1/18 Tiki AMPS 263, +5 36, +6 97, PMPS 396, +5 214,

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/18 Tiki AMPS 263, +5 36,

Here's the part of the protocol that would apply to Tiki's situation:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.

If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or

if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. ]

See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.

The tricky part here comes because you reduced yesterday morning. Tiki got to 40 the night before. So . . . the question is, is this a left-over from the previous dose, in which case you'd have some good rationale for holding the dose and not reducing, or is this a "new" response to the 3.0u dose?

I don't know how we can know the answer to that. I think what you do tonight would depend upon whether or not you feel able to monitor him tonight - if not, then definitely reduce.

With only 3 cycles since you last reduced, i'd be inclined to think this is still the 3.25u dose talking. We know the previous dose can affect as many as 6 cycles following a reduction. If that's the case, then you would hold the 3.0u dose. But . . . i think i still might lean towards reducing.

I don't think it's clear-cut either way. Let's see what others think about it.

btw, if you get a low number like that, you really want to give him carbs and then retest. Maybe you have more tests that just aren't in the ss, but it would be important not to give one round of carbs and then continue to monitor to make sure that Tiki is coming up and staying up.

What are you leaning towards for tonight's dose, tonya?
 
Re: 1/18 Tiki AMPS 263, +5 36, +6 97,

Thanks for the input. I'm going to hold at 3.0. I can monitor tonight. His PMPS was 396! :shock:
 
Re: 1/18 Tiki AMPS 263, +5 36, +6 97, PMPS 396,

Sounds like you have a roller-coaster kitty, Tonya! I don't envy you -that can be so scary. I hope Tiki calms down a little, but comes down out of the pink for you. Just don't dip too far,Tiki! Mama beans get dizzy from sudden drops!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top