1/18 Missy AMPS 146 +2 38 +2.5 34, +3 49, +4 49 +5 PMPS 311 +3 239

I was going to test at +3 but she was giving me the look at the food bowl. I did feed her 1/3 of a can of 2% at +1.5. Now she is eating HC..and doing fine. I will continue to test lots today to make sure doesnt drop.
I just raised her dose from 0.75 to a fat 0.75. Usually I find she takes 6-7 days to feel a new dose. I havent been giving her anything over 2% the last couple of days so maybe thats why she is trending lower.
Should I drop back down to 0.75??
 
I was going to test at +3 but she was giving me the look at the food bowl. I did feed her 1/3 of a can of 2% at +1.5. Now she is eating HC..and doing fine. I will continue to test lots today to make sure doesnt drop.
I just raised her dose from 0.75 to a fat 0.75. Usually I find she takes 6-7 days to feel a new dose. I havent been giving her anything over 2% the last couple of days so maybe thats why she is trending lower.
Should I drop back down to 0.75??
Yes. It’s good you tested when you did. Did you retest in case it was a faulty strip? Amy drop under 40 is a reduction.
 
It looks to me like onset is at +2 so I would always get a +2 for now. I’d even consider a +1 or 1.5 as onset might be even sooner.
 
Yes. It’s good you tested when you did. Did you retest in case it was a faulty strip? Amy drop under 40 is a reduction.

I didnt .... but I can tell she is low because she is staring at me... and she paces around the food bowl. She not a very social cat so when she thinks she NEEDS food she usually shows it.
 
Ive just been letting her nibble on medium carb 13% because her nadir is usually around +5.
 
Good to know. Congrats on the reduction.

I should have asked this earlier... but do you think I should just go back to her last dose(half of a 0.25 reduction) or should I reduce more... or less.
Even tiny amount seems to make a difference... thats why I got into doing the fat and skinny doses with calipers. I feel like I should just try her to 0.75 again and try to keep her on only 2%, unless higher was really needed.... but I would love your opinion.
 
Last edited:
I know it is counterintuitive but I would feed her higher lc and see if you can get her to stay under 150 as much as possible. She’s spending too much time above renal threshold. I’d want her mostly blue and green.
 
I know it is counterintuitive but I would feed her higher lc and see if you can get her to stay under 150 as much as possible. She’s spending too much time above renal threshold. I’d want her mostly blue and green.

Thats sort of what I was doing when she was at 0.75. I would feed her 2% at the start and end.. .then 4-6% (mostly 4%) around +2-4. If i thought she was dropping to fast I would give her a bit higher like 8-9%. I started marking the dates in dark green on days I felt she needed a bit more carbs.

Today she dropped really fast so that would not have made a difference.

TO be clear.....
Should drop back to 0.75 and feed the curve *but try not to use the 8-9% until she actually low normal, early in the cycle.
OR leave her at this dose and feed the curve.

Her day is very routine... she doesnt really do much. I dont know why her numbers drop some days and surf others. Im just grateful she gives me signals when she is low.
 
With the 38 you need to drop the dose. I’d get a +2 most days rather than waiting until +3 or later as I think she onsets before +3.
 
With the 38 you need to drop the dose. I’d get a +2 most days rather than waiting until +3 or later as I think she onsets before +3.

Ok. Sounds good.
I think I was going to for +3 or +4 (unless she gave me the signals) because I thought closer to her nadir would give me the valuable info of if the dose working for her.. But I also understand that the +2 or +3 can give you the idea of how fast she is dropping.... im just not as confident how to interpret that information.
From now on I will do more +2s and hopfully posting more will help me learn how to use that information.

Thank you so much!
 
Back
Top