1/18 Rocky PMPS 319 +2 373 +4 288

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning, sorry for the confusion this morning in posting to the the wrong topic.. :oops: Still need more sleep.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112081

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=112129

BG up a little bit since his last reading last night but I think you'd all say it's a flat line??

Feeding him, then giving .75 u insulin, then the Clavamox.

Did a little more research on Rocky's skin condition. It seems that fluctuating BG's can cause skin conditions in diabetics:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23601172

I believe that Rocky might have Perforating Dermatitis:

https://sites.google.com/site/merlinmag ... dermatitis

I am considering adding vitamin C to Rocky's food.

I do not believe it is 'cow pox' because according to my friend she started seeing this on his fur about the time he began peeing large volumes. The other thing is, cow pox heals on it's own. This is not healing. It also doesn't have those red and scabbiness to it.

http://www.387vets.com/pet-of-the-month-is-back/
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky AMPS +289

Sorry to mess everyone up this morning with my post in the wrong forum! :oops: Chris, I've taken what you said posted it here. I'm going to delete that post in the wrong forum now.

Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +289

Postby Chris & China » Sat Jan 18, 2014 8:30 am
Good morning Tina! Hope you were able to get your ferals fed and get some sleep last night. I'm sure yesterday was hard on you!

I think you posted your condo in the wrong forum this morning...This is the Health forum instead of the Lantus Tight Regulation Forum

Hope Rocky has some better numbers for you today, but at least he's in a sunny yellow for now. That's great!

That's actually a pretty darn good number for AMPS. We wouldn't want him to have a flat line in the 200's (at least not for too long) A normal Lantus cycle should look something like a smile. The AMPS number is the top left corner of the smile...then the numbers go down until reaching nadir (the bottom of the smile) and then in the last half, they start to climb again. As they get better regulated, the smile can flatten some, but we hope that doesn't happen until the AMPS is at least below 150.(preferably lower)

Not every cat is going to have a "normal" smile either (actually very few do, but if you think if the "smile", you might understand how a cycle "should" look)

:-D --this "smile" cycle starts fairly high, dips low and then comes back up fairly high at the end of the cycle.

:smile: This smile doesn't start as high, goes down some (no big drop) and then raises back up at the end of the cycle.

Does that help?

Hope you enjoyed your BTB!!
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky AMPS +289

Too bad there is not an easy way to plot a SS that shows the "smile" with a line-graph chart.
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky AMPS +289 +2 325

Actually, a normal Lantus curve in a tightly regulated cat should be a fairly flat line. There might be a tiny dip at nadir but it really should be pretty flat.
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky AMPS +289 +2 325

The best Vit. C for kitties is Ester C 250 mg. once daily. It has a protective agent for the tummy so it might not be advised to use with an antibiotic.
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky AMPS +289 +2 325 +5 251

Barbara, we have a Vitamin Shoppe in Elk Grove so the probably have it there. Based on what you told me, I won't give it to him until he is finished with this course of antibiotics.

I'm not really not so sure he needs these antibiotic and I hate to be giving them to him if does not need them. But I'll finish the course.
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky AMPS +289 +2 325 +5 251 +8 336

Hi,

I was able to get to the local discount pet store today and bought some aquarium gravel. I got the Neptune's Seascape Aggragate, epoxy coated kind. Is this all right? It was only $6.00 for 10 pounds. I figured I won't need much of it for each ketone test.

I will clean out Rocky's litter box before his dinner tonight and replace it with a small amount of this gravel. I will check on him every hour after that to see if he has peed. I will check for ketones in Rocky's urine tonight after he has finished his dinner and received his insulin. I have some ReliOn ketone strips.

Also, wanted to discuss with all of you if I should change Rocky's feeding schedule. Right now he eats 1 + 1/2 can of NVIV 2x per day.

I am thinking of splitting up his feedings into 3x a day. I would feed him 1/2 a can of the NVIV at each feeding. I would prefer to feed him that 3rd half can of food during his cycle AFTER his PMPS. The reason why is because I am usually home all evening after the PMPS test, and this would be so much easier for me to manage. Feeding him 3x a day would also allow me to add (2)TBS of water into each serving. I will be able to get to water into him this way, if he will eat it his food like that. He is burping after he eats now and I think it's because it is too much food and water to take in at one time. A lighter load of protein might be easier for his pancreas and liver to process.

