1/19 Molly +8 ~450 and starving!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele&Molly

Member Since 2009
Just walked threw the door and she was begging (begging!) to be tested. 450! I could cry for the little darling! Her dinner is supposed to be in a half hour but i'm going to feed her now as i feel terrible for her.

No clue what's going on!!
 
Hey Michele,

Like the others, I think your best dose lay somewhere closer to the 2u, that is if you and DH can shoot the same 2u each time ;)

The dose hoping - well, you don't need that lecture, but it really needs to stop.

Also, you know she is hungry b/c her numbers are all whacked up and she isn't using her food efficiently...what are you currently feeding? Have you changed lables or variety? Do you have any kibble available to her?

What do you think about getting back closer to the 2u?
 
Mystery solved!

Mystery solved. One word,,,,WILL

He came home from work and i told him that Molly was 450. He said "do you think maybe you gave her a fur shot this morning?" My response "do i think i gave her a fur shot?? No, see the funny thing is is that YOU shoot her on the weekdays! I was at work at her shot time!!!!"

Poor Molly wasn't 450 @ +8 - she was 450 @ +20!!!

I would be more upset except i used up all my disappoinment and anger when i showed up at work today and the maintenance guy had to prepare for the destruction in my room. Winds up some teenagers broke into my classroom over the weekend and destroyed so much of my stuff.

It's been a long day. I will go back to leaving a syringe on W's blackberry. I know it would be easier if i just did it, but i feel it's important to stick to 8 and 8 and that he take some freakin' responsibility in this.

Thanks you guys. -M
 
I am so sorry for your horrible day...that sucks terribly. grr_red

I hope things are sorted out at work.

Is there any way you can get DH to come online with us? I'd like to "talk" to him about Molly's care.... angry(2)_cat
 
Does this also mean that Molly didn't get fed??

Perhaps you should give out DH's cellphone number. I'm sure there are people on here that would call him and remind him, then call him back and make sure he did it. Is it a camera phone? We will want evidence!!
 
I am sorry you had to deal with all that at work today! I hope they find out who did it! How upsetting that must have been. :(

I am sorry too about Molly's numbers today. Tell Will he doesn't get anymore passes after this one or he will have to answer to all the Lev ladies. ;)

I have been meaning to get back to you after you answered my post on the feeding times. Here is your post:

Yes Pamela, our feeding/shooting time is all whacky!

1/10
AMPS 373 2.50
+3 273
+7 205
+8 293
PMPS 376 2.50
+10 312 fed (wondering why you fed here-is that when you get up?)Yes, this is 6 am - when i get up. Will will test and shoot in 2 hours.

1/11
AMPS 356 2.50
+9 fed
PMPS 143 2.00
+1 152 fed (why feeding here?)Shot time is 8am and 8pm but "snack time" is at 9pm. Without it, the cats won't make it through the night
+5 113
+10 250 fed (why?) Again, my waking time.


Okay, I understand you and Will have a system worked out, but just to state the obvious because I know you know this, but feeding two hours before shot time is not a good idea to me. Chances are you are shooting on a food spike for one thing and the insulin is probably wearing down about then and not able to handle the food load. I just know I could not do that with Tigger at +10. I can get away with a small cooked chicken snack at +9 at the very latest.

Can you shoot and feed at 6AM/6PM? Maybe you are not home from work yet at 6PM? Then you could get a +2 test in at 8AM/8PM or a +3 at +9PM on work days.

I am sorry, maybe none of this is possible but I had to throw it out there.

I am with Terri's suggestion that a systematic upward approach can now happen so you can start eliminating those lower doses. The end dose may be at 2.0 or it may be a little higher.
 
Thanks for the smiles you guys!

I am formulating ways to torture W! I am still laughing at your suggestions such as coming on line, giving out his cell phone #, and requiring that he send pictures once the deed is done (deed being insulin of course).

And now to Pamela.....

Sweet lord woman where have you been with that response of yours? How long have you been sitting on that gem? Gee thanks! Kidding aside, what you wrote makes perfect sense and i will be switching back to the 6am & 6pm. Makes life a little more challenging but let's face it, how much longer is she going to live? That was a joke people!! Boy, i can see how that can get all twisted and next thing you know i'll have the ASPCA coming after me to take Molly away.

I shot at 7:15pm and will bring shot time back slowly till we're at 6 and 6 (which were the original times). More inconsistencies -ugh!

Again, thanks my Lev using friends! Couldn't imagine doing this alone. -M
 
Michele,

If he has a Blackberry, does he use Outlook for his email and calendaring? If so, you can scheduling tasks for him, and you can make them repeat. He will get notices that the task is due in 15 minutes, past due, etc.

Feeding before bed: Lucy expects this too. My compromise has been to give her something with virtually no carbs or bulk. Fortunately, she loves nutritional yeast and bonito flakes. So before bed she gets a tablespoon of nutr. yeast and a small sprinkle of bonito flakes. No carbs thus no food spike.

One other thought: Has Molly ever been tested for hyperthyroidism? Has she had her blood pressure tested?
 
"snack time" is at 9pm. Without it, the cats won't make it through the night

I have visions of you finding expired cats on the kitchen floor with that one...

I don't know, but it seems to me like applying the KISS principle here might work.

Get up, feed, test shoot. Will leaves a snack 2 hours later
Come home and at 12 hrs after am shot feed, test shoot. Leave snack 2-4 hrs after at bedtime.

At least that's my schedule, er, well, not the Will part, tee hee! Except now I just throw all the am food into a big bowl and mush it up and divide by 5 and slap it down. Saves me 10 mins right before I leave repeating the process. And the food is around quite a while. There was some still in a few dishes when I got home tonight.
 
I can't imagine having even a crumb left in food dishes in MY house! Hah! My kids inhale and all bowls are empty within 2 to 5 mins tops! :shock:

Michele, can DH set his cell phone alarm function to squeak out a pretty ditty that reminds him of the petty details of life, like perhaps SHOOTING THE CAT!!!! :o

I swear...if you ever let any of us near him, why I'll *&^*&%@(%$(^(*^%%#!%&!^!)^#)%!#)*%#)*&^%#)...and you can TELL HIM I wrote that, too! (censored by the kittehs)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top