1/19 Bubba amps 356+2 347 +5 287+ 8 313 still wont eat!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: is half a can of ff enough for shot? shot is due

Are you going to be home today? How much does he normally eat?
I read the remarks in your ss. Is he acting lethargic, or going to his bowl and then licking his lips and walking away?
Have you tested him for ketones?

Sorry for all the questions.
 
Re: is half a can of ff enough for shot? shot is due

Called vet, has emergency surgery so I have to call back at 9
I'm home with him yes, I decreased the dose this morning
To 1.25. Glucose was at 358.
No licking of lips, no wet stool yet.
Drinking , normally eats 1 can of ff before shot.
Got about a little over a half in him so far.
Does not feel warm to touch .
 
Re: is half a can of ff enough for shot? shot is due

Did two different ketone test this morning
One looks neg, the other trace!
One from relion, the other called ketones care.
He needs my vet to look at him.
Going to work on more food.
 
Re: is half a can of ff enough for shot? shot is due

I would not have reduced his dose with his slight history of ketones and him being a little "off", but don't try to give him more now. Try to get a ketone test, and call your vet when they open. I'm surprised they were open to take your call this early.
 
Re: is half a can of ff enough for shot? shot is due

He gets there between 630am - 7 am M- Sunday.
I didn't know if I should go down or not, he didn't have a good night
And l wasn't sure. I'm learning everyday.
 
Re: is half a can of ff enough for shot? shot is due

chubbabubba said:
He gets there between 630am - 7 am M- Sunday.
I didn't know if I should go down or not, he didn't have a good night
And l wasn't sure. I'm learning everyday.
I understand.

I just read your condo from last night.
I asked about the going to the food and then sniffing or licking the lips and then turning away as that could be a sign of pancreatitis. My vet charges me $86 for the Spec fPL and the results came back the next day, so I guess they use a local IDEXX lab. I didn't know there were local IDEXX labs until reading your condo from yesterday, but it makes sense. I am always amazed at how fast they get the results back for blood tests.
You could call around to different vets and ask them how much they charge for the test.
(For instance, my regular vet didn't have blood pressure testing equipment, so I called around and found a vet that did, to get J.D. tested). Even if you have to pay a office call of $50, that + the $86 Spec fPL would only be $136 or so, which is less than what your vet told you it costs.

Sending good vet visit vines. I hope they find the problem and you get the medicine or whatever to help him feel himself again real soon.
 
Re: is half a can of ff enough for shot? shot is due

Thanks Dyana,

The vet can't see Bubba until 830 am tomorrow.!
I guess the am surgery put him behind?
I have a call into him.

Bubba ate about 1/4 another can of ff and two teaspoons baby food
Turkey and turkey broth only in it.
He drank a little and is now resting.
He is more alert than yesterday.
Going to let him rest and wake him at noon or so to test and eat.
Honestly, at this pt I don't care how much that test is at my Dr
I'm doing it. I called a few vets and some won't even quote a priceo
Saying " that may not be what he needs" we are not allowed to give prices


Over the phone?? Wth! I was exhausted and didn't have the patience to argue why I needed that test or why I needed the price. Tomorrow it is. Other then iv, any other safe ways to get fluids in him?
Wish they made a Gatoraid type drink for diabetic cats!!
 
Re: is half a can of ff enough for shot? shot is due

I'm sorry that you have to wait until tomorrow for an appointment.

Other then iv, any other safe ways to get fluids in him?
You can add extra water to his food, and you can give him a little water via syringe into the side of his mouth every hour or two.
 
Re: is half a can of ff enough for shot? shot is due

Thank you so much for the support today Dyana!
Really. Pretty close to loosing it today!
Quick update, hoping you'll read this as I don't want to start a new thread.

Bubbas # today

Amps 358
+2 347
+5 287
More to come. Since I always wait last minute let me ask, if I get another
Half can in him before his 7 pm shot (est)
Do you feel that is enough food to give shot?
Condition as of 130 pm

Drinking ok. ( may be a bit much) he was playing in the water fountain
Sticking his paw in and then licking paws and drinking.
( could someone say poor manners Bubba)

Eating- a few nibbles, actually got up a few times without my harassment!
Ate about another teaspoon of baby food.
Poop- not watery, solid , with shape - foul smelling!

Strange he is going around smelling everything?

