1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203 +6 258 +8.5 342 PMPS 370 +2 327

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Clear that bounce Cobb! Good AMPS after that yucky red from yesterday!!

Cobb continues to feel well. He's coming downstairs - even with guests in the house. My parents said they hadn't seen Cobb in months, and his coat looks so much better. I guess preening is helpful with that! :lol: All other P's are in place. Appetites is good!

Hope everyone has a great Sunday!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210

That's a nice start for Cobb! And how great to hear that he looks and feels better, good job! I hope you have a great Sunday :-D
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210

Yay for yellow! On to blue? I'm sure the preening helps but I wonder if better absorption of nutrients is part of the better coat.
Liz
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210

Anne & Zener said:
Yay for yellow! On to blue? I'm sure the preening helps but I wonder if better absorption of nutrients is part of the better coat.
Liz

I didn't consider that. A month ago his fur was matted and very rough to touch (if that makes sense). No more mattes and it's incredibly soft. Still some dandruff-like flaking but we're working on that.
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203

Ahhh. . .back in the sunshine here :cool:

Glad you all had a restful, poke free night,

Third cycle at 10.5u . . .Come on Cobb, work that juice ! ! !
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203

Hey youse!

I'm so happy for Cobb! fantastic work by all!

It IS a sunny Sunday!

Cheerio!
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203 +6 258 +8.5 342 PMPS 370

I don't understand days like today where it looks like he clears a bounce and then progressively climbs. Has the bounce not cleared?

Tonight is the 4th cycle on 10.5. At 10units, we saw a drop in the 3rd/4th cycles and did t see any green until the 8th cycle. I'm in a patient mood right now, so I'd be okay holding this through 6-8 cycles if that's what everyone thinks is the right thing to do. Let me know...
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203 +6 258 +8.5 342 PMPS 370 +2 32

One of Cobb's older posts got bumped up so I wanted to make sure everyone saw this particular cycle.

Do you think Cobb is still bouncing off what we've assumed is an unknown low number that resulted in yesterday's 440 and oy give it a little more time to break?
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203 +6 258 +8.5 342 PMPS 370 +2 32

i'm sorry Suzanne. i can see why things are confusing and you feel like there is some conflicting information out there. That's because there is. You are getting caught in a recurrent issue around having a high dose kitty. It happens regularly.

I don't have a pat explanation for what is going on with Cobb's numbers yesterday and today. honestly, I'm not sure. I would've said yesterday was a bounce from the night before. Today's cycle - i don't know.

But i think i would give it 2 more cycles at this dose (total of 6) and then assess what it looks like then. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203 +6 258 +8.5 342 PMPS 370 +2 32

The reason you see the odd `better number` is resistance...... you are seeing the tug of war in the resistance, and there is no need whatsoever to hold a dose longer than 6 shots.... any longer and you are inviting the resistance in.

As I stated, once you hit 10u as a dose, and you are not making headway with regular numbers in the 200s or lower, your increases should be 1u. If you look at the percentage of increases, going from 1u to 1.5u is a much bigger increase than going from 10u to 10.5u... an increase that is miniscule and does little to hold back any resistance.

The longer you stay in the higher numbers, the more wear and tear on your cat`s organs.
In order for you to realize possible better numbers would be for you to be using R to pull down those high numbers. In case you have not been told already, Lantus and Lev work much better when in lower numbers.
If you had given R on the morn of 1/14 to the 527, you would not have had most of the am cycle in the 400s.

Gayle
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203 +6 258 +8.5 342 PMPS 370 +2 32

Hi there :cool:

A bounce may not always be one trip straight up with another right back down.
Bounces can also be 3 steps up, 2 steps down, one step back up, one more step up, then back down. . . What you can count on is that they will always make you crazy :cool:
cobbsmom said:
I'm in a patient mood right now, so I'd be okay holding this through 6-8 cycles if that's what everyone thinks is the right thing to do. Let me know...
I 'm inclined to say see how this PM cycle plays out. It may provide the answer to your bounce question and make your decision around whether to increase or hold easier.

Another thing that will help you when making dosing decisions is a diagnosis to confirm why Cobb is a big gulper.
With increased doses of insulin come increased risks, risks that could put your kitty in danger.

With test results in hand you will be able to fine tune your approach with confidence that you are on the right path rather than barking up the wrong tree.

