1/19 Emma recap +11 66 +12 73 +14 53 +15.75 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristen & Emma (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hi all!

So, great news over here - we've definitely made a breakthrough with Emma's numbers. It seems to have happened right before I left for vacation (of course!), but I skipped a few shots, and cut her dose in half (to 7.0U) so she would be safe while I was away. When I got home on Sunday night she was safely in the yellows, and climbed into the pinks (her usual MO) within a couple of hours. Monday morning I put her up to 9 units, and all was going ok...I just got home at her +10.5 and got a 59! she had eaten everything I left for her, which was a huge amount of food, and was frantic for more, so I just gave her some LC. She's eating like she hasn't eaten in weeks. Any thoughts on what I should do for tonight? I can delay for a while, but I run into a problem in the AM because I have to leave about 30 minutes after the time I've been shooting her right now. I can make her shots earlier - that's not a problem - but it's an issue for right now.

Any input would be appreciated! Hope everyone is doing well!
 
Re: 1/19 Emma Good news! We broke through the IAA resistanc

So, here's the problem. You just fed within 2 hours of shot time. You don't know if Emma's numbers were heading up or down. If you test now, you'll get a food spike. Based on the data you have Emma didn't earn a dose reduction.

That said, I don't have a great deal of experience with IAA. Let me see if I can round up someone who does.
 
Re: 1/19 Emma Good news! We broke through the IAA resistanc

No advice, just a Big WHOOO HOOOO for Emma!!! That is unbelieveable news!!! Very happy for you... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/19 Emma Good news! We broke through the IAA resistanc

Thanks ladies! I do know I caused a problem feeding her, but she was so upset I couldn't not do it. I've never seen her so frantic before. Based on the amount of food she ate today, and how crazy she was when I got home, I'm thinking she got pretty low, but obviously I don't know for sure.

The other thing I should mention is it looks like she had some pudding-poo today, which is not at all the norm for her. She's usually constipated. I'm saying it "looks like" it, because this bean apparently forgot to put the baby gate back in front of the door to the bathroom where her box is, and some other four legged creature decided it was a good snack to have...on the living room carpet. :evil:
 
Re: 1/19 Emma Good news! We broke through the IAA resistanc

We're just about at her shot time now, so I have about 30 minutes if I'm going to do something tonight. I'm not opposed to skipping tonight's shot if that is the safest thing to do!
 
Re: 1/19 Emma Good news! We broke through the IAA resistanc

Kristen, I have no experience with IAA, so I'm not much help. I see you have limited time to decide on shooting or not, you really can't stall for long since you only have a 30 minute window before you run into a schedule problem. I would get another test at +12 and post it, hopefully we will get some experienced eyes to help you soon. Maybe you could put all your late cycle tests in the header or do a recap..that would help.

Congrats on the breakthrough!
 
Re: 1/19 Emma recap +11 66 +11.5 77 +12 73 skipping shot

Thanks Laurie! I think right now I'm going to be most comfortable if I skip tonight's shot. Her +12 was 73, and I only have a few more minutes to shoot if I'm going to do it tonight. If anyone has thoughts on tomorrow's dose, those would be appreciated! Right now I'm thinking 8.5, but perhaps I should drop it to 8 to be safe? I can't be here during her AM cycle at all until about +10. I can be here for all the PM cycles for the next week or so.
 
Re: 1/19 Emma recap +11 66 +11.5 77 +12 73 skipping shot

wow!

I love seeing this happen. There's not much that is more exciting than watching an IAA kitty run down the dosing ladder. Stock up on coffee in case it gets wild!

Skipping tonight's shot won't be a bad thing. That will empty her shed a little and you can see where she is in the morning. A before bed test wouldn't hurt, because that can help you see approximately when the last dose is wearing off (and can hopefully give a clue as to whether she is over dose and if so, how much).

Has anyone given you the link to Sandy/Black Kitty's spreadsheet? http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... P-SWuUD1Ew

BK is probably our best documented IAA kitty to date.
 
Re: 1/19 Emma recap +11 66 +11.5 77 +12 73 skipping shot

Thanks Libby! Yes, I did see Black Kitty's spreadsheet the other day - it's pretty cool to see those doses come down. But scary too! I think she was safe at 7 U while I was gone. I had told the petsitter to feed her as much as she wants (Emma won't let anyone else test her), so she always had plenty of food, and she was definitely high enough when I got home and tested her shortly after her shot time on Sunday night. I'm just shocked that this is happening at 9 units now, when she was up to 14 before I left!

She's calmed down now that she's been able to eat more. She's currently snuggled up next to me on the couch purring. She's usually pretty independent and keeps her distance, so I know she's feeling pretty good right now.
 
Re: 1/19 Emma recap +11 66 +11.5 77 +12 73 skipping shot

What an exciting night for you - wow - and will you look at Emma! SO very very nice. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Welcome back BTW - we have missed you.

Emma - You're back!! Hey - we have a full moon party tonight if you want to come - it's at camp stu. I can give you a ride if you want - we are all traveling in the tour bus. See you, I hope!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/19 Emma recap +11 66 +11.5 77 +12 73 skipping shot

thanks Michelle!

Just got a +14 - she's down to 53, after eating again at +12.5. I'm very glad I didn't shoot tonight!
 
Re: 1/19 Emma recap +11 66 +12 73 +14 53

Kristen, do you know if Emma eats normally when you are not home? I'm curious whether she might have been running lower while you were gone too. It bears watching to see if she continues this trend. If so, you might need to consider reducing her dose in larger increments.
 
Re: 1/19 Emma recap +11 66 +12 73 +14 53

My petsitter said she was eating well in her updates to me. I asked her to let me know if anything seemed out of the ordinary, and she didn't say that she was ravenous or anything. The night I arrived home she had already had her evening shot, and I got a +1 that was 267, and a +3.5 of 340. I also skipped 3 shots before the petsitter started giving her 7U BID.

Given how low she still is right now, I'm a little nervous about tomorrow's shot. I'm wondering if even 8 is going to be too high. I wish I could be home during the day!
 
Re: 1/19 Emma recap +11 66 +12 73 +14 53

Hi, Kristen & Emma!!!

and can we just say... CONGRATULATIONS, GUYS!!
great news!

celi & binks
 
Thanks Celi & Binks!

I'm getting ready to head to bed - the girl is up a bit to 92. I'm concerned about her dose for the morning, especially since there's no way I can make it home during the day to check on her. I'll see where she's at in the AM and make a decision then.

Thanks for all the support everyone! I know I haven't been around much lately, and I think I'm being forced to change that now! I'll work on lightening up my calendar. It would be great if I could get healthy too...I've been sick on and off since Thanksgiving. I got some abs today for my bronchitis, so I'm hoping those do the trick. But as my dr. reminded me, I need to make some time to rest and recover. I'll try!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top