1/19 Simon PMPS 189 +4 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Simon worked the flat yellow streak yesterday and it seems to be continuing today. He once again woke me up at 3:30 this morning with crying. He had not touched his food in the automatic feeder. When I tested him, he was 234 so it was not his blood sugar. I picked him up and put him on the bed and he went back to sleep and was fine until I had to wake up for work. I am wondering if his legs are bothering him more than usual and he was unable to get back on the bed after he went to check out his food or go to the LB. I have stairs going up to the bed, but maybe it still hurt too much to climb. I am taking him today to get an adequan shot. I almost forgot that he is due for one. Hopefully, that will make him feel better.

Got to go to work today even though our city is pretty much shut down for MLK day. At least I will not encounter any traffic.

Happy Monday!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-18-simon-pmps-238-4-255.131632/#post-1354552
 
Morning Georgia :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Ah... the flat yellows.... I so remember those. For Mannie it usually meant he was getting ready for a run of the blues and greens. I hope maybe that is the case for Simon. Good luck with the adequan shot. I hope it helps Simon feel better.

Have a great day today, I hope all goes well. Enjoy that no traffic! :)
 
Happy MLK Day! I'm sorry you have to go to work. Paws crossed for the adequan to help Simon's mobility. Love the yellow run!
Liz
 
HOpefully the Adequan will help today. I could always tell when Mario needed a boost, and it helped him quickly. Have you tried doing the Adequan at home? Since it can be done as a SubQ injection, you wouldn't have to haul Simon to the vet for it. We always did Mario's at home. Drs Foster and Smith had a great price on it - although that was a couple years ago.

Have a great day, Georgia!
 
Poor Simon! I'm sorry he hurts and I hope the injection helps him. I know how awful it is when your baby isn't feeling well.

Sending him lots of vines. Maybe after the shot his numbers will come down a little.
 
Vines that a shot of Adequan helps. My dog started Adequan a couple of months ago. At first, IM shots at the clinic, but then they changed their protocol and now it's just a sub q injection. Much easier; I can do those at home. It sure has helped Will.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Much nicer PMPS. Unfortunately, I was not able to get Simon to the vet today because of unexpected work stuff. My cat sitter is going to bring him first thing in the morning.

Amy, I asked my vet about a year ago to do a subq shot but he said it needed to be done IM. I am going to talk to them tomorrow and insist on doing it subq. I just can't bring him back and forth with my new job. I wish the vet was closer to make it easier for me.
 
IM is very old school...it absolutely can be done SubQ and it works just as well! Many others here have done it SubQ, too. I hope you can convince your vet that this is the truth. (Maybe do a quick search - there must be something online to back this up.) Good luck tomorrow...keep us posted!
 
Hi Georgia,
I hope you can get the adequan for subQ injection. Poor Simey: he must be in pain if he didn't want to climb back up on the bed. Sending lots of vines for him.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
We did it subq for Zener. We had a vial from the vet and some syringes. The needles were bigger than insulin needles but lots smaller than those harpoons for the Cerenia. :joyful:
Liz
 
Go Georgia - so lucky we have each others experience to rely on here - for ourselves, our kitties and our vets who (hopefully) learn from us :) :):)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top