1/19 TOM amps 352 +2.5 325 +7.5 306 pmps 323 1 UNIT! YAY

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34719

Good Morning Lantus Land,
We are seeing some real evening out of the am and pm ps's so that's good. I am comfortable holding dose for awhile longer.
Tom is still feeling a little off I think...meatloafing and napping in front of his food bowl. but he is purring when I touch him and I have witnessed all P's this morning except playing. also has shown no interest in going out for his routine property check.
I am wondering if I took him of his ab's too soon. We had 14 days supply but I gave him 7 days only.
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

I would say YES YOU DID. just like in humans. (NURSE SPEAKING HERE)if you are given a supply for X number of days, it is for a reason. peeps do this too. they start to feel better so they stop meds and most of the time end up sicker and on meds longer. so you should have done the full treatment regardless if feeling better. caveat, unless allergic to ab or something along those lines
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

Good morning Lori! Not a bad AMPS, I'm sorry Tom is feeling under the weather though. Did he eat the rest of his snack last night? How about this morning, did he eat his normal amount? Are you still testing for ketones?

Can you refresh my memory about the ABs...what were they for? How long has it been since you stopped giving them? (Nodding along with Dian....you should always complete the course of AB unless there is an issue, and if there is, it should be discussed with the vet)

I know, lots of questions...
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

dian he was put on ab's at my request before any test results were in. all test results in and no infection found. i know teeth can cause infections that will not show up in any of the tests so i was assuming i was treating that. should i restart the ab's now in light of that info? he's been off the ab's for about 8 days. the vet could only say his gums were inflammed.
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

Laurie yes he ate...and would eat until his last breath! tom does not decline food just becuase he does'nt feel well. food is his favorite pass time.
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

I really do not think they would help at this point. 14 days is to get them in, stay in long enough to do what they are supposed to do. (cannot thin {build up}k of the right words)this would only get them back in and not really do much of anything. If no improvement, maybe a vet visit. maybe he is having a CP flare, upset tummy, hair ball or could be his teeth (gums)
giving after 8 days would be like just giving the first 7 days and stopping. not enough in there to do anything IF there is something brewing. cannot hurt though. who knows
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

he's laying on his heating pad now...gosh, he has'nt acted this way for the last couple weeks.
don't trust the vet to say if it's wise or not wise to put him back on ab's to finish 7 more days worth...sad to say.
wish jojo were here.
who shall i ask?
dr lisa dvm?
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

well, it will not hurt to give it to him but not sure how much it will help KWIM? something else could be going on. you can try pepcid if you think upset tummy and see if that helps
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

You didn't get a C&S IIRC, did you ever get the urine sample in to the vet for them to test? Free catch isn't nearly as helpful, since if it's positive you won't know whether it was a true UTI or contaminated sample....but better than no test at all.

Good that his appetite is good, I saw where he didn't eat all of his snack last night...that's why I ask.

It could be so many things, honestly the vet is your best bet for addressing the problem if he's not back to himself soon. Restarting the AB is not a good idea IMO because if there IS an infection and you have to take him in to the vet, the AB will give you a false negative test...mask the infection...so it's better to wait. Also the other issue that Dian addressed, that giving a partial course is not going to take care of the problem if it didn't take care of it the first time around.

Ketone testing?
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

When Norton had infections, it always seemed to take a whole month of antibiotics to clear it up.

Tiggy and Rusty didn't need as long, but they were taking it preventively instead of treating a definite infection (prescribed after injury and after dental)
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

Restarting the AB is not a good idea IMO because if there IS an infection and you have to take him in to the vet, the AB will give you a false negative test...mask the infection.

was going on the assumption that was not going back to vet But I certainly advocate if vet visit in picture, do not give AB for the above reason
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

well too late, dian also said it would'nt hurt and i do remember when i had an infection and my first round of z-pac did'nt work after about a week i got another z pac.
tom got a super pure urine sample. i sterilized a small shot glass, had a sterile (from the vet) syringe and a sterile test tube. i caught the sample in the shot glass, syringed it up and into the test tube and got it to the vet within an hour. can't get much more sterile than that. he had no bacteria but a whole lotta sugar.
i started the ab's before i read laurie's post. gonna go another round with it and will let vet know in case i need 7 more days worth.
knowing tom i don't think it's tummy ache this morning. he took a normal poo. ate all his breffis and just seems tired and cold.
back on his heating pad. he had some raw rabbit with his ab. an extra breffis so he was happy.
got a +2.5 325...big whoop. but slow and go slow and go...
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

and no, no immediate plans to go back to vet.
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Ketone testing?

One more time...are you testing for ketones?

Good on the urine sample, glad to hear you got it done. Not questioning your sterilization, etc Lori...there could be external bacteria on him as well...that's why a needle drawn sample is the only sure way to confirm UTI if the urine test is positive. Since it was negative, that's good.