What are you thoughts? Thank you! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky AMPS +289 +2 325 +5 251 +8 336

hi tina,

I haven't heard of Relion ketone strips - are those for testing urine?

the aquarium gravel is fine. The urine has to be fairly fresh, although i'm not sure exactly what defines that. i put punkin in a room with a temporary litter box made of a box lid inside of a garbage bag, filled with lentils. they work the same as gravel - you just need something clean and non-absorbent. i fed him, and he would pee pretty much right away after he ate. so i just waited in the room with him. then when he went, tip the box so you can get the urine to puddle so you can dip the strip in.

the timing is important. it will say on the bottle how long to wait to compare the color of the strip against the bottle chart. you have to follow that timing exactly. have a good light nearby because it's kinda hard to see those shades exactly.

as far as food, most people divide up the day's food into half, giving half in the am cycle and half in the pm cycle. I divided punkin's food up so he had 1 3oz can of fancy feast with his shot and 1/2 can at +3 when i always tested him anyway. I repeated that both am and pm cycle. you want to give most of the food in the first half of the cycle so that the food is there when the insulin is most effective. sometimes giving it in the second half of the cycle can make the numbers rise more than they would've otherwise.

it's helpful to try to do the same thing both cycles.

getting water to him in his food is good no matter when you feed him.
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky AMPS +289 +2 325 +5 251 +8 336 +11 290

Hi Julie,

Do you think feeding at +4 in both the AM and PM cycle would be Ok? That would be noon and midnight for me. What might be the benefits or drawbacks of feeding him 4x a day rather than 2x a day?

If I'm going to start feeding 4x a day, is it Ok to start that routine tomorrow?


Yes, ReliOn makes ketone strips and you dip them in urine and use a color chart just like the other ones. For ReliOn you wait 15 seconds after removing from urine and match the stick with their color chart on the bottle. Unfortunately 'negative' and 'trace' look almost identical with the 'trace' having just a bit more of a pink hue to it. I hope I can manage to distinguish it in reality should he have trace amounts. Any ketone values that are higher are more saturated in color and easier to discern.

The lentils sounds like a novel idea to collect urine! It didn't add sugar to the urine?

I think I am suppose to get him to the vet if Rocky's ketone show 'moderate', right?
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky PMPS 319

anything more than a trace needs to be seen by a vet.

you can try it on yourself to see what the "no ketones" level would look like. no, lentils are hard and don't absorb. you don't leave it for long enough to soften them. but the gravel is perfect. just use it.

12 hours is a very long time for a diabetic cat to go without food. if he'll graze on food, you can put it down and let him graze, but some cats (mine) will eat it all the second it gets put down. for those, it's better to make sure they have some food to keep them from getting too hungry before the next shot. some cats will vomit if they eat too fast because they are too hungry.

all in all, i think most people either have their cats grazing for the first few hours of the cycle or they feed more than once in the first half of the cycle.

you can start it anytime you want.
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky PMPS 319

What should I do if Rocky were to go really high, like in the high 400s or at 500? Sit on my hands? I don't think he'd be feeling to well at that point.
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky PMPS 319

do you mean should you increase the dose if he goes really high? the answer is no. he will cope with it.

you will get the best results if his dosing is consistent, ie, doses are not changed any more frequently than is needed.

changing the doses too frequently or when it doesn't need to be changed (by looking what the nadirs are) could actually INCREASE his high numbers.

yes, sit on your hands. :-D
 
Re: 1/18 Rocky PMPS 319 +2 373

Ok.. just concerned because I still haven't been able to get a ketone test for Rocky.

I delayed giving him his Clavamox pill tonight until after I took the +2 reading. I was worried that it was influencing the bg numbers after his PMPS shot.

Also, I sat in the bathroom with him while he ate and then stayed with him for an hour. He didn't pee. I put him in the box and he just jumped out. He cleaned himself and gave himself a bath for one entire hour instead. I took the box out with me when I left the room. I just brought it back in there with me when I took the +2 test. Still not interested in peeing. I'll see if he wants to pee in another hour, at +3, but I don't think I'll take another blood test then. I'll wait until +4 to take another blood test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top