1/18 Munchie PMPS 477

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewest

Member Since 2011
Last Condo

Munchie earned a reduction a few days ago but so far it's not getting her in good numbers. As far as I understand we usually hold the reduction for 3 days (or 6 cycles) to allow a bounce to clear and then go back up to last good dose if numbers not staying in good range. Does that match folks' understanding? Had plumbers over today to fix stuff in bathroom so that may have added more stress to her numbers today.

Thanks.
 
What you noted is mostly right. Providing there's not a bounce, if a reduction isn't holding you can raise the dose as soon as you realize the new dose isn't working, returning to the last good dose. Otherwise, you hold a new dose for 6 cycles/3 days to let it settle and to evaluate its effectiveness. Since a bounce can occur at any point, it may extend how long you hold a new dose. When there's a bounce it can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear. The more time a cat spends in low numbers, the quicker the bounces tend to clear. Gabby can clear a bounce in one cycle.
 
Okay, thanks for the clarification. Munchie continued to rise on the cycle after her low until she got into the 300's. My understanding is that would count as a bounce. Today she got into the 400's- does the bounce "get worse" sometimes? Tomorrow morning would be the 6th cycle so think I can increase her back up tomorrow night if no improvement in her numbers between now and then.
 
This is very much a bounce. Some cat's numbers spike up and with others, it's a slow rise. By tomorrow at PMPS, the bounce should have cleared.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top