1/18 Tooters AMPS 211

Julee

Member Since 2018
Tooters seems to be doing good. I haven't seen any big changes so I am holding him at 1 unit. I am still not sure I understand when I lower his insulin. What signifies a need for a change?

On a side note, I just refilled my Lantus pen prescription. I hate how much it cost!!! I need to look at mail order from Canada. At this time the Vet has not given me a prescription for more than 1 pen since they want to review his numbers. I sent them my spreadsheet, so hopefully I wont have to take him in for a test.

Thanks for any and all advice!
Julee
 
With SLGS, you increase once every week after doing a curve for 12 hours with tests every 2 hours.
You can also do an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. But more important, you also reduce should his dose fall below 90 at any point, which he did a few days ago.

When deciding how to change the insulin dose, we ask the question "how low can this dose take my cat?". In other words, what are the nadirs. If the nadirs are below the reduction point, which when using SLGS is 90, you reduce the dose by 0.25 units. If the nadirs are above 150, you increase the dose by 0.25 units. If they are between 90 and 150, you hold the dose.

You should contact Marks Marine in Canada and see if they will give you just one pen at a time.
 
Back
Top