1/19 Radar - an update

Jan Radar (GA)

Member Since 2015
my last post

We visited with the vet a few days ago so she could check Radar's sutures from his dental. She said that everything is healing well. Due to his continued troubles with diahrea, he's back on Flagyl until the Clindamycin course is finished. We will see her again in a few weeks to check his progress.

I asked her about the transdermal mirtazapine and how often it's safe to give. She said that the transdermal form has only been available for a few months and so the clinic has been more conservative with their dosing recommendations. I explained that I've been giving it to him every other day but it doesn't seem to last that long and his eating tapers off on the second day. She told me that it is safe to give him a full dose once a day. It seems to be working well and my observation of my Radar is that the effect is much more gentle than the pill form. He gradually becomes more interested in eating over the space of an hour or two rather than being hit by the uncontrollable urge to eat 15-20 minutes after getting the pill.

Every day he looks better and better. He eats well, grooms, LB is back to normal and this week we've seen consistent playing. We are so happy to have our sweet happy kitty back.

As for his numbers... we've seen a few blues but lots of ickyy pinks. It looks like he's bouncing from an unseen low or two so I'll work in the next few days to try to catch that low. Hoping the bounce doesn't last too long.
 
Sounds like a good Radar report. :) The recent study on the use of transdermal mirtazapine said it lasted nine hours in the cat. Daily dosing should be fine. The study was published last spring, the transdermal form of the drug has been available for more than a few months. It also absorbs slower than oral, so your observation on slower onset is correct. Also less chance for side effects.

You have held his dose over a week with no nadirs under 150, time for an increase per SLGS. He will bounce more and higher when the dose is too low.

Can you tell me more about the eye discharge?
 
Sounds like a good Radar report. :) The recent study on the use of transdermal mirtazapine said it lasted nine hours in the cat. Daily dosing should be fine. The study was published last spring, the transdermal form of the drug has been available for more than a few months. It also absorbs slower than oral, so your observation on slower onset is correct. Also less chance for side effects.

You have held his dose over a week with no nadirs under 150, time for an increase per SLGS. He will bounce more and higher when the dose is too low.

Can you tell me more about the eye discharge?
Last weekend we noticed that he had some green discharge/ gunk in the corner of his eyes. Because of the infection in his jaw I was concerned that the discharge could be related. When we saw the vet, she said she didn't think it was related and that maybe it was a stress response or perhaps allergies. I did do some cleaning last weekend so there was a bit of dust around but there have also been yowling neighborhood cats outside which always causes Radar anguish. We haven't seen any more green gunk so I'm not overly concerned at this point.
 
Back
Top