1/18Ravan/amps176/+5 305/pmps437/+5 173/+8 55/+10 58/

JoyBee&Ravan

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-17ravan-amps94-2-147-7-205-pmps317-5-157-7-121.209550/

Cheshire.gif
caring.jpg
 
Weruva Cat food & many others contain Xanthan Gum Here's some info I just discovered :

Pet Food Ingredients to Avoid: Xanthan Gum
Xanthan gum is a laboratory creation. It is a product:
– fermented on potential allergens
– fermented on corn or soy GMO concerns exist
– cannot be manufactured without the use of toxic carcinogens

Cats with inflammatory bowel disease should not be eating xanthan gum.Digestive issues rank as one of the top reasons for a vet visit, it’s a good bet no cat should be eating this.

It's difficult to find something my Ravan will eat now Weruva is off my list ! I guess a raw meat diet is what's best for any cat.
 
home made cooked?

Cats are meant to eat raw meat, They are "Obligate carnivores" From what I've researched cooked meat is not as good for them. ( in all these years I've never had a problem with Raw )
He did just fine on his raw diet for over 15 yrs, The strange thing is he went totally off raw a few months before he was diagnosed with Diabetes.
I've tried cooked occasionally but Ravan prefers Raw. When he goes off his regular raw diet I try "anything"

In the beginning when he wouldn't eat his raw meat it was suggested I try Fancy Feast. I was not willing to do that. I felt it was Garbage food. But after trying everything I finally offered him FF. To my shock he ate it!!
I read that something similar to FortiFlora is added to Kibble & to some canned food that's why they get "addicted" to it.

Now he's back on his raw but does eat some canned food also. He liked the Weruva but I won't give him that after reading about the Xanthan gum.
Thanks for the suggestion! :) I always appreciate advice!
 
That's interesting about the Xanthum Gum - people use it as a conditioner when baking Gluten Free...ugh :(

I see now why Luci doesn't like Weruva - she must have more sense than her mama who bought it...she turned up her nose after the first pouch...

I hope Ravan settles down once the dose increase is aboard...
 
I hope Ravan settles down

I want to have Ravan's blood checked for infection & his kidney values need to be checked. Taking him to the vet is Extremely stressful for him & me! I ran into my Vet at my Health club. I asked him if I could have my son draw Blood on Ravan instead of bringing him in.
I was surprised that he was Ok with that. He gave me the syringes & the test tubes & said if your son can do it Tell him I'll hire him! :) My son was a corpsman for the Navy for 5 yrs so I think he'll do OK. ( he's an officer for Homeland Security. he doesn't need a job)
I like that my vet is so open minded that he'll let me try this!
 
Cats are meant to eat raw meat, They are "Obligate carnivores" From what I've researched cooked meat is not as good for them. ( in all these years I've never had a problem with Raw )

When Smokey was suspect IBD and kept losing weight, I switched to homemade cooked (IBD site) and he did great and loved it. He use to help make it (hoping I would drop some) he would sit on my feet. As long as kitties are eating and getting all the nutrients that is what counts.
 
@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

I couldn't find the carb & Phosphorus of the Canned RAWZ . I sent them an Email. I'd like to try it.

If you have time could you take a look at Ravan's SS? He was doing so good a week ago & now I'm concerned his BG is worse than ever. He's still eating & pooping OK Sleeps a lot but even with the increase several days ago his BG is going up?
 
@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

I couldn't find the carb & Phosphorus of the Canned RAWZ . I sent them an Email. I'd like to try it.

If you have time could you take a look at Ravan's SS? He was doing so good a week ago & now I'm concerned his BG is worse than ever. He's still eating & pooping OK Sleeps a lot but even with the increase several days ago his BG is going up?
I'll check it out tomorrow. Late here in the East.
 
Love that your vet is open minded!