Ok so after that ramble--- I know he needs his shot, ketones and all so is there any time other then low numbers I shouldn't shoot? My goal is to get at least 1/2 can or more into him.

I think Bubba needs more fluids, last time they injected fluid under his skin
Created these two bumps by his backside and they said its slowly released into system?
Anyone hear of that? Any fluids are better then none but?
 
Re: is half a can of ff enough for shot? shot is due

chubbabubba said:
Thank you so much for the support today Dyana!
Really. Pretty close to loosing it today!
Quick update, hoping you'll read this as I don't want to start a new thread.

Bubbas # today

Amps 358
+2 347
+5 287
More to come. Since I always wait last minute let me ask, if I get another
Half can in him before his 7 pm shot (est)
Do you feel that is enough food to give shot?
Condition as of 130 pm

Drinking ok. ( may be a bit much) he was playing in the water fountain
Sticking his paw in and then licking paws and drinking.
( could someone say poor manners Bubba)

Eating- a few nibbles, actually got up a few times without my harassment!
Ate about another teaspoon of baby food.
Poop- not watery, solid , with shape - foul smelling!

Strange he is going around smelling everything?

Ok so after that ramble--- I know he needs his shot, ketones and all so is there any time other then low numbers I shouldn't shoot? My goal is to get at least 1/2 can or more into him.

I think Bubba needs more fluids, last time they injected fluid under his skin
Created these two bumps by his backside and they said its slowly released into system?
Anyone hear of that? Any fluids are better then none but?

If your cat needs fluids, just get a kit from the vet and give them yourself at home. If the cat is very dehydrated, that 'bump' will disappear quickly. Many people need to give their cats fluids regularly, so you would have plenty of help around here.

If you give too little insulin and your cat is prone to ketones, you are asking for trouble. You need to decide on a no-shoot BG number, or just retest until you get a rising number that is safe, then shoot late.

Having to have food in the cat to shoot is not something that's important with the newer insulins; most people test and then give the cat a shot while that cat is eating. Maybe your cat just wasn't hungry at that time, but may eat later. You want a cat who will self-regulate by eating when needed.
 
Re: is half a can of ff enough for shot? shot is due

Can you update your ss please? Have you done a ketone test?
Also, if you don't mind, can you please change the Subject Line in your first post to show the BG numbers for today? :razz: It helps us to help you.

My cat's food intake tends to vary. The onset of Lantus is not until around +2, usually, so you have time to get food into him before the latest dose starts to affect his numbers.

Please let me know if I missed some of your questions, I was off the board for awhile.
 
Re: 1/19 Bubba amps 356+2 347 +5 287+ 8 313

Yes, did one in the am. Two actually, one looked neg other trace.
I'm responding from my phone, so as soon as I'm able to get to computer
I will update ss.
 
Re: 1/19 Bubba amps 356+2 347 +5 287+ 8 313

Thanks for updating the subject line.
Please get another ketone test when you can, and let us know what it says.
I always write the date on the box when I use the first strip. The ReliOn Ketone Test Strips I use say to "use within 6 months after first opening".

How's the eating going?
 
What is his BG?
Did you get another ketone test?
If ketones are an issue, he needs insulin and he needs food. Can you assist feed him with a syringe if necessary?
 
How about trying some higher carb food. I realize it may be counterintuitive given that Bubba's numbers are pink but, you've got to get food in him.

Do you happen to have any Pepsid AC at home? If so, try giving him 1/4 of a 10mg tablet. If this is pancreatitis, it may help.
 
Pepsid AC (or generic famotidine). They are 10 mg tablets. You don't want any of the other types of Pepsid.

Have you been able to get another ketone test?
 
Going to ER. I have 750. Hoping they could tell me something for that.
I'm heart broken. Please good vibes, prayers thoughts
 
it sounds like Bubba has eaten a good bit today, what is making you so worried? Just asking because we can't see Bubba, but you are obviously seeing something that is worrying you.

eta: just saw that you are headed to the vet. Sending good vibes your way.
 
They are checking his urine, blood and pancrease
The vet seems knowledgeable and has a diabetic cat of her own.
They have to go slow with fluids as Bubba has a heart murmur.
How I forgot that from last time?!
His glucose was at 376 .
Will update later. I'm just glad he is getting looked at.
No temp.
 
Buprenorphine is one of the best pain meds. It might also be called buprenex. It has a wide dosing range and has little side effects if you don't start on the upper end of the range.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top