1/18 Pearl AMPS 398, +3 277 +8 292...PMPS 421

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone,

I am posting so very late today! I had to take my other senior cat, Chessie, to the vet and learned her PCV is dropping again (she has Lyme Disease). A little discouraging and concerning. We may need to start more immunosuppressant drugs.

For Miss Pearl! I am starting to realize there isn't a lot I can do to control the high highs, she went RED or nearly RED twice today. I can just do what I can do to slow the drops when they start happening.

Pearl was upped to 2U today (and coincidentally it's also her Pred day, so perhaps that is part of the high numbers). She is hanging in there ok.

Link to yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-17-pearl-amps-309-1-5-250-3-190.241634/#post-2722031

I hope you all are having a nice Monday,
Margaret
 
Prednisolone definitely complicates things. When she starts to get into better numbers timing it might help prevent lows. We have another cat just starting it and he’s been erratic. I hope your other cat is ok. :bighug: I hope the increase brings better numbers.
 
Hope Chessie improves :bighug: and you are right, we can only help slow the drops (which in turn helps the bouncing). BTW, did you shoot 2U tonight? Your SS says 1.75. Have a wonderful night :bighug:
 
Hope Chessie improves :bighug: and you are right, we can only help slow the drops (which in turn helps the bouncing). BTW, did you shoot 2U tonight? Your SS says 1.75. Have a wonderful night :bighug:

Thank you, and yep I shot 2U. I have to get used to writing 2 instead of 1.75! Thanks for letting me know!
 
Prednisolone definitely complicates things. When she starts to get into better numbers timing it might help prevent lows. We have another cat just starting it and he’s been erratic. I hope your other cat is ok. :bighug: I hope the increase brings better numbers.
Thank you for this piece of information - I'll tuck it away to remember when her numbers get better (I hope they DO get better. I have to keep the faith, today that it's a little hard).

The other cat (without going into great detail) is a rescue that they can't support any longer - she had been in treatment for severe anemia - but with the significant debt I have b/c of Pearl's hospitalizations and losing the other 2 cats earlier this year, the thought of more treatments (and the dental surgery she needs and the cardiology) are totally overwhelming. It's just been one of those days. Thanks for your good wishes.
 
Back
Top