I too tried really hard to avoid all the baddies in the foods I was giving Ming. But he fought me too and wouldn’t eat the things I wished he would eat. I hope Raven is okay without getting his Weruva haha! Cats are so weird, aren’t they? Ming would NOT eat or touch raw the 2 and half years I had him. Then suddenly, last October, he started eating raw no problem. I just started getting him back into raw (I stopped because he was hospitalized and the only thing he’d eat consistently was FF).
 
What did you add to the meat?

EZComplete. The other 3 wouldn't touch it, but Smokey ate it and that's what counted. I want to go back to home cooked, but with different prefix once I find one. I only know of Alnutin and I haven't gotten around to sending for sample yet. And you have to add liver I think and I don't want to deal with the ratio of that.
 
EZComplete.
@JoyBee&Ravan
They will send you a sample.
http://www.foodfurlife.com/samples.html

What you have to watch with manufacturered raw (Rawz) is if they use bone in their grind. Bone is where the phos comes into play. Ezcomplete uses calcium vs bone in their mix. @Bobbie And Bubba uses ezcomplete.

Note-I don't know if Rawz uses bone, I was just giving an example.i know Radcat was minimal phos but Gizmo wouldn't eat it and I backed away from raw because of all his complications I couldn't risk a bad batch and didn't have the time or energy to make my own.
 
That is why I went raw so that I could control what my guys eat with their IBS issues.

I use the Ezcomplete and add it to ground meat. Usually, you start off with chicken first. We were rotating chicken, turkey, and pork until Bubba became allergic to chicken and pork. I have a local butcher where I buy the ground meats all ready frozen in 1 lb packages. Their meats are steroid and hormone free and I don't have to worry about sodium levels.

You need to make sure when feeding raw that the meat is frozen for a least 24 hours prior to feeding to kill off any bacteria. Also, sodium levels need to be under 100mg per 4 oz serving so if you buy your meat at a grocery store be mindful of the labels and any added ingredients.

The Ezcomplete is so easy to use, I add it to each meal rather than to a big batch. The company is awesome and so very knowledgably and have helped me more than once with different issues. Check out their website and read all their links on cats and cat issues and health. So much great information!

If you decide to try them and if I can be of any help, just let me know.
 
Ezcomplete is so easy to use,

I wish I could use it. I've tried twice. The first time i mixed it up & added about a teaspoon to a pound of chicken. All 3 cats gobbled it up. 20 mins later all 3 vomited up everything. I waited a week & tried with just a tiny bit added. Ravan smelled the food for quite a while & walked away. The other 2 ate it & again vomited.

Just last month I ordered the sample again & this time none of my cats will eat it.:banghead: Especially Ravan. When I add binder to his high phosphorus food he smells it for a while & tries to eat around some portions. (I mix it with water & then very thoroughly with the food. )
He wasn't this picky when he was younger!

I've been feeding Raw since they were kittens.I added all the supplements & I used powdered organic egg shells, ran in the blender over & over. Up until Ravan got diabetes they ate the raw just fine. I don't know why all 3 stopped ? Now I sometimes give them just raw meat & supplements in baby food with a syringe. Not the best I know but lately they've started eating a little of the raw with everything added.

Know thy Cat ? That's Funny! I just never know what the heck they're gonna do!!:p

I was ready to increase Ravan's insulin this AM. He had other plans & dropped to 55 +8. So I guess I'll hold this dose a while longer :woot::woot::woot:
 
Weruva Cat food & many others contain Xanthan Gum Here's some info I just discovered :

Pet Food Ingredients to Avoid: Xanthan Gum
Xanthan gum is a laboratory creation. It is a product:
– fermented on potential allergens
– fermented on corn or soy GMO concerns exist
– cannot be manufactured without the use of toxic carcinogens

Cats with inflammatory bowel disease should not be eating xanthan gum.Digestive issues rank as one of the top reasons for a vet visit, it’s a good bet no cat should be eating this.

It's difficult to find something my Ravan will eat now Weruva is off my list ! I guess a raw meat diet is what's best for any cat.
That's very interesting; I'll watch for that !
 
Back
Top