1/18 Mini Me AMPS: 493 +5:381 PMPS:449

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiniandShawti

Member Since 2013
He's acting like I'm starving him, but I think thats more he no longer has dry food all day like he did before. My other cat is reacting the same way to the change. They don't eat the entire bit of wet food right away when I do feed them though so I don't think its and issue of them actually overly hungry. Usually feed right after shot. His mid-day numbers were still pretty high, going to try to to a curve tomorrow, if he lets me.

Last Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87207
 
Just stopping into say Welcome to LL! I just read Mini's profile...thank you for saving this sweet angel!!! Please keep posting and asking questions...LL is the best place every for you and Mini - the knowledge and support is amazing!!
 
Until numbers are in a better range, it's likely that Mini is going to be hungry. It's the nature of diabetes. Right now, he's still at a point where the insulin isn't getting enough glucose into the cells -- the glucose is floating around in the bloodstream. As his numbers improve, his appetite will normalize.

If your PM shot was an hour late, your AM shot would be 12 hours from when you gave tonight's shot. If you can test at Mini's usual time and if numbers are still high, I'd suggest shooting at your usual time (which would really be an hour early). An early shot acts like a dose increase. I would not suggest this unless Mini's numbers are still in the pinks or reds.
 
Ok, is there an easier way to test him? He's starting to not like me pinning him down and poking his ears a few times before I get enough. It takes a few pokes partly cause he'll twitch at the last second and partly cause I'm still getting the hang of getting the right spot. Not to mention I have to almost sit on him to keep him still...
 
It was like that for me at the start, and for most people I think.
Frustrating, scarey and a general feeling of "why doesn't this work..." - I used to have to drag Honey out from under the bed and hold her down for tests and shots.

And then, something happens.. you calm down, the cat calms down and it just works. Trust me! It happens!

Keep going. Ultimately, its for Mini's good - even if she hisses, spits etc.. and you feel soooo bad - its still for her own good so you just have to do it.

Best...
 
Thank you. The shots are easy, he doesn't mind them as long as I put food in front of him. And giving medicine to cats and dogs I'm good at, no matter if its shots, pills, liquid or force feeding them. it was always my job growing up. It's just his ears that seem to bother him
 
As Denise said, they get used to it. You just have to stay calm. When we were learning, I would poke twice and then if it didn't work, I'd give her treats, wait 15 mins or so, and then calmly try again. You'll get it. Everyone goes through the testing issues at first.

Here is a post I wrote on Testing and Shooting Tips
 
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=47485&p=515124&hilit=+Video#p515124 (home testing difficult cats)

This is a great little video on testing. I had to use a towel at first and pin Booty down, like the women in
the video. The only thing I might suggest is to use a lancet poker. It's a little pen like thing with a spring
that holds the needle (lancet). Doing it by hand I think is more painful, therefore adding fuel to the fire.
My daughter who is a type 1 diabetic, says never poke by hand. "it really hurts". Looking at that cat in the
video, looks like it really hurts by hand.
 
I have been using a lancer pen for, I think I'd end up going though his ear by hand. My dad is a borderline diabetic and says it a lot easier with the lancer than by hand
 
Morning guys just wanted to stop by and say hi and welcome! Glad you are here! We free hand and I think it is much easier when you get the hang of it. The testing will become second nature for both you and your cat. Try to use the same spot to test so it will become a routine for both of you and give treats after. I think Scrabble likes testing because he knows food is next. Hope you have a great day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top