1/18 Mikey PMPS 238, +1 228 +2 181 +3 121 +3.5 103 +4 83 +4.5 90 Wishing for Mr. Greenie!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mikey's been slowly dropping through yellow all day, after his AMPS bounce. If he keeps going this direction, he'll be in blue by PMPS. If he is still going down, should I feed him 12% at PS? I don't want to lower his dose, and I definitely don't want to skip. Now that I've posted this, he'll probably go back up. :)
 
Hi Mary, I'm not sure if you've tried this before or not....when Eddie used to do a cycle long-slide, and I was able to spot it, I would feed a little bit of extra regular carb at +10 or so to help smooth him out and hopefully avoid a huge drop after pre-shot.
 
No dive so far. Being vigilant nonetheless. Can someone remind me, does it take 3 cycles or 6 to fill the depot?
 
Hi Mary, I'm not sure if you've tried this before or not....when Eddie used to do a cycle long-slide, and I was able to spot it, I would feed a little bit of extra regular carb at +10 or so to help smooth him out and hopefully avoid a huge drop after pre-shot.

I think I may have tried that at some point, but I can't remember for sure. It sounds like a useful strategy. I have to keep it in mind. Thank you!
 
You should wait 6 cycles (3 days) after a dose change to see how it's doing (I'm assuming that's what you're asking about!)

Better sunny yellow than some of those other colors!!

Hopefully the dosecrease will be good for him! Only time will tell ;)
 
You should wait 6 cycles (3 days) after a dose change to see how it's doing (I'm assuming that's what you're asking about!)

Better sunny yellow than some of those other colors!!

Hopefully the dosecrease will be good for him! Only time will tell ;)

I know you wait a minimum of six cycles to increase, but is that how long it takes the depot to fill, or is it full after three?

He's gone down to blue now, which makes mommy very happy!
 
The only time we really worry about "filling the depot" is when we first start shooting since we're starting with nothing

After you've been shooting awhile, the depot is more stable, so you just need to wait 6 cycles to see what the new dose is going to do

YEAH for BLUE!!!
 
Giving a tiny portion of 12% at +3 to slow him down a bit. I'm not completely sure that's the right call, but once he gets on a roll, he can really dive, and I don't want a bounce. Lovin' the 121!!! I think I'll test again at +3.5. That might be overkill, but better safe than sorry.
 
I'm loving this flatness. :cool: We always wait a minimum of 6 cycles before an increase, but cats can show the potential of an increase before then. Neko usually shows me what an increase can do in the 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5th cycle after an increase. :rolleyes: If you've done a skip or a lower dose for another reason, that's another time that the cycle count starts over. Here's a post on counting cycles.
 
I'm loving this flatness. :cool: We always wait a minimum of 6 cycles before an increase, but cats can show the potential of an increase before then. Neko usually shows me what an increase can do in the 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5th cycle after an increase. :rolleyes: If you've done a skip or a lower dose for another reason, that's another time that the cycle count starts over. Here's a post on counting cycles.

I'm loving it too! This dose is great so far. I get how to count doses and how long to wait to increase, but I'm trying to understand the depot. I assume that when you increase, the depot gets larger. Does it take six cycles, hence why we wait six cycles to increase, or does it get larger over a shorter or longer time? The answer really doesn't have anything to do with anything, as far as what I do with Mikey. I'm just curious about how it works. To quote my second graders, "Why?" And after I answer, "But why?" And after I answer that, "But why?" You get the picture. :)
 
I take it "Because we said so" isn't going to satisfy you any better than it satisfies your second graders?.....LOL

I always hated when my parents used that on me and swore I'd never do it with my own....and mostly, I kept that promise to myself and always tried to give them a "reason" when I could
 
I take it "Because we said so" isn't going to satisfy you any better than it satisfies your second graders?.....LOL

I always hated when my parents used that on me and swore I'd never do it with my own....and mostly, I kept that promise to myself and always tried to give them a "reason" when I could

Because I said so doesn't work for a lot of their questions. They ask very deep questions!
 
:D:D:D

Yes, I think the idea is that it takes about 6 cycles to have the depot get into equilibrium with a new dose, both in an increase and a decrease. You might see some effects even immediately, but the total time for rebalancing might be as long as 6 cycles.

Work that juice nice and flat, Mikey! Perfect cycle.
 
:D:D:D

Yes, I think the idea is that it takes about 6 cycles to have the depot get into equilibrium with a new dose, both in an increase and a decrease. You might see some effects even immediately, but the total time for rebalancing might be as long as 6 cycles.

Work that juice nice and flat, Mikey! Perfect cycle.

Oooo, "equilibrium" and "rebalancing" are great descriptions. I understand now! You might be a teacher, Julie. :D
 
Heehee maybe. :cool:

But you aren't special ed so I don't have to set it to song for you to learn it!!

Did you know you can learn to count by 2's to the tune of "Row Row Row Your Boat?" Lol just in case you need it.:)
 
It looks like Mikey has naidired, although I'll be getting another test before calling it a night. This is his usual nadir time, though, so it seems likely. Looking over tonight's cycle, I gave a bit of 8% every time I tested with the exception of +3 when he fell 60 points in a hour. I gave a small portion of 12% then. That worked to slow him, but whether he'll bounce remains to be seen. Is there anything else should've done to minimize the likelihood of a bounce? I'm strapped into those black patience pants Chris sent! :)

Tomorrow I'm off from work, but I have to go out from about +2.45 until about +5. My plan is to test before I go, and if he's not bouncing, restock the timed feeder based on his numbers and speed of drop. If he's bouncing, I'll feed him on my way out the door, and that will be that. He doesn't usually get fed after +3. Anything I'm missing?
 
Heehee maybe. :cool:

But you aren't special ed so I don't have to set it to song for you to learn it!!

Did you know you can learn to count by 2's to the tune of "Row Row Row Your Boat?" Lol just in case you need it.:)

Really? That's cool! My kids know how to count by 2's when they come to me, but kindergarten teacher would love it!
 
Yo Mikey, Welcome to the Lagoon! Surf safe, buddy!
~ Rusty, LagoonMeister

Hi Mary, Yes, the depot needs to settle in to the new dose. Julie explained it beautifully. Looks like Mikey is having a really good cycle. :D:D:D
Have a fine evening.

Ella & Rusty
 
The smaller the dose, the smaller the depot. Some cats can respond right away to a dose increase; it doesn't necessarily take six cycles. But within the six cycles, you'd probably see some NDW, an active cycle, some bouncing. Some cats are slow responders and might show a little blue at first but then need longer for the dose to really settle in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top