1/19 Kitten AMPS 364, +8 230; PMPS 192 = now what???

Status
Not open for further replies.

LILandKIT

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

So good news and bad news.

Bad news: I remembered that I had a meeting with a parent after school so I decided to bump my waking up at 1am to see what is going to tonight - when i dont care too much if I'm tired on Friday. I knew I could check tonight and tomorrow night to get that info. So now I'm TOTALLY regretting it b/c without that info, i'm sooooo confused.

It seems like Kit's PMPS number is always so much lower than his AMPS. To me it seems like a significant decrease, but being new, I could be wrong.

Good news: Saw blue for the first time! Not sure why or how being that he was at 364 this morning (hence the above confusion) His PMPS was 192....so what do I do? Hold off feeding and test in 20 min? or did I read that for something else?

See this is why I shouldn't let sleep dictate my schedule....b/c yesterday wouldve been a good day to figure out what is going on at night. :(
 
Well that depends on how gutsy you feel..He is close enough to go ahead and shoot, his full dose if you are going to be up and able to test him, to make sure he doesn't start going too low. Or you can stall 30 minutes and test again to see if he is now over 200 and in a number you feel safer to shoot. Personally right now I would stall and retest to see if he is rising or falling. If rising then go ahead and shoot. You don't quite have enough data on how he is going to do at night just yet..IMHO And yes, a lot of cats go lower at night and then have a higher amps. That 364 this morning was probably a bounce. Remember they can bounce on any number in the beginning. Their bodies have forgotten what normal feels like and the liver can think that even 200s & 300s are normal so they get use to 400s being normal, and you add insulin, the liver freaks out and sends out counterreglatory hormones and stored sugars even when they have really only come down into the 200s.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Thanks so much Mel for the quick response!! :)

Its been 30 min so I'm going to go and test again, and no matter what force myself to get up and see what's going on.

Thanks also for easing my nerves with those higher AMPS....I hope that one day I'll be able to be a bit calmer with everything.
 
You will be, just like learning to give shots and draw blood from the ear, it takes time...Heck, Musette is my second adopted diabetic and it has taken me nearly 7 months not to freak out on the highs and lows. Maxwell spoiled me, he was too easy to get off the juice.. :lol: Musette is making me have to put into practice what my brain already knows, but the momma tiger instinct freaked out when she looks like she is going too low or too high for awhile.. :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
A higher AMPS than PMPS may be due to the dawn phenomenon. It occurs in non-diabetics as well as diabetics but, obviously, at a different scale. No one actually knows what the exact cause of the phenomenon is, but many believe that it is increases in the hormones cortisol, glucagon and epinephrine, that causes increases in insulin resistance. Of course, it can be attributable to other things as well and may not be dawn phenomenon. Your kitty may just be bouncing.

Typically as kitty becomes regulated, the last number we see to consistently come down is the AMPS.
 
Re: 1/19 Kitten AMPS 364, +8 230; PMPS 196

But Musette is just so cute that you can't help but enjoy every minute of her dance lol....I loved reading about all your little furballs...it's so sweet just how big of a heart you have for all of them.

I tested 30 min later and got 196 - so not much difference. Made a decision to give 1.25 - maybe psychologically we think that may make a difference, even though I know that changing doses may not be the best idea due to not having more info. I really didn't want to until the weekend when I can do more testing, but I think since this was my first time having blue at night....ahhh! Ok...calm down...lol. Have the alarm set - will test +3 and +6 and no ifs, ands, or buts.

Thanks Margorie! I actually was googling different reasons and that one kept coming up, but I was a little confused on what it meant (or if it actually existed on not something that the random website was telling me). I guess I just have to keep seeing where things go and get more mid-cycle testing. I look forward to the weekend to get that in.
 
Its a good thing she is as cute as she is, because between her trying to get me to dance the cha-cha with her and her tortie-tude when her numbers are high..not sure I would enjoy dancing with her as much as I do..lol. She can be a real brat...but she is so darn cute you can't stay mad at her for being a brat..hehe.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
When they look at you with those eyes saying, "you know you love me...and that I'm the cutest thing ever..." lol. So funny how they know who is boss!

So here I am, awake at 1:30am, wondering why he's at 302?