Please seriously consider taking action and moving forward with the testing.
It is a blind spot in the picture that needs illumination.
It's time Suzanne
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203 +6 258 +8.5 342 PMPS 370 +2 32

Blue said:
The reason you see the odd `better number` is resistance...... you are seeing the tug of war in the resistance, and there is no need whatsoever to hold a dose longer than 6 shots.... any longer and you are inviting the resistance in.
This night be true. However, had I continued climbing with the increase there may not be any green on Cobb's spreadsheet. There may be more, who knows? But you can see this was the first dose since 4 units that was held for longer than 4 cycles. And there was reasoning behind it that is not explained on the spreadsheet.

Blue said:
As I stated, once you hit 10u as a dose, and you are not making headway with regular numbers in the 200s or lower, your increases should be 1u. If you look at the percentage of increases, going from 1u to 1.5u is a much bigger increase than going from 10u to 10.5u... an increase that is miniscule and does little to hold back any resistance.
Yes, you stated that last night. In fact, there was a good amount of discussion about when and how much to raise the dose. That discussion is not noted in the spreadsheet

Blue said:
The longer you stay in the higher numbers, the more wear and tear on your cat`s organs.
In order for you to realize possible better numbers would be for you to be using R to pull down those high numbers. In case you have not been told already, Lantus and Lev work much better when in lower numbers.
If you had given R on the morn of 1/14 to the 527, you would not have had most of the am cycle in the 400s.
Yes, the people who have been here, advising me since day 1 have said Lantus works better in lower numbers. I also have done a great deal of research as well. R has been discussed for Cobb. In fact, a lengthy discussion when two other users started it with their cats. We have not used R on Cobb because he started to come down quickly in the few days before I was going to buy it and we all felt it was best to hold off. It is also my understanding that there are certain situations in which to use R. A caregiver must also be around for the first 5 hours to test the cat, especially the first time. Not everyone has flexibility in their schedule to do that. The high number was not necessarily resistance related that morning, instead it was directly related to a skipped shot. Yes, the high numbers are dangerous but so are the incredibly low ones. Given that Cobb dropped into the 60s on this past dose, adding R into the equation at the preshots could have been disasterous, as well as deadly, if I was not around to closely watch him. One cannot just routinely add an insulin like R into the equation without being here to observe their day's response and, over time, know it is safe to leave them alone. That is just as unsafe as shooting without testing first, if not more.
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203 +6 258 +8.5 342 PMPS 370 +2 32

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Please seriously consider taking action and moving forward with the testing.
It is a blind spot in the picture that needs illumination.
It's time Suzanne
Hi Sandy,
We are going to have the testing done. It is not going to be immediate. We are going to have everything done, blood drawn, etc at Cobb's annual visit, which is due in about a month. We cannot swing it before that, especially given that a new vet will require an annual visit exam and work up before doing the blood draw anyway. I hope to have the puzzle piece in place soon.

Tell me...what would we be doing differently if you had a diagnosis in hand? Increase his doses more quickly?
 
Re: 1/19 Cobb AMPS 210 +4 203 +6 258 +8.5 342 PMPS 370 +2 32

I'm glad to hear testing for IAA and ACRO is on the horizon. :cool:
Not to mention the general 'once over'. Fingers crossed Cobb and you 'click with the new vet.
cobbsmom said:
Tell me...what would we be doing differently if you had a diagnosis in hand? Increase his doses more quickly?
I do not have first hand experience with Acro however I do know of one very important difference between an IAA kitty and an Acro kitty.
An IAA diabetic kittys pancreas have been damaged and can't provide insulin enough to meet the kittys metabolic needs, same as a non IAA diabetic kitty.
So, we make up the difference by injecting insulin. If the numbers go too low, we whip out the food and guide the cycle to safety.

A kitty with Acro needs insulin because of a tumor (pituitary I believe) that is secreting a hormone that somehow interferes, preventing insulin from being used for proper metabolism of sugars. The pancreas are fine - functioning and producing insulin - however the insulin getting highjacked somehow by the hormone. Additionally the hormone production waxes and wanes. Attempting to feed low numbers can be tricky because a functioning pancreas will react to food by - producing insulin.

That's my extremely layperson limited knowledge explanation of basic differences between the two conditions. Wendy and Julie can further elaborate since they both have first hand experience with Acro. Have a look at Neko and Punkins ss then compare to BKs.

Speaking of testing, BK is due for blood work in a few weeks and has and appointment sometime in February. When I made the appointment I requested he be re-tested for IAA. I have a feeling the result will be the same. One way to find out :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top