1/18 Rocket AM BG 85=NS/PM BG 83=NS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
hi all,
been a rough night again...this time with Comet....don't know if he got into his food late at night (we make sure he doesn't eat past a certain time as for his tummy not to be upset) and that is the culprit of him being restless, panting but yet being let outside produced nothing....meanwhile Rocket before we all decided it was bedtime...he managed to sleep on the coffee table for a good half hr...which was a good sight to see as he had not done that in a while....

he ate really well at what would have been his +6 in the pm....then again at +6.5....Evo both times...no FF or proplan mixed in it...he wanted none of that...decided he didn't want to be in the bathroom just yet...

i have noted on my diary the tremors/twitching/spasms that are taking place and the time and what he is doing then...they have not disappeared but seemed to have gotten better and is more relaxed sleeping on his back....

+9 (what would have been his +9) i got up and did not test him...i instead brought him some food thinking that by amps i would have to give insulin or if testing his bg it would be really high....he ate it all...Evo again....

AM BG 85...i did not give insulin again...simply because we've had a rollercoaster and not sure if he would dive on me and i'm still very tired from this ordeal that i would not want to fall asleep on him when he needs me the most....

he ate well shortly after testing and then again at what would have been his +3....at +4.5 he got his fluids and chicken dust and wanted to go on the balcony....i insisted to him it was still very cold....now +5.25 he has settled next to the bed cooling off...it is sunny here today and he was on his bed sunbathing....seems relaxed and there is no tremors....

i'm wondering what it means for his BG to stay in the same range now that he has had food and Evo is higher in carb than FF or Proplan....i don't know what to make of it...or if it is still the drugs in his system that are doing it and come tomorrow it will be high

so overall an improvement....i still hesitate if it's long term....but i will take what i'm given and relax a lil bit...or better yet...get all caught up with my sleep should there be another round...

Comet has also settled....tonight we will feed him a lot earlier and see if that is what caused him discomfort...

so that's that here at home...have emailed vet and awaiting her reply....

thank you for your continued prayers and support...means a great deal to me...
i have prayed all night for Nicole as she and her family grieve the loss of her step father
hope everyone else is doing ok....

yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34649
 
Re: 1/18 Rocket AM BG 85=NS

Hugs to you, Rocket and Comet. Sleeping on his back is so awesome. I wonder about the BG... maybe it is a reduction in pain or something that was stressing his system to cause him to come out of remission? That is an awesome AMBG without a shot.
 
Re: 1/18 Rocket AM BG 85=NS

Good Morning Claudia,

I'm glad rocket seems a bit better today, and hope you do get a chance to get some
rest. We will continue to keep you in our thoughts and prayers :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: .
 
Re: 1/18 Rocket AM BG 85=NS

Great AMBG w/ no shot again, it looks like he is heading back to his old self, paws crossed and of course, vines, and white light for things to continue to get better.
 
Re: 1/18 Rocket AM BG 85=NS

Claudia, It is so good to read this report. It sounds like Rocket has turned a corner. Keeping fingers and paws crossed (and, of course, continuing to send vines, prayers, good thoughts). Hoping you get some good sleep today and that both your kitties continue to feel better and better.

Hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/18 Rocket AM BG 85=NS

Nice number with no insulin on board :-D :-D hope things keep improving for you guys sending more healing vines and (((HUGS))))
 
Re: 1/18 Rocket AM BG 85=NS

I'm glad to hear Rocket is a little better and Comet is doing ok, although I am worried about you not getting enough sleep. I'll pray for a quiet night tonight so you can at least get a few hours of uninterrupted rest.
 
Re: 1/18 Rocket AM BG 85=NS

Good news for Rocket today ... :-D Nice if you are able to catch up on sleep too.. More healing vines to You and Rocket ...
 
Re: 1/18 Rocket AM BG 85=NS

Claudia, I hope you are snoozing away, getting caught up on your sleep. I sounds like Rocket is feeling better, an I am glad.
 
thank you all for your continued support and prayers...
i have a massive headache...and flu like symptoms...so chicken soup talks to me and lots of liquid...

fed him at what would have been +9 today and he ate it oh so willingly.....thank you Christie and Willie for sending the Fortiflora...got it today and used a lil bit on his food and he ate it all up with much gusto...

now pm bg 83...i did not give insulin again....fed him again some Evo and he ate it all up and for the first time he is grooming himself....

he slept lots today probably getting caught up on such needed rest for himself too...i managed to nap a lil here and there...

question now is:
should i be giving insulin with those ps #s come tomorrow?
what does it mean those low ps #s? does it mean his pancreas is getting better?
should i be aiming at much lower ps #s so then give insulin????

the pheno seems to be helping...twitching is still there but the tremoring as before seems to have subsided...

my theory all along has been that his pheno levels were therapeutic in the low range and i think once he started to go low on his BG his system couldn't sustain those pheno levels and hence the tremors/shaking in him....it all got dismissed by the vet...and since i'm no vet i don't know if that theory is true as now that we have upped his pheno dose he has not gotten any insulin as of yet....

thoughts?
 
Do you know if its the pheno or the increased bupe? Either one so glad he's grooming and eating. Must be filling your heart back up some. Give you reasons to smile. I wish I knew about what you were dealing with and could offer helpful advice. You have dealt with so much and kept fighting with him. Great job Claudia. Take care of yourself. ((((((((more hugs)))))))
 
Karrie and Maverick said:
Do you know if its the pheno or the increased bupe? Either one so glad he's grooming and eating. Must be filling your heart back up some. Give you reasons to smile. I wish I knew about what you were dealing with and could offer helpful advice. You have dealt with so much and kept fighting with him. Great job Claudia. Take care of yourself. ((((((((more hugs)))))))
i don't know

last bupe dose he got was 8 am yesterday....pheno dose upped as of yesterday as well....so i don't know...hence me asking for advise...
 
hi, guys...late getting to your condo today...but pleased to hear things seem to be improving for rocket...

hoping you feel better, claudia!
 
Claudia...I'm also late today; I was already gone to work when you posted today and long day at work for me. I'm glad to hear there is some improvement for Rocket today!! YIPPEE!!! You know anything I can do or think to suggest, I will. I wanted to tell you that there is a condition called euthyroid sick syndrome (thyroid appears to be lower than it actually is due to illness) and Dr. Dodds is very, very good at picking this up when she's looking at hypert numbers so please don't rule that out just because your vet thinks that an accurate number is impossible because he's sick. Thinking of you both and sending hugs.
 
Hi Claudia - I am glad that Rocket is feeling better. and Comet too. Small steps, but important ones. I hope they continue to feel better and better. Mannie and I send as many vines, snowflakes and healing vines that we can find.

Bg numbers are nice too - And with no insulin.

Rocket - I am soooooo glad that you are feeling better. I hope that you will come to our party tomorrow - it's for the full moon. I haev lots of fleece and woollies and stuff, and the cabin at camp stu is really nice - we will get a fire started in the fireplace so that you will be warm. I will picks you up, OK? The bus is warm and cozy too, so you will be just fine. See you later ~ Mannie
 
Hey, Claudia! So glad the fortiflora made it through customs okay and that it has helped Rocket to be more enthusiastic about eating! I hope he feels better soon... you guys remain in my thoughts and prayers. Hoping you can get some solid rest soon!

Christie

PS-- I would probably go ahead and give the vet a heads up on the fortiflora. You can get it without Rx, but it is good to at least let them know since it is a (good) bacteria going into his system. Could be important down the line if he is having problems!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top