1/18 Kitten AMPS 376; PMPS 221

Status
Not open for further replies.

LILandKIT

Member Since 2012
Yesterday


Maybe now he's settling into his new dose and the yellows before were just an earlier reaction? Not sure...quite a high morning compared to the previous ones....unfortunately wont be home until PM shot - so will have to force one at night. Curious to see what Kit is throwing my way.

He was starving this morning. Our Petsmart didn't have anymore of the bigger Sophisticat cans, so we're giving him 2 smaller cans a day. I think that extra bit of food in the bigger ones made a difference b/c he seems to be starving before meal times now. Hopefully after the relabeling they'll get more. Otherwise, maybe the Special Kitty? Cuz all the Friskies big cans at the store near me always seem to be high-in-carbs one.

Hope everyone has a great day!
 
Re: 1/18 Kitten AMPS 376

Hi, LIL ~

"unfortunately wont be home until PM shot - so will have to force one at night. Curious to see what Kit is throwing my way." -- I know you'll be so tired tonight (I always am...), but if you can, try to get a midcycle (nadir) bg reading for Kitten tonight. :smile: You've held his current dose for 5 days as of his PM dose today...I like your steady, consistent AM & PM dosing. But if Kitten's nadir tonight is still in the 200-300 range, then you might want to consider a dose increase to 1.75U.

LIL, I know we're on the "Relaxed" Lantus board, but I do believe the Tight Regulation protocol gives good guidance for making dose increases:

If nadir blood glucose concentration 200-300mg/dL (11-17 mmol/L) -- Increase every 3 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin

How many times a day are you feeding Kitten, LIL? Sometimes mini-meals can help a cat not feel like he's starving. I know some members of FDMB use automatic feeders when they have to be away from home. And some of us feed our cats more when they're first diagnosed until they're better regulated. I know we did this with our cat Butters.

Hope you have a pleasant day,

Eva
 
Re: 1/18 Kitten AMPS 376

Hi Eva!!

I actually have the TR protocol printed and posted on my board here at home :) .....I know that I may have to allot more time before each dose increase/decrease due to my ability to test frequently, but it gives me a good idea on what I should be striving towards kinda thing. I printed out the protocol that was used in the study that tests are done only once a week - just for comparison. It seems like the protocol for increases/decreases are pretty much the same. Good to have as another reference.

Maybe I'll do the alarm set-up for 1am to get that midcycle test. He'll be half asleep so it may be quick and easy to sneak that test in. I'm thinking that most likely it will go up to the 1.75. Will get those numbers and go from there. Thanks for the advice!!!!!

He eats 4x a day (usually). AM shot, +8, PM shot and just before bed. I think he just goes frantic when he sees the DH, because he's the one that feeds him. Some mornings are better than others...

Hope you had a great day!!!
 
Re: 1/18 Kitten AMPS 376

Hi, LIL ~

We have to do the best we can with our schedules and our lives...and I know you're already doing that! Until recently, I was working crazy overtime on a project at work and could do only limited testing. Now, my husband is in a position to do a lot of the testing which really helps. I know I'm still not testing enough at night because I'm sure Butters goes low sometimes. But I'm trying. And good for you, LIL, if you're able to do that 1 am check tonight. Looking forward to hearing how it goes.

Even if we're not following the Tight Regulation Protocol to the letter, I still think we can get some good guidance there. And then we can do some modifications to make it work for us and our cats. If you need to hold a dose longer to get in more nadir testing, then that's just what you need to do for yourself and Kitten. For Butters, we usually try to hold a dose at least 5 days instead of the TR 3, because it can take that long for us to see how a dose works for him.

Hope you have a relaxing evening with Kitten,
Eva
 
Butters is just the cutest thing ever - just wanted to let you know!

So here's a nice curveball. PMPS - 221. This is definitely a fun dance he has me on. Now for sure I'll make sure i get up for that 1am test. Work schedules are just so much fun eh? My students wipe me out during the day, so if I dont get a good number of hours of sleep, i'm really short with them, and just plain mean. I hate being like that, so I try to get to bed early. That's awesome that your husband can test. My husband has tested before, but only with me next to him. I think he's just a bit nervous to do it on his own. Hopefully he'll come around soon b/c it would be useful since he goes to bed a couple hours later than me.

Wish me luck is managing to get up lol. I'm a sucker when i'm a sleeping lol.
 
Re: 1/18 Kitten AMPS 376; PMPS 221, +3 201

Wow, one more point down (in my Canadian scale) at +3 and it wouldve been blue. Now I'm so interested where this is going that I will definitely wake up. It may be my first blue. Yes yes...newbie speaking...can't you tell?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top