That +3 at 158 made me a little nervous b/c it was my first time going into the single digits (8.8 on the Canadian scale)...is this what is known as a "bouncy cat"?

At least this falls in line with the higher AMPSs...hmmm...
 
Yep he is very likely bouncing because if you think that first time in single digits made you nervous it probably did the same thing to his liver...much like Musette this morning as she came in at 368 but I almost expected it with that long string of stellar numbers yesterday. Even if they don't go into dangerously low number there are still lower numbers than what their body's now think as normal, so it panics.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Oh, Boy...I missed all the excitement yesterday, LIL! Love those blues for Kitten.

"Yep he is very likely bouncing because if you think that first time in single digits made you nervous it probably did the same thing to his liver..." -- I like how Mel put that, LIL. Most of us got nervous when we saw those lower numbers for the first time, but it's those lower numbers that we want to see for our kitties. And working through bounces is part of the process. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear, differs by cat (ECID) and can lessen over time. Once Kitten's bounce clears, LIL, you'll be able to see how the 1.50U dose is working.

Cool blues!

Eva
 
This cat definitely has me on my toes lol. Yesterday before I tested his PMPS, I lectured him saying, "now bring those BG levels down, because blah blah blah..." and then blue! lol. Then I regretted the lecture because I was nervous with the single digits. At least he's making life interesting!

It helps to hear you guys speaking of bounces, etc. I think its because he went really long without being diagnosed. We noticed the peeing out of the litter box in August and blamed it on him being mad at us that we left for 3 weeks....but the thirst and the flooding the litter box was happening much before then. So I'm thinking that his body is definitely used to the high numbers and its going to take a while before the liver-freak-out will ease....

One day at a time :)
 
Sounds like Kitten has a history about like Musette and that is one of the reasons she is such a bouncy girl. Musette wasn't even dxed until March when she finally went into DKA, then her first owners only treated her when they decided too, they left her on her 46% carb dry food, only gave her insulin every now and then, and tossed her outside front declawed. Then in June when it looked like she was about to go into DKA again they finally got an ultimatium from their vet of either treat her correctly and consistently or put her down. She was one sick little lady when DCIN pulled her from death row and put her in foster care because she couldn't even be transported to me for almost a month because she was so ill. She had to be completely shaved, she was so matted that it was hurting her, she had neuropathy and was extremely wobbly in the back end...So her foster daddy got her stable on her feet and well enough to travel and then I got her late June of this year.

So like Kitten her little body just started to believe that 400-500 was normal, at first she would bounce sky high on even 300s now it takes at least 100s to make her bounce, eventually both of their livers will figure out what normal feels like again and settle down. Around here we affectionately call it liver training...lol. And apparently Musette's liver is a slow learner..hehe.

What I notice when I go back and look at Musette is that while she still bounces she doesn't go as high anymore and those bounces start clearing faster, plus before she would act like she didn't feel good in normal or lower numbers...but she acted happier in the high numbers, now that has reversed, she acts unhappy in the higher numbers but is happier and sweeter in the lower numbers..So her body is learning it is just taking awhile. They didn't become diabetics overnight and they aren't going to figure out how to be normal again overnight either as much as we would like them to. The best advice I got starting out is that not only did I need to remember to breathe, is that this isn't a sprint, it is a marathon.

Now see with Maxwell he was just recently dxed as a diabetic when I got him and other than extreme weight loss he didn't have a lot of symptoms of being diabetic yet so his was caught fairly quickly which is why he spoiled me so badly about being so easy to get off the juice..lol. His mommy loved him dearly and took very good care of him and got him to a vet early in the disease, but she herself was sick and couldn't care for him which is why he was scheduled to be put to sleep before I adopted him. She had dementia and was going into a nursing home...She and I still keep in touch and I send her cards and pictures of him...poor little Musette's first family could care less what has happened to her. :cry:

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
"The best advice I got starting out is that not only did I need to remember to breathe, is that this isn't a sprint, it is a marathon." --- I should print that out and post it around my house. And then I need to stick it in my brain lol.

I'm sure Max's first mommy is so happy to receive those pictures! I can't believe about Musette though...how can ppl do that? Makes me soooo angry and sad. But I think about the fact that she's doing so much better with a loving family who treats her like a princess.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top