1/19 Do Daa. AMPS 470, +3 247,+4 167...

Goose

Member Since 2019
Hi All,

Just Started Lantus this morning for Do Daa @ 3.75u. SS is Updated as of +8.

Was, just yesterday, finishing off the Prozinc bottle.

AMPS 470, +3 247, +4 167, +5 146, +6 107, +7, 88, +8, 98

His latest number @amps +7 is 88. +8, 98
I'm going to assume that he'll slowly go up but what to do if not above 150 @ pmps, that would be a no shot, correct?
 
Last edited:
Hi! Welcome to LBL World :bighug:

Here's your last post for continuity - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/so-with-the-slgs-method.241413/

Looks like you were thinking of following SLGS? If so, can you add it to the top of your SS and to your signature? The dosing method is key to advice and listing it in your SS and signature will stop people from asking you 1,000 times :p Also, assuming you are following SLGS, DaDa earned a reduction with that 88. Your new dose is 3.5. (Note if you are following TR, then a reduction has not been earned).

For your SS, can you insert a line in between yesterday and today so it's clear it's different insulin? I do see the notes in the comments but it would be nice to see it as one is scrolling.

His latest number @amps +7 is 88.
I'm going to assume that he'll slowly go up but what to do if not above 150 @ pmps, that would be a no shot, correct?
Great job testing today - if you get a lower PMPS than you are comfortable shooting, don't feed, post for advice, and grab a second test 20 minutes after the first. 150 is listed in SLGS as a no-shoot number until the caregiver has data on their kitty.

Looks like @Marje and Gracie stopped by before. Perhaps she can offer some advice to you starting out with Lantus. Or maybe @Wendy&Neko or @tiffmaxee can stop by when the log on.
 
With SLGS, a number under 90 like you got today, means a dose reduction is earned. Some cats have a stronger first cycle on Lantus, hence the suggestion for a few more tests the first couple cycle. But the numbers will only get better as the depot builds, so you should take that reduction.

As Suzanne suggested, post for help on what to do at PMPS. You could even get a +11 or +11.5, so you have time to get a response.
 
With SLGS, a number under 90 like you got today, means a dose reduction is earned. Some cats have a stronger first cycle on Lantus, hence the suggestion for a few more tests the first couple cycle. But the numbers will only get better as the depot builds, so you should take that reduction.

As Suzanne suggested, post for help on what to do at PMPS. You could even get a +11 or +11.5, so you have time to get a response.

Hi!
So he should have a reduction to 3.5u starting tonight then, correct?

I don't know how to do this:
"For your SS, can you insert a line in between yesterday and today so it's clear it's different insulin? I do see the notes in the comments but it would be nice to see it as one is scrolling." Posted above.
 
So he should have a reduction to 3.5u starting tonight then, correct?
yes that's your new dose :bighug: Like some of us have suggested, you may want to post for help at PMPS. Getting a +11.5 is a good idea like Wendy said - I used to grab that test for Jax as I didn't like surprises at PMPS :p
 
yes that's your new dose :bighug: Like some of us have suggested, you may want to post for help at PMPS. Getting a +11.5 is a good idea like Wendy said - I used to grab that test for Jax as I didn't like surprises at PMPS :p

Hey, any Reduction is a good Reduction!

SS Updated.
His +11 was @ 167.

Question for anyone who reads this: When he was shot with the Lantus this morning, he actively flinched as if it hurt him. Is that normal? The Lantus was cold because it wasn't left out for a bit to warm up...
 
Last edited:
Hey, any Reduction is a good Reduction!

SS Updated.
His +11 was @ 167.

Question for anyone who reads this: When he was shot with the Lantus this morning, he actively flinched as if it hurt him. Is that normal? The Lantus was cold because it wasn't left out for a bit to warm up...
Lantus stings some cats at higher doses. Some it does not...ECID. It stung Gracie when we got up around 1.25u and is one reason I switched to Levemir but there are other cats that even 5-6u doesn’t bother.

Good luck with the reduction. Welcome to LBL land and I hope Lantus works great for Daa. SS is all fixed.
 
Lantus stings some cats at higher doses. Some it does not...ECID. It stung Gracie when we got up around 1.25u and is one reason I switched to Levemir but there are other cats that even 5-6u doesn’t bother.

Good luck with the reduction. Welcome to LBL land and I hope Lantus works great for Daa. SS is all fixed.

SS Updated. @pmps 181 and we shot the new dose of 3.5u.

He didn't seem to react at all at pmps. We left the Lantus out to warm up about 15 minutes this time.

Thank you for the Welcome and the Big Red Line on the SS. :)
 
SS Updated. @pmps 181 and we shot the new dose of 3.5u.

He didn't seem to react at all at pmps. We left the Lantus out to warm up about 15 minutes this time.

Thank you for the Welcome and the Big Red Line on the SS. :)
You’re welcome and feel free to change the color if you want.

It’s not advisable to let the Lantus sit out and warm up. Great job today!
 
Back
Top