If there is an infection/inflammation, that could certainly be causing higher numbers...lots of personal experience with that! It also increases risk of DKA. Good that he's eating, but keep vigilant on the ketone testing. He has a couple of risk factors so it's important to stay on top of it.
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

oh yes, ketone testing every chance I get. zip on the ketones. he's starting to not like to pee while i'm in the bathroom anymore :sad:
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

Laurie is correct. It's not just that the container, etc. was sterile. The other issue is that Tom isn't sterile and those bacteria can be transferred. However, the fact that his gums were inflamed suggests he has gingivitis. Has Tom had a recent dental?
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

no dental altho the vet did take two chunks of plaque off his teeth. we are not going for a dental, we just have to work around that ok.
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

as for urine. the urine test for humans is pee a little first than catch in a bottle..that's what tom did, pee a little first than i caught the rest in a bottle. they could not find his bladder to draw urine..they tried.
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

excerpt from Dr Lisa's site:

"A urine culture and sensitivity is not accurate from a free-catch sample due to contamination issues. However, on rare occasions we may run a C & S from a midstream sample that is caught in a sterile container but interpretation must take into consideration the collection method. If the C & S comes back negative on a free-catch sample, this result is helpful but if it comes back positive, you cannot be sure if the bacteria are from the bladder/kidney or from the very end of the urinary tract or the patient's hair that surrounds the vulva or penis."(my emphasis)
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

well since the vet tryed and was unable to get to the bladder after trying what would you have suggested we do wfc?
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

Hi, Lori & Tom.. looks like things are going nicely for Tom Tom & getting an extra breffis of Rabbit.. yummy ;-)
Thank you for your support & kind words over the past few days :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

I do not read this as bad lor. she is just saying the way you did it and the results should be considered and definitely so if it came back positive. you do what ya have to do. it is not necessarily a really bad thing
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

Tom has been on 0.75 units BID for 10 cycles with one nadir in the blue, but still with lots of pink too. You can increase his dose whenever you're ready! If he were my cat, I would go to 1 unit unless he switches things up on you somehow before then. For you, I would suggest giving the first cycle of the increased dose during the day, since you can't monitor as much at night. Good luck!

Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

Oh Thank God!!! I was gonna do it with or without 'permission' tonight. YAY
Thank you dear Libby for keeping a quiet eye on us...I did'nt even know you were watching.
I'm doing it tonight as my poor boy has hung long enough.
I'll get some #'s tonight if I have to take a cold shower to get them!
Nadirs late so maybe a +2 and a +7 or +8?
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

i'm not suggesting you do otherwise, since you had already posted that the vet had tried but could not find the bladder to do a cysto. in an ideal world, kitty would have returned at a another time for the cysto. but i'm aware of your transportation troubles. and life isn't ideal all the time. dr Lisa acknowledges as much, in case you missed it in my earlier post: "However, on rare occasions we may run a C & S from a midstream sample that is caught in a sterile container but interpretation must take into consideration the collection method." my point was that the interpretation of these results, if positive for bacteria, needs to take into account that this was not a sterile collection i.e it could be a false positive. i don't know how to make this clearer than how she had written it.

i also had to address your earlier insistence, quoted below, that a sterile sample can be free-caught. it would be a disservice to newbies and lurkers if this misinformation was not corrected.

lori and tom said:
tom got a super pure urine sample. i sterilized a small shot glass, had a sterile (from the vet) syringe and a sterile test tube. i caught the sample in the shot glass, syringed it up and into the test tube and got it to the vet within an hour. can't get much more sterile than that.
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

I'm sorry WFC, the learning curve here for me has been hard and feels like everything is so exacting all the time. Like I'm bound to make a mistake with the smallest thing. Guess I took it too personally. My backround here at fdmb has never been so exacting about things and it's just not been very much fun lately. I'm sorry that I was snippy.
FWIW, the vet gave me much less sanitary methods of collection which I thought were ridiculous (and generally i have felt the vets here in my town are sub-par) so I believed what I did was just about as good as it gets.
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

as Dian says, sometimes you just do what you have to do. i'm aware that you do have a lot to cope with at the moment. and i also read about your (and Tom's) rather traumatic day at the vet's.

i just didn't want any lurkers reading this to think that free-catch = sterile urine collection.
 
Re: 1/19 TOM amps 352

15 minute countdown to test and 1u...now watch him go and throw me a curve ball 130 or something..... :o
i'm just so darn happy to be raising his dose. is'nt that the silliest thing? i would have done it days ago..actually i never would have lowered it in the first place ut i am very GLAD i did as i now understand what i am looking for. similiar am and pm ps's...and a relatively flat day with a gentle nadir. dearly hoping for a gentle high 200's in the am...or a very low 300.

the L's are making me crazy....and I always knew they would :dizcat

thanks for the nice pm WCF...I've known you for years..but I can't remember your name :oops: ?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top