1.19 Max AMPS 349, +9 @ 413 (dose increase?)

Yes!

I do appreciate all your guys' help. Max has been my best friend for 13 years. I'm just a frazzled mess about all this.

:arghh:
 
Yes!

I do appreciate all your guys' help. Max has been my best friend for 13 years. I'm just a frazzled mess about all this.

:arghh:

Boy can I empathize! I was so utterly exhausted when Luci was first diagnosed...I wasted several days crying over the 'sentence' our vet gave us...then after we started to try to test her at home - OMG - what a mess that was - it took two of us to hold her - and every 'session' was trying and exhausting...once we got that ironed out it was the sheer volume of testing and trying to remember WHEN to do it all the time...and trying to figure out the food...and the right amount of insulin and on and on it went...I already had a full time schedule - how was I supposed to add all of this in?

Well, somehow I did...and I do...it took a lot of, shall we say, adjustments on my part. Especially when I'd get ready to go somewhere, to meet someone and would test Luci just before leaving - only to find her numbers WAY down...I call that my 'put down purse, take off shoes' moments - everything stops - plans are called off - people are disappointed - and I stay home to take care of my Luci...and they probably think I'm crazy...but that's ok - I'm no worse for not going where ever - and not meeting whomever - and we usually find another time/date/place to meet...so it's all worked out.

Luci however is proving to be a bit reluctant to get with the program...and sometime in this last year I've accepted my new life as Luci's bean - to do what's necessary to give her a better life and she's healthy and happy and has no idea how she's impacted my life - I guess it's one reason why they call them 'sugarcats' because they sure are sweet! And Luci and I have developed a special bond...I call her my little heartbreaker now...as someday I'm sure she's going to do just that...and I'll be a heap of ashes when it happens...but oh well...one must be a realist and prepare - but not think about it too much.

Max can get better. Stay the course. Trust the people on this board - they have a collective wisdom that is far, far beyond that of all the vets in the business...this group has had YEARS of experience dealing with the most reluctant FD cats. They can guide you and help you. I know it's hard to believe that - but over time - you'll find everything they say to have much more value than that of the veterinary field. It's just something that will prove true time and time again...no harm in getting tests, etc. But believe in the words of wisdom you read here. I do, I did...and we're living proof that things can get better. And I see it in so many high high kitties that come on board...try to listen and take the direction and guidance to heart...and most of all be patient! FD is a disease that requires extreme patience...we even have 'patience pants' here on the board that we can share with you - their virtual of course - but often we'll say - sending you the patience pants to wear for a while...because you'll need them...there is no quick answer to FD...but you're already seeing some better numbers...so hang in there...there is hope! :bighug::bighug:
 
Very nice +3. Add that to your title so all can see how he's doing. Anytime you get a test just add to the title.
 
WONDERFUL! A Yellow #
Baby steps! Little by Little Max will get there!
Paula & Sue have given you some Great words of Wisdom! Might be good to copy them & paste it by your computer to keep as a Reminder. I have notes from people here ,all over the Place. It helps to re- read them when I get frustrated!

You might want to ask about another increase in a day or two. Keep up the downward movement.
enjoy.jpg
 
We got our Zobaline!

Is it one tablet a day?
 

Attachments

  • 1547923088991-1527706477.jpg
    1547923088991-1527706477.jpg
    35.4 KB · Views: 57
The next day I'm off work is Tuesday. What do you guys think of upping him to 5.5 Monday night so I can monitor for three full cycles before I have to go back to work Wednesday morning?
 
Is it one tablet a day?

Twice a day. I give Bear his mixed in his food at both Pre-shot times, only so I won't forget.
I have seen some on Amazon reviews that dosed only once a day, but their cat's had mild neuropathy, Bear's neuropathy isn't mild.
I'm glad Max is having better numbers.
 
Twice a day. I give Bear his mixed in his food at both Pre-shot times, only so I won't forget.
I have seen some on Amazon reviews that dosed only once a day, but their cat's had mild neuropathy, Bear's neuropathy isn't mild.
I'm glad Max is having better numbers.
Max's isn't very mild either. I'd say moderate-severe. He can still walk, but he walks on his back legs, has "floppy feet" and has to sit every few feet. He can still jump as well, but it's definitely more difficult for him that it used to be.
 
Boy can I empathize! I was so utterly exhausted when Luci was first diagnosed...I wasted several days crying over the 'sentence' our vet gave us...then after we started to try to test her at home - OMG - what a mess that was - it took two of us to hold her - and every 'session' was trying and exhausting...once we got that ironed out it was the sheer volume of testing and trying to remember WHEN to do it all the time...and trying to figure out the food...and the right amount of insulin and on and on it went...I already had a full time schedule - how was I supposed to add all of this in?

Well, somehow I did...and I do...it took a lot of, shall we say, adjustments on my part. Especially when I'd get ready to go somewhere, to meet someone and would test Luci just before leaving - only to find her numbers WAY down...I call that my 'put down purse, take off shoes' moments - everything stops - plans are called off - people are disappointed - and I stay home to take care of my Luci...and they probably think I'm crazy...but that's ok - I'm no worse for not going where ever - and not meeting whomever - and we usually find another time/date/place to meet...so it's all worked out.

