1/18 TOM amps 446 +2 338 +4.5 306 +7.5 273 +9.5 292 pmps 324

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34631

please note my last comment on yesterdays thread provided above. it's on page 2 (duh!) and please know as well i highly value sheila's imput and am trying not to follow my own instincts but the experienced advice. i hope my statements will ring true and valid. please consider them in making suggestions is all i ask. i shot .75 this morning and will get his plus 5 or 6...as soon as i get home from TBP...otherwise known as work.

and tom is dandy this morning.
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75

Hi guys .. glad to hear that tom is dandy this morning .. hope he feels good all day .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75

Hi Lori:
I’ve been following tom tom’s thread. I hope you can continue to have faith in the information you are receiving here. First, let me point out that I have a kitty ( to quote jojo, QUEEN OF DA BOUNCE) that NO ONE ever thought would go OTJ including me. I wanted a safe, healthy, diabetic kitty; OTJ was not in my thoughts. The first day we posted she went from 433 to 27 in 3 hours. Yes, I always rechecked low numbers. That also was when I was using the AlphaTrak meter. SCARY. Tuffy was on 10 units, vet prescribed and DM dry by the time I found FDMB, 9 months after diagnosis. When I started on the board she was dropped to 7 u BID, then 5 u BID. At one point, I spent about 6 months at 3.5. She went up and she went down. She loved to throw 20, 30 and 40 numbers. Several time, I was reminded it was not good for her to surf those numbers. Then, magically as I was so often told, she leveled out, her numbers became consistent and now she is OTJ. I just kept on plugging away. I gained the confidence to shoot lower numbers. It is a marathon. It takes time (2 ½ years in Tuffy’s case). I have a vet in the family and he never contradicted any suggestions I was given here. The people in LL know their stuff. When I needed assistance, someone was around. Yes, we had a few sleepless nights, and I had plenty of company helping me through the rough spots. It’s amazing, these ladies, have jobs, families, responsibilities and they are here, up with you holding your hand when you need it. I followed their suggestions and just kept feeding and testing. Luckily, Tuffy never exhibited signs of hypo but I always had the tools available. I also learned through coaching here that Tuffy is carb sensitive so HC was not necessary in her case. I hope you will continue with the .75 and see the total picture as it evolves. There are plenty of eyes on Tom and if they think there is a problem they will let you know. You will find the perfect dose. Takes time. No one here wants to put Tom in jeopardy, that is not what this forum is about. Lantus and Lev like consistency. Dose inconsistency sets up more bouncing. Hang in there and BREATH.
Look at other SS and see how this goes. J.D. has been doing much better on Lev than Lantus. He is a long-time diabetic kitty.
I have often said, and truly mean it, that without FDMB, Tuffy would probably not be with me today let alone OTJ. THANK YOU FDMB. TUFFY THE TERROR appreciates all your efforts and so do I.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75 +2 338 +4.5 306

unfortunatly we are marinating today... +2 338 +4.5 306.
will let the day completely unfold. will not do anything without words of advice. this is cycle 8 and it was definetly the right thing to do at the time. i wait to see if it continues to be the right thing to do now.
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75 +2 338 +4.5 306

Hi Lori and Tom,

Whiskers and I want to thank you again for the newbie kit we received from you. :mrgreen:

Whiskers and I also struggle to find her spot, and we keep trying. Take care. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75 +2 338 +4.5 306

hmmm. not much of a drop this time so far after eating. guess things are still rearranging themselves. I fin it interesting. wonder what is going on
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75 +2 338 +4.5 306 +7.5 273

dian he only does the little post meal drop unless his numbers are very big.
no one seems to be advising me today...would a fat .75 be in order.
i'll watch the day unfold but he's spending way too much time in these reds and yellows i think.
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75 +2 338 +4.5 306 +7.5 273

sorry but I do not dose advise. you can go with what the more experienced say .5o .75 and hold a little while. I have no clue and I am horrible at reading ss. just numbers and colors to me
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75 +2 338 +4.5 306 +7.5 273

Hi Lori, glad to hear that Tom is feeling good. I had a late night, sorry I haven't been around much today...trying to catch up on some zzzzz.

I know his numbers are higher today than yesterday, but he is still getting decent response to this dose. I would still hold the dose for two more cycles though, for a couple of reasons. One, I would consider this his initial dose since he never got a consistent full 5-7 days on the 1.0u dose, and the protocol calls for 5-7 days (10-14 cycles) on the intial dose.
"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Secondly, he saw some mid-100s yesterday, and the dosing guidelines say to hold the dose for 6-10 cycles if the nadir is under 200.
Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Considering those two things, I would hold the dose for the 10 cycles as we suggested previously.
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75 +2 338 +4.5 306 +7.5 273

Lori -

I think it's best if you stick with the protocol. Because Tom has hit blue numbers, stick with your current 0.75u dose for two more cycles.
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75 +2 338 +4.5 306 +7.5 273

I agree with Laurie. Since Tom has hit blue on this dose, I would give him the full 10 cycles before increasing. Most likely he does need an increase, but we don't want to rush him.
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75 +2 338 +4.5 306 +7.5 273

i was about to say "we don't?" but seeing how humour does'nt always translate...said it anyway!
ok, stick with dose. marinate. hopefully you got to read my last post in yesterdays thread. page 2.
just making sure we are all on the same page.
will be getting his +9.5 in a minute here...298. floating since his +7.5 up about 25 points.
.75 it is then. at 8 this evening. and this will be cycle 9 fwiw.
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 .75 +2 338 +4.5 306 +7.5 273 +9.5 292

well tom's been food obsessed again today,,a bit lazier, and i've been looking all over my tiny house for him for a half hour...he never hides, i was so worried he had gone out and i did'nt see it. just found him under the bed. very unusual. he purred when i pet him and talked to him. not sure if he is just tired but days of more activity or has been consistantly high for too long. his pmps is in 35 minutes...i know what i'm shooting so....no more thoughts on that?
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 +2 338 +4.5 306 +7.5 273 +9.5 292 pmps

pmps 324 and i'm not entirely unhappy with that #.
realize yesterday he gave me a bit of a zoom at the close of the day. 160-398 in only 3.5 hours. that was not pretty. actually could have been a rebound kind of. so much happier tonight.
discovered reason tom is feeling a little punk tonight. whilst i brush and floss my teeth tom took a poo. a difficult poo and he grunted (is it only me that finds that cute :roll: ) and it was not one of his best. no need to describe but suffice to say he may have a tummy ache. which i think he confirmed by not devouring his favorite meal of the day...this evenings raw rabbit served at refrigerator temp on a platter of lettuce. he occasionally chews at the lettuce as a palette freshener after enjoying his rabbit. tonight he took 2 or 3 bites and walked away. poor baby. he will eat it tho' i am not concerned. my boy never skips a meal.
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 +2 338 +4.5 306 +7.5 273 +9.5 292 pmps

Hi Lori, don't know if you've ever tried it, but I was told canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling) is great fiber to help with their bowels. I wonder if that would help Tom?
I tried it on Tessie Lou, and it definitely helps her and she thinks it's a great treat. Just a half teaspoon every other day, with food. FWIW.
 
Re: 1/18 TOM amps 446 +2 338 +4.5 306 +7.5 273 +9.5 292 pmps

sandy i don't think we're at that point yet. he always poops a big one every day...sometimes 2! i sometimes can't believe the size! but tonight he just has a bug or something. if it goes on i'll try that remedy. thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top