affects the BG longer. And with TR you want to be keeping the diet exclusively wet food or raw, so these types of treats would be considered a no-no (again - unless you are desperate).
 
@Bandit's Mom
just FYI
Heya Bhooma,
this is just an add to the changing food question you had earlier:
So back on the 26th, i realized that the slippery elm tincture i was giving him had glycerin in it, and i did stop that within the last week, could possibly have made a difference. (i actually took a dose myself and realized it was sweet)
so i began the psyllium husk and it is working out
 
That's interesting, much of what I have seen in the Tiki cat food line is low carb, I had expected their brand of treats would be low carb as well, something like a freeze dried meat product. In general, I will say most definitely having something in an emergency like these treats in your hypo box is fine, but only use if you are in a pinch. It would be best to try and steer with HC food/gravy first. Anything high carb dry will take longer to clear the system so it affects the BG longer. And with TR you want to be keeping the diet exclusively wet food or raw, so these types of treats would be considered a no-no (again - unless you are desperate).

Ahhh, i see, thanks Christie
 
@Bandit's Mom
just FYI
Heya Bhooma,
this is just an add to the changing food question you had earlier:
So back on the 26th, i realized that the slippery elm tincture i was giving him had glycerin in it, and i did stop that within the last week, could possibly have made a difference. (i actually took a dose myself and realized it was sweet)
so i began the psyllium husk and it is working out
The reason I asked about food is because we've seen some cats race down the dosing ladder after a diet change. Looking at Ares, it made me wonder if there was something other than a great reaction to Lantus at play. :-)

I hope he gives you a night off! I am sure you could use some sleep!
 
I suspect he will head down slowly and might give you another green AMPS.
If you can get a +9 and feed some LC - that may prevent him from dropping too low at AMPS. You have a late nadir cat! :-)
 
Back
Top