Luci however is proving to be a bit reluctant to get with the program...and sometime in this last year I've accepted my new life as Luci's bean - to do what's necessary to give her a better life and she's healthy and happy and has no idea how she's impacted my life - I guess it's one reason why they call them 'sugarcats' because they sure are sweet! And Luci and I have developed a special bond...I call her my little heartbreaker now...as someday I'm sure she's going to do just that...and I'll be a heap of ashes when it happens...but oh well...one must be a realist and prepare - but not think about it too much.

Max can get better. Stay the course. Trust the people on this board - they have a collective wisdom that is far, far beyond that of all the vets in the business...this group has had YEARS of experience dealing with the most reluctant FD cats. They can guide you and help you. I know it's hard to believe that - but over time - you'll find everything they say to have much more value than that of the veterinary field. It's just something that will prove true time and time again...no harm in getting tests, etc. But believe in the words of wisdom you read here. I do, I did...and we're living proof that things can get better. And I see it in so many high high kitties that come on board...try to listen and take the direction and guidance to heart...and most of all be patient! FD is a disease that requires extreme patience...we even have 'patience pants' here on the board that we can share with you - their virtual of course - but often we'll say - sending you the patience pants to wear for a while...because you'll need them...there is no quick answer to FD...but you're already seeing some better numbers...so hang in there...there is hope! :bighug::bighug:
So very well said and so true!! :bighug:
 
Max's isn't very mild either. I'd say moderate-severe. He can still walk, but he walks on his back legs, has "floppy feet" and has to sit every few feet. He can still jump as well, but it's definitely more difficult for him that it used to be.

Bear still can't jump but he has improved a lot in two months.
He can jump down and he can push himself up on his back feet to try to climb in my lap.
He is regaining muscle in his back legs. His front legs aren't as low down on the floor like they were.

Here is a video of Tootsie's improvement on Zobaline.
At the beginning of the video his neuropathy was mild, then became severe.

 
As far as dosing advice, on the weekend sometimes the more experienced/veterans that give dosing advice are living their lives and not on the forum as much, so it is a good idea to tag them if you have a shorter time constraint before dosing.
Advice needed for Max's next dosing? @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Chris & China

Big Opps! Dang it! I read your thread wrong and thought you were asking for dosing advice today, not for Monday.

Sorry! :banghead:
 
When you get a chance please add TR to your signature so peeps giving you dosing advice knows what you are following and can help you best.

Since Max just had his first blue you will hold this dose for 8-10 cycles from that blue according to TR see below:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

I think because you just stopped the dry and this was his first blue on 1/15, I would hold for 10 cycles from then. This is the 8th cycle from that blue.

He is making nice progress. :)
 
He just had his first dose of Zobaline! Ate it all up like a champ. I LOVE that it has NO flavor (even tasted a bit myself to be sure, haha). Totally tasteless. I gave him two crushed pills in his wet food because for some reason I was thinking that was the right dose...d'oh. Twice a day, not twice at once. I think it'll be ok though. B vitamins are excreted in the urine and not stored in the fat, so there's very little chance of overdose.
 
Bear still can't jump but he has improved a lot in two months.
He can jump down and he can push himself up on his back feet to try to climb in my lap.
He is regaining muscle in his back legs. His front legs aren't as low down on the floor like they were.

Here is a video of Tootsie's improvement on Zobaline.
At the beginning of the video his neuropathy was mild, then became severe.

What a great video, thank you for sharing!! Now I know what neuropathy is and that it can be cured !!:bighug:
 
I gave zobaline 1 pill twice a day. 1 in each main meal which was shot time. When he (Smokey) got better I gave 1 a day.

It might take time to see improvement. It took about 2 weeks with Smokey, slight improvement at first, but he wasn't to bad. Not walking on hocks but weak and wobbly back legs. Stumbled a lot.
 
I see two blues so far, 13th PM and 15th AM cycles. However, tonight is the 11th consecutive cycle on this dose. And given that all you have seen is higher blues, I think can increase safely any time, especially if you can get any mid day tests and are now followig TR. No need to wait until Monday.

Once kitties get to six units and are on a low carb diet, we suggest they get testing done for what we’ve been calling high dose conditions, even though not all cats with these conditions have high doses. Rather, once kitty gets to six units, the chances are good one of the secondary conditions is present. Acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies) are the first we suggest testing for, as the blood for both tests goes to the same place. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, so it’s not uncommon. If a high dose condition is present, you especially don’t want to sit on a dose too long if it’s not giving you the numbers you want (green).
 
I see two blues so far, 13th PM and 15th AM cycles. However, tonight is the 11th consecutive cycle on this dose. And given that all you have seen is higher blues, I think can increase safely any time, especially if you can get any mid day tests and are now followig TR. No need to wait until Monday.

Once kitties get to six units and are on a low carb diet, we suggest they get testing done for what we’ve been calling high dose conditions, even though not all cats with these conditions have high doses. Rather, once kitty gets to six units, the chances are good one of the secondary conditions is present. Acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies) are the first we suggest testing for, as the blood for both tests goes to the same place. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, so it’s not uncommon. If a high dose condition is present, you especially don’t want to sit on a dose too long if it’s not giving you the numbers you want (green).
Thanks Wendy, I missed the PM blue on the 13th.
 
Back
Top